We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rosa Et Al was on my wish list and I wasn't disappointed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ROSA ET Al Townhouse
Ranked #22 of 153 Porto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rosa Et Al was on my wish list and I wasn't disappointed.”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

For over a year I carried the New York Times article on Rosa Et Al hoping that I would find myself in Porto. As soon as I rang the doorbell at the almost invisible door, I knew my husband and I were in for a very special experience and it exceeded our expectations. The warm and welcoming staff unloaded our luggage and then drove with my husband up the street to the parking garage (be sure to reserve a spot in advance). Fresh lemonade cooled us off as we toured the reception area, dining area and inviting garden filled with herbs for the meals. Our room, with a bottle of port, one level up on the winding staircase couldn't have been more perfect for us. Each room at Rosa is different and ours was beautifully decorated with our favorite mid-century modern furniture in whites and brown. The room was very spacious and the bathroom oversize and elegant. The quiet room facing the street afforded a good view of the neighborhood. Rosa Et Al is the result of a collaboration between siblings Patricia and Emanuel who decided to buy and renovate an old building an easy walk from the historic center of Porto. He's an architect and designed many furnishings as well as the townhouse and Patricia's crochet blankets also brighten the reaction area and at least one room. Most B&Bs provide breakfast early in the morning and often only offer a limited choice. But Patricia and Emanuel do brunch! You can sleep in a little later if you want and then be served a choice of freshly squeezed juices, in season fruit, omelets, bread and other choices that are prepared at your request. The atmosphere invites schmoozing and soon all the guests are sharing travel stories. We asked for a recommendation to a typical Portuguese fish restaurant and they sent us to their favorite Salta o Mura a short cab ride away down by the beach and the grilled fish was terrific. Patricia will also prepares dinner by reservation. The night we ate there we had the dining room to ourselves as the next diners were coming very late. We had a "surprise" fish dinner that was delicious and visually enticing from cocktails to dessert. It was hard leaving since we felt like we were parting from good friends.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leslie682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    15
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
90
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This place instantly feels like home. An old house which has been carefully renovated and upgraded with pieces of old furniture and modern luxury features. Our room was on the top floor and had a large and comfortable bed, a large suitcase being used as wardrobe (very clever designed) and a large bathtub. Quiet and relaxing. Breakfast was another wonderful feature of this townhouse. Together with a large selection of croissants, breads, eggs, fruit salads, they serve different homemade marmelades every day to try. We can also recommend to have dinner there. The food is excellent and was accomplished by delicious wines. We were the only ones that night and it felt like we had been served at our own house. Imagine you can eat and drink like in a restaurant all byyourselves and only need to climb a few stairs to your room. So this is a highly recommendable small, stylish and exclusive little gem with a lot of personal touch, run by a very friendly and charming staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilMoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Before arriving in Porto, it seemed natural to stay in the Rebeira district, but I wasn't sold on any of the hotels there and many were simply sold out the weekend we were in town. Lucky for us because that led us to this fine boutique property, the brainchild of two siblings who wanted (and did) create a DREAM of a boutique B+B. The location is in a residential neighborhood with some shops around, a short and pleasing 10 min walk to the center of town. Outside the building blends in with the street, only a small marking on the door indicates what awaits you inside. But once you ring the bell, you're in for a visual treat - a modern space that respects it's historical past, a specialty shop selling wonderful portugese products (consider buying some, we didn't and I regret it) and in the rear, a modernist restaurant that leads to an outdoor space. Our room was on the third floor up a MAGNIFICENT flight of steps which also gave us our cardio for the day, so if you don't like steps, ask for a room on a lower floor as I didn't see an elevator. Room was big and BEAUTIFUL, exposed beams, preserved architectural details, and a small writing room off the balcony. Bath/shower was a claw foot tub with a 360 degree shower curtain, required some preparation to avoid getting the exposed wood floors wet, but once you took the care, it was like taking a show in the sky…BEAUTIFUL. All in all, it was a space that made you want to stay, sip some Port and write some poetry (and I don't even write poetry). The staff was exceptional, gave great recommendations for dining and sight seeing.

If you appreciate architecture and well integrated modernism, stay here. It's a treat for the senses! Two tips: check to make sure if breakfast is included w/your rate, I didn't realize that I failed to book the inclusive rate and we had to order ala-carte. Also, they do have a parking spot for rent, so if you come with a car, ask about it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eclipse908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
107 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Spent few nights at Rosa ET Al... It is a beautiful place! Big rooms, beautifully styled and with quality products. Delicious breakfast and we had as well dinner which was very good! Loved the food and wines offered.
The bathroom is beautiful but not practical at all. It is a bathtub with shower, nothing wrong with that... The floor of bathroom is all wooden, so, when you shower, even when you use shower curtain floor gets wet...
On the website they mention turndown service but we did not notice any turndown service.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arturas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I was looking for a special place to stay in Porto for my 5 days of work visit and stumbled across this amazing little town house in a really artistic and cozy area of Porto.

The mixture of the different decades of interior design such as a sofa from the 60's in contrast to the more "neoclassic french" atmosphere of the architecture of the room contributed to a very chic and clean appearance.

Still the most important was the amazingly friendly staff taking such good care of you!! The breakfast was the best I had for many years! Go for the homemade yoghurt with homemade granola :)

I will definitely visit this place again!

Nadja

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadja A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I stayed in the Townhouse in July 2013. It is a hidden gem in the neighborhood, because you can hardly tell that there is a hotel there when you are outside. No advertisement at the door nor any reception. When you come in from the big white door, you only see this very nice and cozy room with a book shelf decorated with local wines and lovely books. The hotel strikes you immediately with its amazing decor and style. The rooms are very spacious with very comfortable beds. Our room was overseeing the garden and despite being on the first floor we slept very well. The rooms renovated and decorated with great style - The bathroom was the highlight for me... The hotel has a lovely garden that you can enjoy your breakfast or drinks in the evening. The breakfast / brunch is served with an extensive menu and the food is delicious. The staff is very helpful and kind. The hotel is a bit expensive compared to other hotels in the area however it is worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Picx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

Beautiful boutique hotel in the artist's quarter, not far from the center - perfectly decorated rooms with a wonderful attention to detail, a relaxing garden with fragrant herbs and a delicious "surprise" set menu for dinner with wine pairings. All in all, a fantastic stay - my only reluctance is writing a review that will make this hidden gem more popular. Will definitely be back. Thanks Patricia and Ines.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Antonia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
0.1 mi away
Mercador Guest House
Mercador Guest House
#25 of 153 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porta Azul
Porta Azul
#4 of 153 in Porto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
1872 River House
1872 River House
#9 of 153 in Porto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pensao Favorita
Pensao Favorita
#16 of 153 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa dos Guindais
Casa dos Guindais
#10 of 153 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ROSA ET Al Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ROSA ET Al Townhouse

Property: ROSA ET Al Townhouse
Address: Rua do Rosario 233, Porto 4050-524, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — ROSA ET Al Townhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Rua do Rosario, 233 - in the most trendy artsy neighbourhood in Porto, surrounded by art galleries, artist's studios and concept stores - ROSA ET AL Townhouse is made by travellers, for travellers. With only six elegant and spacious exclusive varanda suites, this is not your typical hotel, but rather your exclusive townhouse in Porto. ROSA ET AL Townhouse makes life's choices simples. Three suite types offered, all with the feel of a contemporary home within an ancient townhouse in the centre of Porto, with wooden floors, warm lighting, luxurious natural materials, and soaking clawfoot tubs. All suites offer IN-ROOM SPA with a variety of massages and SPA treatments and have balconies with garden views and across the city's quarters interiors or over Rua do Rosario. The suites also have original apparent wooden ceiling structures as well as original decorative plasterwork ceilings, including contemporary permanent art commissions. The nineteen-century townhouse is decorated with a range of vintage, modern and contemporary design furniture and objects, including pieces by Charles and Ray Eames, Jean Prouve, Hans Wegner, amongst others. The guests can read daily newspapers and periodical magazines, among other titles of our private book collection at our luminous skylight private library. ROSA ET AL Townhouse has a coffee shop, restaurant and a concept store, BAZAAR BRUNCH, outdoor patios and a kitchen's garden. BAZAAR BRUNCH gourmet meals are served in our ground-floor living area and in our Garden and Patios, offering Brunch for late-night carousers on weekends, complemented by our Sunday Roast on Sundays (subject to availability and advance booking required). We also serve light meals, lunch, traditional five o'clock tea and 3, 6, 9 or 12-courses surprise tasting dinners with Portuguese wine pairings (avance booking required). One can taste gourmet meals with fresh and natural ingredients, including organic products from our local producers and also a range of aromatic herbs, edible flowers, organic vegetables and fruits, cultivated in our property. The concept store sells books by Portuguese publisher Assirio & Alvim, as well as by other publishers on art, design and architecture, Portuguese wines by local producers selected by our own sommelier and gourmet products created and prepared in the house. ROSA ET AL Townhouse also offers weekly culinary WORKEATSHOPS with our Chefs, followed by a tasting diner (advance booking required). -- ROSA ET AL Townhouse architectural project by Emanuel de Sousa has been awarded with the RESPECT FOR ARCHITECTURE 2012 PORTO by Ordem dos Arquitectos. -- ROSA ET AL Townhouse is part of BED AND BRUNCH COLLECTION. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your ROSA ET Al Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing