We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern Spot in Historic Center” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cale Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cale Guest House
Ranked #14 of 148 Porto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Modern Spot in Historic Center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

The Cale Guest House was a convenient location a few blocks down hill to the river. We had a king size room which was very spacious and had a nice view. It was very modern and reminded me of an IKEA look! The staff were friendly and spoke English. Breakfast was simple but good. It was a short walk down to the river to cafes, buses and shops! The river is a lovely spot to drink coffee and relax on an August day! Porto is a beautiful city!

Room Tip: We were one walking flight up in a very spacious king room #1
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    43
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
21
140
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

The hotel has a great position in the historical center of Porto, we were warmly welcomed and taken care of, the personnel speak fluently English and French and were always extremely helpful. The room we had (on the small court with a little terasse) was clean and cosy. The small details such as freshly pressed juice and home-made jams every morning, or a glass of Porto at our arrival made our stay impeccable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vobludka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

I spent a night at Cale Guest House in November, I paid 79 euro for a twin room and the room was much bigger than I expected. It was more like a suite, with two twin beds put together in the centre and a lounging area near a row of large windows. Open the windows you would be looking directly at the Ribeira in the far end (although in a cold November morning it was all foggy).

The room was clean, simple and with good taste. It looks like they have refurbished the building not long ago because there wasn't much wear and tear. I really can't complain about anything.

The breakfast was on the simple side but that's typical continental breakfast. Although there weren't many options, their staff did put in the effort to make freshly squeezed orange juice and to cut and peel the fruits. And the other staff were equally nice and helpful. I arrived late the night before and the girl waited for me before finishing her shift.

Just a suggestion, if you are arriving late at night like I did, this place may be hard to find. Cale is located somewhere between The Sao Bento metro station and the Ribeira, and Palacio da Bolsa (the Stock Exchange Palace) is just a couple blocks away, but still, this is basically a residential area and Cale only has a teeny tiny sign outside of its entrance. I am glad I came by a taxi, cost me about 25 euro from the airport. Otherwise I would not be able to find it in the dark.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilseck, Germany
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

The only thing we wish we could change from this visit is to have another night to stay here. The host was extremely friendly and accommodating and spoke fluent English. He answered every question we had, made a great recommendation for dinner, and made sure we were comfortable both with the city and the hotel. The place was easy walking from the metro and to any of the major sights of Porto. The lobby area was a little stark, but the room was quiet, clean and comfortable. There was a small sitting area outside if the weather was warmer. The shower head was small but the water was hot and had good pressure. I don't understand the other reviews about breakfast. It was a little small, but all the offerings were fresh, including freshly squeezed orange juice. Wifi worked well. It wasn't a problem for us, but there is no elevator, so it was three flights of stairs to the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limoux
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Initial impression was not favourable because the outside looks unattractive and the lobby decor was grim. The staff made up for it with a charming welcome and help on the area. It is very well positioned. The room was well equipped if a little stark.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lacortanela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

They don´t serve fresh food for breakfast... literally... I don´t like throwing away food, but this is too much. I refuse eating bad food. Watermelon slices which looked half rotten day after day... geting even more rotten. Kiwi fruit that you can tell is rotten just by the way they look... white soft cheese... yellow on the outside.

The room is big, but not nice. I would say average. There isn't minibar (Big fail). Toilet is damp and towels smell. Furniture are too dusty. NO ELEVATOR... for this price, you can do better!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Violet_Rien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

I stayed in this small guest house with my partner for three nights in the end of August. The room was spacious and clean and the A/C was powerful enough to cool down the room in few minutes when needed. We had a room at the front side of the building with a nice view. The location of the guest house is pretty much perfect for exploring the old historical Porto.

The staff was very helpful and genuinely friendly. If I had a guesthouse or a hotel, I would definitely try to hire Inez there, she's a real gem. There was no attitude whatsoever towards a minority couple.

Breakfast was sufficient enough and we also liked a lot the small upstairs terrace for relaxing. I found this place a good value for the money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side of the building have a better view and we didn't find any street noise t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ModernAdventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Porto River Apartments
Porto River Apartments
#3 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Hotel da Bolsa
Hotel da Bolsa
#23 of 103 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cale Guest House

Property: Cale Guest House
Address: Largo Sao Domingos 28, Porto 4050-545, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitar o Porto é experienciar o passado e revisitar as origens da cidade que foi, em 1996, eleita pela UNESCO Património Cultural da Humanidade. O Porto convida o Mundo a explorar a cidade e os seus espaços e monumentos classificados. Nós convidámo-lo a ficar connosco enquanto descobre a magia do Porto.A Cale Guest House, localizada no Largo de S. Domingos onde desde o sec XIV se viu instalado o comércio da cidade, beneficia de uma centralidade única. No coração do centro histórico da cidade do Porto, facilmente se pode aceder aos principais monumentos assim como à zona comercial da cidade.A casa, presentemente reconstruída, combinando o antigo com o contemporâneo, tem 7 quartos repletos de história, mas com uma decoração moderna que oferece um ambiente acolhedor e confortável. Esperamos que desfrute da sua estadia.Visiting Oporto means to experience the past and revisit the origins of the town which is UNESCO World Cultural Heritage. Oporto invites the world to explore the town, its spaces and classified monuments. We invite you to stay with us while you discover the magic of Oporto.Cale Guest House, located in Largo S. Domingos where tradesman have carried out their business since the 14th century, benefits from a unic centrality in the heart of the historic town, within easy reach to the main monuments as well as to the commercial area of town.The building, recently reconstructed, combining the old with a contemporary design, has 7 rooms full of history, but with a modern decoration that offers a cosy warming athmosphere. We hope you will like to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing