We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good budget hotel in downtown Porto” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sao Jose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sao Jose
Ranked #56 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel in downtown Porto”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

We took a family trip and chose Sao Jose Hotel because it´s practically downtown. The staff is very friendly, Breakfast ins included and is adequate (European style). Parking under the hotel is a nightmare if your car seats more than 2 people.
Most attractions of this beautiful city are within walking distance.
The rooms are OK, they are good size. TV is quite small and the bathroom looks a little worn-out. Location is hard to beat.

Room Tip: Choose any room, they are well noise-isolated. Don´t worry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZorroPlata67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    156
    98
    18
    15
See reviews for
84
123
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

Just back from another short break in beautiful Porto. This time stayed at Sao Jose, mainly chosen cos so central (Bolhao metro). Easy to walk everywhere as 2 mins off Santa Caterina, the main street.
Efficient & friendly reception staff, cosy if slightly dated room, very comfy & quiet room at back. Slept like a log - or would have if it hadn't been for noisy guests crashing in & banging doors as well as talking really loudly on landing- but I guess that's how people behave on holiday.

Fantastic value at 40 euros a night; mini-bar in room, wooden floors, comfy mattress & pillows. Antiquated TV with just Portugese channels- but that helped me do some translating & learn some more P'gese! And read/sleep more.
Breakfast continental, OK, but veggies like more to eat than just cheese with rolls every day- some tomatoes/eggs would have been nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on the higher floor- I was on 2nd floor. Quiet, fire escape staircase & tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gypsyinme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
234 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

Five of us stayed in the Sao Jose hotel in Sept. Three stayed for 4 days, my wife and I stayed for a full week.
The hotei is comfortable, its location is good for visiting the sites of Porto and the staff are helpful.
I would recommend this 3 star hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noelglee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneve, CH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

The rooms are quite large and clean. Free wifi.
The metro line to the airport is 1min away. The hotel is almost on top of the main commercial street with shops and typical cafe's. Fastfood in via Catarina shopping. Walking from the hotel to the river (Ribeira) is a really nice walk and you get to stop and look at Bolhao market and S. Bento train station on the way there. It is also within a 10min walk to Av. Aliados and all downtown restaurants. Very convenient.
The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GimCH07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teramo, Abruzzi, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights this August, and though the interiors (and especially the bathroom) are somewhat worn out, and the bed is squeaky and a but uncomfy, we enjoyed our time here. Closeness to the centre (though a bit father than i expected), good breakfast, perfect free wifi connection in the room, well disposed and helpful lady at reception - it all has been a good value for money. Besides, there's a supermarket close, and a large food court that, unfortunately, we discovered too late (being not big fans of fried sardines:-)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainbow_ua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

Stayed a couple of nights on a touring holiday, and it was easy to find.This hotel is very conveniently located, a short walk from the central historical sites and being able to safely park the bike underground was great too. Reception were helpful and polite, and there were free internet computers in the bar / lounge.

You are a short walk from the Metro but for 2 days we enjoyed walking everywhere apart from using an open-top tour bus once (oh, and boat and a cable car).

Our room faced the street and was a bit dated but clean, comfortable and functional. Everything worked as it should but the bathroom in particular looked like it had been many years since it was refreshed. There weren't enough hangers or power points (always an issue in hotels, why do they assume you are not going to bring your phone / iPod charger / PC / SatNav..?)

Overall it was good value considering the location. I wouldn't neccessarily recommend this hotel for a luxurious or romantic long-weekend, it isn't that sort of place but it was absolutely fine for a couple of nights on a tour. I'd certainly use it again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grahampm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Porto
Quality Inn Porto
#48 of 103 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel do Norte
Hotel do Norte
#59 of 103 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.5 mi away
Malaposta
Malaposta
#64 of 103 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aliados
Hotel Aliados
#66 of 103 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vera Cruz Porto Hotel
Vera Cruz Porto Hotel
#54 of 103 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Universal
Hotel Universal
#63 of 103 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sao Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sao Jose

Property: Hotel Sao Jose
Address: Rua da Alegria 172, Porto 4000-034, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sao Jose 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Sao Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sao Jose Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing