We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was allocated an unfinished room in an apartment next door and not the hotel!”
Review of Vivacity Porto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vivacity Porto
Ranked #28 of 168 Porto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Like the other reviewer I was allocated an unfinished room in the apartment next door and not the hotel(despite booking months ago). Once the apartment is completed I am sure it will be OK.
As person at reception did not speak english it was a challenge on checking in to complain!
On the positive side the room / bed linen was clean and the Hotel (apartments) are very well situated.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kenneth1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivacityPorto, Proprietário at Vivacity Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thank you for your stay and review. We are sory for your experience. Now we have much more apartments and everything is functional.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

I was charged full price (40 euros) for an awful room:
The room was not finished or ready to rent out.
Look at the photos I have uploaded.
Also, the staff were incredibly RUDE!!!!

Here's why I am so annoyed:
-the walls of the room were not finished
-the stove was still in it's packing box on the kitchen sink
-the kitchen sink was still in transit somewhere.
-there were cables, wrapped in fabric, sticking out from two walls. It looked like a bandaged arm poking out into the room.
-It was a building site.
-The lift didn't work and we were on the fourth floor.
-This only mattered because the lights in the stairwell didn't work.That only mattered because the stairs had building rubbish on them.
-The stairs had building materials on them, ie boxes, wires, cables.
-The security door didn't lock.
-The next security door didn't close.
-The staff were RUDE.
-The room was noisy from bar downstairs, so we closed the windows and then it was really hot and stuffy. No air con. (late July). Bad sleep either way.

I do not give a review like this lightly. I respect that people run a business for their living. However, this place was a nightmare and I feel totally ripped off, tired and disappointed by having chosen this place. I won't be doing that again! I do not ever want to pay top dollar to sleep in a building site.

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank gleeglee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Very good location. 5 min walking from the city centre. Although the room was not very big, it was perfect for a couple of days. The hotel was very clean and the staff was nice. It's a shame that they don't offer breakfast, but the shops downstairs were excellent. I would strongly recommend this hotel since the quality/price ratio is excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrs_ma77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivacityPorto, Proprietário at Vivacity Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thank you for your stay and this great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Very good central location, 5 min. walking to S. Bento but bus stop just in front.
Clean with big wc. Comfortable bed. Room isn't so big but it's enough for a short stay of 3 to 4 days and considering the price it's perfect. The room as no closet but it was ok for a few days. Has heating and a nice tv although no cable channels. Also double glass windows so didn't hear any noise from the street.
I didn't have breakfast in the hotel but there are a lot of nice places around that are worth trying. Also there is a supermarket in front open until 24:00.
The staff was really nice.
I definitely recommend this place to stay.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank 278sonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivacityPorto, Proprietário at Vivacity Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thank you for your stay and this great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We had 2 rooms booked at this hotel and we were very pleased with our stay so we would recommend it people looking for a simple, clean and central hotel.
Pros:
- Good location, very central and there are cafes and restaurants right outside the building. Supermarket around 5min walk away and most main attractions are within a 20-30min walk.
- Very clean rooms with AC.
- Great price for what you get (no frills).

Cons:
- No lift and we were on the 3rd floor!
- Poor draining in the shower.
- Lack of hanging facilities for clothes and towels and there is plenty of wall space in the room to add some hanging hooks or rods.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qu_tee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed for three nights at Vivacity this summer. It was difficult to find, and parking is a couple of blocks away. The rooms were small but very clean. The beds are VERY hard- we ended up using the comforter as additional padding. This is an excellent value, very safe and great restaurants are just doors away. We would be happy to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvlnaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivacityPorto, Proprietário at Vivacity Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thank you for your stay and this great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

i stayed in this hotel for 3 days in august 2013. it is important to say that good hotel with nice and clean rooms. it is near the center of the city and has many restaurant near by. it has wif connections in all rooms but no breakfast and parking.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Funzio_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivacityPorto, Proprietário at Vivacity Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thank you for your stay and this great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.3 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 108 in Porto
583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grande Hotel de Paris
Grande Hotel de Paris
#45 of 108 in Porto
965 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yes! Hostel Porto
Yes! Hostel Porto
#4 of 253 in Porto
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa dos Guindais
Casa dos Guindais
#11 of 168 in Porto
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grande Oceano Guest House
0.2 mi away
Yours GuestHouse Porto
Yours GuestHouse Porto
#8 of 168 in Porto
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivacity Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivacity Porto

Address: Praca Guilherme Gomes Fernandes 35, Porto 4050-293, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range: £41 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vivacity Porto 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Vivacity Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing