We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent price, average stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sao Jose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sao Jose
Ranked #56 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Decent price, average stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Stayed for 5 days. Can say that the hotel is in walking range for most of the city's attraction points (didn't need the transport passes) and its situated in a quiet area. However, one of the bigger issues is that the sleep isn't very good due to the fact that any movement in the hallways or neighboring rooms can wake you up (very thin walls). The other big issue is the breakfast, which is of a quite poor quality unfortunately - same 5-6 low quality stuff every single day. I'm not very picky but still is a 3 star hotel and you would expect a much better breakfast than what is offered.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Florin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    156
    98
    18
    15
See reviews for
84
123
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
205 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

We were allowed to checkin early and that always is a good thing after a ryannair flight !
The room assigned to us was huge with a single bed and another huge king bed. The pillows were really comfortable.
As mentioned by almost everyone, the location is bang in the centre, very close to all attractions and 2 malls. The pretty chapel with the azulejos is just one block away.
We didn't eat breakfast there, there are way too many cafes in Porto where you get real good coffee (from south america) and Pao for as cheap as 2 Euros.
From a cleanliness point of view the hotel is very clean but we found some sand below our beds the first day but it was cleaned the next day(without us mentioning about it).
Wifi was really bad and kept disconnecting, but maybe that was because we stayed in a corner room.
The staff of this hotel are a mixed bag, while the gentleman who checked us in couldn't be bothered less if we stayed there or not (maybe because we interrupted his Siesta) but the lady who checked us out was very sweet. The lady who cleans the rooms was nice and courteous as well.
All in all , for the price you pay you really are getting a good deal.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a hotel with modern amenities like flat screen TV, In room safe etc, look som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sushant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novid_manu
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

The hotel is located very close to the city centre but is also very peacefull and quiet. The staff are all very nice and went out of thier way to ensure that I had a good stay. The staff were very helpfull in recommending things to do in Porto. The breakfst is also a good continental breakfst. There are also computers in the lobby for anyone who does not have a laptop.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank novid_manu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

Stayed here for two nights. absolutely lovely hotel, staff are nice helpful friendly and welcoming and breakfast is simple but lovely. I would reccomend highly to anyone. Central location and Porto is so nice. I would stay here if I returned. The main lady on reception and the man on night reception exceptionally nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sambec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

We took a family trip and chose Sao Jose Hotel because it´s practically downtown. The staff is very friendly, Breakfast ins included and is adequate (European style). Parking under the hotel is a nightmare if your car seats more than 2 people.
Most attractions of this beautiful city are within walking distance.
The rooms are OK, they are good size. TV is quite small and the bathroom looks a little worn-out. Location is hard to beat.

Room Tip: Choose any room, they are well noise-isolated. Don´t worry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZorroPlata67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

Just back from another short break in beautiful Porto. This time stayed at Sao Jose, mainly chosen cos so central (Bolhao metro). Easy to walk everywhere as 2 mins off Santa Caterina, the main street.
Efficient & friendly reception staff, cosy if slightly dated room, very comfy & quiet room at back. Slept like a log - or would have if it hadn't been for noisy guests crashing in & banging doors as well as talking really loudly on landing- but I guess that's how people behave on holiday.

Fantastic value at 40 euros a night; mini-bar in room, wooden floors, comfy mattress & pillows. Antiquated TV with just Portugese channels- but that helped me do some translating & learn some more P'gese! And read/sleep more.
Breakfast continental, OK, but veggies like more to eat than just cheese with rolls every day- some tomatoes/eggs would have been nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on the higher floor- I was on 2nd floor. Quiet, fire escape staircase & tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gypsyinme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
234 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

Five of us stayed in the Sao Jose hotel in Sept. Three stayed for 4 days, my wife and I stayed for a full week.
The hotei is comfortable, its location is good for visiting the sites of Porto and the staff are helpful.
I would recommend this 3 star hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noelglee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Porto
Quality Inn Porto
#48 of 103 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel do Norte
Hotel do Norte
#59 of 103 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.5 mi away
Malaposta
Malaposta
#64 of 103 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aliados
Hotel Aliados
#66 of 103 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vera Cruz Porto Hotel
Vera Cruz Porto Hotel
#54 of 103 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Universal
Hotel Universal
#62 of 103 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sao Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sao Jose

Property: Hotel Sao Jose
Address: Rua da Alegria 172, Porto 4000-034, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sao Jose 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Sao Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sao Jose Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing