We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing vibe, beautiful decor and delicious food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ROSA ET Al Townhouse
Ranked #26 of 169 Porto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Beautiful boutique hotel in the artist's quarter, not far from the center - perfectly decorated rooms with a wonderful attention to detail, a relaxing garden with fragrant herbs and a delicious "surprise" set menu for dinner with wine pairings. All in all, a fantastic stay - my only reluctance is writing a review that will make this hidden gem more popular. Will definitely be back. Thanks Patricia and Ines.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Antonia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

This hotel, in a renovated townhouse, really feels like a home away from home. From the beautifully designed rooms filled with vintage furniture, the relaxed lobby filled with books, magazines, wines, etc, the beautiful garden filled with herbs and flowers, to the amazing food and great service I felt more like a friend than a customer. Brother and sister team Patricia and Emanuel really know how to create a great experience in a town they clearly love - but I wonder when do they sleep??

Room Tip: Choose a room on the garden side so the singing of birds can be your alarm clock
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Was just the most wonderful and memorable stay. The hotel was beautiful and the service exceptional. The staff would almost anticipate your every desire 'would you like some cake with your tea?'. And I would definitely consider having at least one evening meal there. Makes it very easy to roll up the stairs afterwards with your full belly! It was a pleasure to stay there and felt quite sad to leave... No doubt I will be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique and decorated to the highest standards. Any room would be just perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeeA986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

It is a little hotel, with a little garden,and a lot of love for details. The design bathroom, the vintage furniture, the touch of art, the friendly service, the whole package is just great. The food ? Great too. And the little bookstore with selected design books, the self mixed teas , the rose soap, this love for beautiful things makes of this hotel an all-round experience. In the morning the song of birds will wake you up. Whenever, whatever you need, the owners will be happy to help you, with such a friendly and easy going attitude that you will have the feeling you are visiting friends .

Room Tip: Second floor toward the garden was great, sitting on the balcony with a glass of wine in the evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vimu2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay at Rosa. As it was our wedding aniversary we had a personalized and very romantic dinner under their beautifful skyglass. The service was excelent!! And the food was five stars. Had a great time talking to the owners and planning the day after. Afterwards we went to our wonderfull room and relaxed in the bathtub listening to some jazz and enjoying a drink. Slept in heaven as the beds are magnificient. The day after we felt realy relaxed and had a great breakfeast. It is a perfect place :)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filipe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

My couple and I were in Porto a couple of days in Easter. We booked at Rosa et Al Townhouse which close to uptown (very short distance walking). I have been in many many hotels in my life; since I finished my studies at Ecole Hôtelière de Lausanne I visited many hospitality business for my job; I have never been in such special place in my life. Service is unbeatable, decoration is amazing, hosts know how to treat guests incredibly; food is homemade with flavours that carry you out directly to your childhood. Rooms are huge and comfortable, true stylish! It is a pity not to count on more hotels like this in more cities.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miguel483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Everything from the room to the service to the location to the brunch was excellent. This hotel made our trip in Porto an unforgettable experience. We will definetly suggest it to anybody who is coming to Porto. The design of the rooms and common space is absolutely stunning. Food is gorgeous to watch and taste.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ranze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.6 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 108 in Porto
583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercador Guest House
Mercador Guest House
#24 of 169 in Porto
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pensao Favorita
Pensao Favorita
#19 of 169 in Porto
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oporto Loft
Oporto Loft
#18 of 169 in Porto
127 reviews
0.9 mi away
6Only Guest House
6Only Guest House
#9 of 169 in Porto
566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porta Azul
Porta Azul
#6 of 169 in Porto
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ROSA ET Al Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ROSA ET Al Townhouse

Address: Rua do Rosario 233, Porto 4050-524, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range: £77 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — ROSA ET Al Townhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Rua do Rosario, 233 - in the most trendy artsy neighbourhood in Porto, surrounded by art galleries, artist's studios and concept stores - ROSA ET AL Townhouse is made by travellers, for travellers. With only six elegant and spacious exclusive varanda suites, this is not your typical hotel, but rather your exclusive townhouse in Porto. ROSA ET AL Townhouse makes life's choices simples. Three suite types offered, all with the feel of a contemporary home within an ancient townhouse in the centre of Porto, with wooden floors, warm lighting, luxurious natural materials, and soaking clawfoot tubs. All suites offer IN-ROOM SPA with a variety of massages and SPA treatments and have balconies with garden views and across the city's quarters interiors or over Rua do Rosario. The suites also have original apparent wooden ceiling structures as well as original decorative plasterwork ceilings, including contemporary permanent art commissions. The nineteen-century townhouse is decorated with a range of vintage, modern and contemporary design furniture and objects, including pieces by Charles and Ray Eames, Jean Prouve, Hans Wegner, amongst others. The guests can read daily newspapers and periodical magazines, among other titles of our private book collection at our luminous skylight private library. ROSA ET AL Townhouse has a coffee shop, restaurant and a concept store, BAZAAR BRUNCH, outdoor patios and a kitchen's garden. BAZAAR BRUNCH gourmet meals are served in our ground-floor living area and in our Garden and Patios, offering Brunch for late-night carousers on weekends, complemented by our Sunday Roast on Sundays (subject to availability and advance booking required). We also serve light meals, lunch, traditional five o'clock tea and 3, 6, 9 or 12-courses surprise tasting dinners with Portuguese wine pairings (avance booking required). One can taste gourmet meals with fresh and natural ingredients, including organic products from our local producers and also a range of aromatic herbs, edible flowers, organic vegetables and fruits, cultivated in our property. The concept store sells books by Portuguese publisher Assirio & Alvim, as well as by other publishers on art, design and architecture, Portuguese wines by local producers selected by our own sommelier and gourmet products created and prepared in the house. ROSA ET AL Townhouse also offers weekly culinary WORKEATSHOPS with our Chefs, followed by a tasting diner (advance booking required). -- ROSA ET AL Townhouse architectural project by Emanuel de Sousa has been awarded with the RESPECT FOR ARCHITECTURE 2012 PORTO by Ordem dos Arquitectos. -- ROSA ET AL Townhouse is part of BED AND BRUNCH COLLECTION. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your ROSA ET Al Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing