We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel Lovely staff and very nice rooms”
Review of Hotel Sao Jose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sao Jose
Ranked #57 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Stayed here for two nights. absolutely lovely hotel, staff are nice helpful friendly and welcoming and breakfast is simple but lovely. I would reccomend highly to anyone. Central location and Porto is so nice. I would stay here if I returned. The main lady on reception and the man on night reception exceptionally nice.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sambec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sao Jose
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2012

We took a family trip and chose Sao Jose Hotel because it´s practically downtown. The staff is very friendly, Breakfast ins included and is adequate (European style). Parking under the hotel is a nightmare if your car seats more than 2 people.
Most attractions of this beautiful city are within walking distance.
The rooms are OK, they are good size. TV is quite small and the bathroom looks a little worn-out. Location is hard to beat.

Room Tip: Choose any room, they are well noise-isolated. Don´t worry.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZorroPlata67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Just back from another short break in beautiful Porto. This time stayed at Sao Jose, mainly chosen cos so central (Bolhao metro). Easy to walk everywhere as 2 mins off Santa Caterina, the main street.
Efficient & friendly reception staff, cosy if slightly dated room, very comfy & quiet room at back. Slept like a log - or would have if it hadn't been for noisy guests crashing in & banging doors as well as talking really loudly on landing- but I guess that's how people behave on holiday.

Fantastic value at 40 euros a night; mini-bar in room, wooden floors, comfy mattress & pillows. Antiquated TV with just Portugese channels- but that helped me do some translating & learn some more P'gese! And read/sleep more.
Breakfast continental, OK, but veggies like more to eat than just cheese with rolls every day- some tomatoes/eggs would have been nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on the higher floor- I was on 2nd floor. Quiet, fire escape staircase & tre...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gypsyinme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Five of us stayed in the Sao Jose hotel in Sept. Three stayed for 4 days, my wife and I stayed for a full week.
The hotei is comfortable, its location is good for visiting the sites of Porto and the staff are helpful.
I would recommend this 3 star hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank noelglee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

The rooms are quite large and clean. Free wifi.
The metro line to the airport is 1min away. The hotel is almost on top of the main commercial street with shops and typical cafe's. Fastfood in via Catarina shopping. Walking from the hotel to the river (Ribeira) is a really nice walk and you get to stop and look at Bolhao market and S. Bento train station on the way there. It is also within a 10min walk to Av. Aliados and all downtown restaurants. Very convenient.
The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GimCH07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Pedro S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights this August, and though the interiors (and especially the bathroom) are somewhat worn out, and the bed is squeaky and a but uncomfy, we enjoyed our time here. Closeness to the centre (though a bit father than i expected), good breakfast, perfect free wifi connection in the room, well disposed and helpful lady at reception - it all has been a good value for money. Besides, there's a supermarket close, and a large food court that, unfortunately, we discovered too late (being not big fans of fried sardines:-)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rainbow_ua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.5 mi away
Malaposta
Malaposta
#68 of 108 in Porto
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel do Norte
Hotel do Norte
#64 of 108 in Porto
381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vera Cruz Porto Hotel
Vera Cruz Porto Hotel
#56 of 108 in Porto
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aliados
Hotel Aliados
#70 of 108 in Porto
449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Universal
Hotel Universal
#65 of 108 in Porto
325 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grande Hotel de Paris
Grande Hotel de Paris
#44 of 108 in Porto
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sao Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sao Jose

Address: Rua da Alegria 172, Porto 4000-034, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Price Range: £47 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sao Jose 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sao Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sao Jose Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing