We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, Clean and Good Breakfast!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porto Lounge Hostel & Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Porto Lounge Hostel & Guesthouse
Ranked #13 of 205 Speciality Lodging in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice, Clean and Good Breakfast!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Is a very nice hostel! It is like a Mini Hotel!!.. Very clean, the bathrooms are very nice and modern, the kitchen is big and comfortable, and it has good breakfast!!.. Location is perfect!.. Rua do Almada has bars around and nice places to eat!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carito21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    34
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
18
29
45
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jessicalopes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

I stayed in Porto hostel for 3 nights and it's the best hostel I have ever been to! It's really clean (really!!), you could smell it as soon as you entered in the hostel and really nice decoraded. It is perfectly located, right in the center of Porto and next to a metro station. The people were all very friendly and always tried to help.To conclude I strongly recommend it, because it's cheap, clean and comfortable!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessicalopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelling
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

This hostel seems very new. The owner may have had some good ideas but unfortunately, didn't pull it off, in my opinion. It is very white, very stark. Noisy, cold, not cosy.

The place echoes terribly so it quickly becomes noisy. There is nothing on the walls, nothing to absorb sound. Many of the very trendy features are not particularly handy. The rain showerhead is lovely but the stall is way too small, considering it is also supposed to double as the changeroom. It has hooks to hang your clothes but they'll be soaked once you're done your shower. I was glad I was in the female dorm so I could just step out of the shower stall to dress. But there's no place to hang your clothes outside of the shower stall. Speaking of hooks, there are no hooks in the dorm rooms either so no place to hang anything. Some simple hooks for each bed would be such a simple, inexpensive and helpful thing to provide.

The towels in the kitchen were scarce and eternally damp so it was never possible to dry your dishes. There weren't even towels, paper or otherwise, in the bathrooms for when you wash your hands after using the toilet. My goodness. Really?

I also wasn't a fan of the breakfast, nothing more than bread and too sweet jam or chocolate goo. The coffee was terrible and the tea choices were dismal. They only had loose tea but only provided one loose tea holder. So only 1 person could have a cup of tea at any one time. Ridiculous.

A big plus for this place is its cleanliness and I also found it a very safe hostel. Two very important points.

But the atmosphere sucks. I think there are several far better hostel choices in Porto.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter and have patio or balcony access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Monique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012 via mobile

The location is great and they are very kind and are making a big effort to help and make the stay as fun and comfortable as can. Big and with a lot of space and very clean and organized. The kitchen is great with all the facilities and it is cery nice to hang out there

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gidlin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.3 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#27 of 103 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moov Hotel Porto Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gallery Hostel
Gallery Hostel
#2 of 205 in Porto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tattva Design Hostel
Tattva Design Hostel
#6 of 205 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wine Hostel
Wine Hostel
#7 of 205 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Lounge Hostel & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Lounge Hostel & Guesthouse

Property: Porto Lounge Hostel & Guesthouse
Address: Rua do Almada 317, Porto 4050-038, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 205 Speciality Lodging in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Porto Lounge Hostel & Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Lounge Hostel & Guesthouse is a completely restored and modernized building that combines the original typical architecture from the XIX century with a very stylish and modern interior which offers a chic accommodation. We are situated in the heart of the historic centre of Porto, close to the most important city square - Avenida dos Aliados - where you can find Porto's most important attractions and enjoy the city's great nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Porto Lounge Hostel & Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing