We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Cale Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cale Guest House
Ranked #13 of 154 Porto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

In a great location close to the river and the old market this is a small establishment which is in a very brilliantly renovated typical porto House.
The rooms are well thought out and large, the breakfast freshly prepared and the staff both friendly, informative and helpful.

There is no doubt that this is the place we will stay when we're next in Porto.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front (such as ours room 3) have views down one of Porto's vertiginous streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zinneke_gas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    45
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
22
158
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I stayed 3 days in this guesthouse after testing for a guide book other hotels and guesthouses in Porto ...I was disappointed to see that the renovation of this guesthouse as compared to others I had stayed in who had tried very hard to preserve the detail and original architectural beauty . My room was on the last floor ( steep stairway not at all practical with luggage. The welcome was cold and the room was small with no charm ( very ugly furniture ) But the ultimate worst was the air -conditioning next to the bed which was noisy and lite up during the night so impossible to sleep with it on. For the same price and even less you can stay in some incredible places . Porto is lovely this place is not

Room Tip: stay away from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natasha b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Good start to our holiday in Portugal. They made us feel very welcome. Great location, very nice quiet room(we stayed in room 2 at the back of the hotel with it's own terrace) with excellent advice and couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Ptravel66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at the Cale Guest House in Porto and was quite simply very good/excellent. Here is our summary of our stay:

- Location, location, location. If you want to be in the historic district, Cale is the place to stay. You are just a few minutes walk from the major attractions.
- Very clean,modern and spacious rooms. In fact, I cannot recall staying in such a large room in recent times.
- Polite and helpful staff. Paulo and Inez are very friendly and will go out of their way to recommend things to do, cautions, etc.
- Good and healthy breakfast
- Very good air conditioning.
- Very quiet
- Comfortable bedding.
- Very good price/quality ratio

Parking facilities are limited, but this is typical of most of Porto's historical district.

In short, staying at Cale Guest House made a tremendous difference and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GJL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Was a bit worried as not stayed in Porto before but after navigating road works the GPS didnt know about, we found this wonderful gem facing directly down hill towards the river. I would honestly say the service was by far the best I have ever experienced. The staff were amazing and it is worth listening to their recommendations.
The rooms are clean, light and airy, with air con. The breakfast was simple and perfect. I dont know what else to say, it was perfect
Please be aware, because this building is protected, there are no lifts.

Room Tip: If you can, the street view is excellent and not as noisy as you would think. We stayed facing cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Serendipidy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This is a beautifully restored building in the heart of a fascinating city. We found Porto to be full of surprises, the highlight of our time in Portugal and this accommodation only added to the experience.
Located in a tangle of ancient streets, the Cale is an inviting and comfortable place to stay The decoration is tasteful and the staff are very, very nice. Modern touches like a good wifi service ony add to the experience,
It is close to all the main sights, although for the full Porto experience, be prepared to do some climbing! Fortunately we are still in reasonable shape and enjoyed it thoroughly. this guesthouse was somewhere to look forward to at the end of our busy days of exploration.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Great place to stay for a few day: the service is excellent, the rooms are totally worth the price and the Breakfast is by far the best we had in Protugal!! If you want to be in the heart of Porto and you need a cosy place to stay with a sympathic team then I recommend this address.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#8 of 106 in Porto
522 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.2 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.2 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#2 of 106 in Porto
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cale Guest House

Property: Cale Guest House
Address: Largo Sao Domingos 28, Porto 4050-545, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitar o Porto é experienciar o passado e revisitar as origens da cidade que foi, em 1996, eleita pela UNESCO Património Cultural da Humanidade. O Porto convida o Mundo a explorar a cidade e os seus espaços e monumentos classificados. Nós convidámo-lo a ficar connosco enquanto descobre a magia do Porto.A Cale Guest House, localizada no Largo de S. Domingos onde desde o sec XIV se viu instalado o comércio da cidade, beneficia de uma centralidade única. No coração do centro histórico da cidade do Porto, facilmente se pode aceder aos principais monumentos assim como à zona comercial da cidade.A casa, presentemente reconstruída, combinando o antigo com o contemporâneo, tem 7 quartos repletos de história, mas com uma decoração moderna que oferece um ambiente acolhedor e confortável. Esperamos que desfrute da sua estadia.Visiting Oporto means to experience the past and revisit the origins of the town which is UNESCO World Cultural Heritage. Oporto invites the world to explore the town, its spaces and classified monuments. We invite you to stay with us while you discover the magic of Oporto.Cale Guest House, located in Largo S. Domingos where tradesman have carried out their business since the 14th century, benefits from a unic centrality in the heart of the historic town, within easy reach to the main monuments as well as to the commercial area of town.The building, recently reconstructed, combining the old with a contemporary design, has 7 rooms full of history, but with a modern decoration that offers a cosy warming athmosphere. We hope you will like to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing