We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day, great company, great tour!”
Review of Oporto Shore Tours

Oporto Shore Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$66.66*
and up
Private Tour: Porto City and Wine Tasting
More Info
US$100.65*
and up
Transfer Tour Between Lisbon and Porto
More Info
US$77.88*
and up
Private Tour: Douro Valley Wine Experience from Porto
Ranked #52 of 174 Tours in Porto
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our company provides personalized private tours in modern and comfortable vehicles. Tours can be fixed or customized including cultural and gastronomic activities. Tours can be arranged upon request for groups, operators, agencies, companies and institutions.
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We just finished spending a great day with Miguel in the Douro Valley - drinking port, relaxing on a river cruise, enjoying yummy local treats & learning about Portugal from someone who obviously loves it. Funniest part is the we're Canadians living in Basel & Miguel proposed to his Canadian wife Jennifer in Basel! We can't wait to come back & stomp grapes in the fall.

Thank KristenAndChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel R, Owner at Oporto Shore Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Yes, this tour was full of coincidences including wonderful scenery, culture, food & wine! Thank you for choosing us, we thoroughly enjoyed hosting you here and look forward to seeing you again in September. All the best, until then... Jennifer & Miguel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 53 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

We highly recommend Miguel, Jennifer and Oporto Shore Tours and can’t thank them enough for such an incredible experience. We had the pleasure of Miguel as our expert guide for 8 days of private tours (with Jennifer working behind the scenes) through Porto, Lisbon and surrounding areas which made it a vacation to remember! It was such a pleasure to see his smiling face when we arrived at the airport in Porto for transport to our hotel. We covered so much ground during our tours with Miguel: Alvarinho wine country, Douro Valley, Valenca do Minho, Guimaraes, Aveiro, Sintra, Evora, just to name a few and enjoyed visiting Lello Bookshop, Clerigos Tower, Castelo de Queijo, Sao Bento Train Station, Majestic Cafe, Praca da Ribeira, Castelo De Guimaraes, Palacio da Brejoeira, Jeronimos Monastery, Chapel of Bones, Belem Tower and Pena Palace. All the winery tastings, tours, river cruise, restaurants, food and wine selections were perfect and exceeded our expectations. We were very pleased to learn he’d also worked in visits to lighthouses as well and continued to make suggestions for the next day’s itinerary based of things he learned about us. We dined at many wonderful places, some local down to earth and some very high end…all equally as memorable as the one before and he even arranged for a special birthday lunch at a wonderful winery. We sampled local delicacies like Francesinha, grilled sardines, cheeses, Pasteis de Belem, and loved the grilled chorizo and seafood cataplana lunches. (We’ve since purchased a cataplana to recreate that incredible meal.) We had such an amazing dinner with Miguel on our last day of tours with him and while I can’t remember the name of the restaurant (formerly a convent or monastery converted into an elegant restaurant), it simply couldn’t have been better. The meal, wine, ambiance and experience were all incredibly memorable and we’re so glad Miguel joined us that night. As we said good bye to him that night, it felt like we were saying goodbye to a dear friend. Miguel gave us such wonderful memories and we wouldn’t hesitate recommending him to others or hiring him again when we return to Portugal!! --Karla & Jim, Northern California.

1  Thank Karla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel R, Owner at Oporto Shore Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

We met as strangers and departed as friends... We think of you often and your time here. Thank you for being so open and adventurous and allowing Miguel to show you the best of the country. We were extremely lucky to be in the presence of you both and appreciate your very kindness, and wonderful overview of your vacation here (you have a great memory!). Our very best to you both, think of us when you eat that cataplana! - Miguel & Jennifer
PS - The monastery turned restaurant is "A Travessa"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We actually booked Miguel Ribero for our next stop on our cruise, A Coruna. We did not know that he also guides in Oporto.

he is an excellent guide and we recommend him without hesitation. He gave us a much better tour of Sanitago than did our fellow passengers reported on their cruise line bus tours.

Thank GeeAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel R, Proprietário at Oporto Shore Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for choosing me, it was my pleasure to host you in such a great place and I hope that the memories last a lifetime! All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We experienced the all day tour by Miguel Ribeiro. His English was perfect and we found he has a true love of Protugal, Porto and especial the Douro River valley. The picturesque town of Amarante started our tour with coffee and pastries, then off to the valley! A fabulous lunch at Quinta Do Portal was followed by breathtaking views of the river, then a visit to another fabulous Port winery! A very full day, made even better because of Miguel's caring service. He will adjust your tour based on your preferences. A GREAT value!

Thank Kenneth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel R, Owner at Oporto Shore Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Your review of this majestic region confirms that you experienced the true beauty and culture of this amazing region. Thank you for choosing me to guide you through it and reveal its delights, it was a pleasure. All the best, Miguel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Miguel is a knowledgeable and friendly guide, with excellent English. We did a city tour of Porto as well as a day trip taking in the Douro Valley, Guimaraes and Amarante. Miguel knows the area well and his knowledge of the places to eat and visit make him an invaluable guide. He introduced us to local delicacies and wonderful wines and had ideas for places to eat each evening to experience more of the local cuisine. This was the ideal way to explore the area in the few days that we had available.

Thank Grmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oporto Shore Tours also viewed

 
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Oporto Shore Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing