We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Musica”
Review of Hotel da Musica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel da Musica
Ranked #30 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Musica”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

VERY contemporary. Paid $110 US for June 1. Disappointing that there was no student musicians in this area. Hotel name is a bit misleading? Hotel signage is nonexistent and you will have great difficulty finding the hotel, even if you are driving by--and did I mention there is NO checkin parking. Underground parking was an extra $8E. Dinner at old church across street was very good. Hotel rest was really not very good-except for breakfast. UPSCALE foot court and bar adjacent to hotel. Very good location--Hop-on bus close by at the very large park/column roundabout. Porto is a must see Portugal visit. Hotel receptionist gave us valuable map info for Duoro River drive.

Room Tip: If you are driving there, be prepared to have difficulty finding the front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryCy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catarina V, Guest Experience Manager at Hotel da Musica, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Mr. Gary,

We would like to express our gratitude for selecting our hotel.

Thank you for your suggestions, which will be taken into maximum consideration.
Your comments are very important, as they help us to review and improve our services.

Regarding the lack of signage directions to the hotel, we are awaiting permission from city hall to the placement of the same.

Looking forward to seeing you at our hotel ogain.

Best Regards,

Ana Rita Ferreira
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    322
    98
    31
    9
See reviews for
98
333
29
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel as a good "decor", keeping the music theme. The rooms are good sized and the open space concept for the bathroom works. Good breakfast nice and helpful staff. Location is very good to get around the city, with metro or bus. Will stay again...

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Adriana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catarina V, Guest Experience Manager at Hotel da Musica, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Adriana,


On behalf of our entire team, we would like to thank you for the kind words about your stay at our hotel.

Opinions like yours encourage us, to improve our services day by day.

We keep waiting for your return.

Best Regards,

Ana Rita Ferreira
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The main comment after a four night stay was that it was spotlessly clean.
The hotel is well situated and walkable to the town centre or a short taxi ride away. There are also good links by bus or metro and close to the hop on off tours. Staff were knowledgeable and helpful.
Standard rooms though were on the small side so if staying more than a couple of days its worth considering the superior rooms.

Room Tip: There are lots of cafes close by so although breakfast was good perhaps choose bed only and experien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanS600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catarina V, Guest Experience Manager at Hotel da Musica, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Alan,

Thank you for sharing with us your opinion about your recent stay in our hotel.
The comments of our customers are very important, so we can continuously improving our services.

On behalf of our entire team, we would like to thank you for the kind words about your stay at our hotel.

Opinions like yours encourage us, to improve our services day by day.

Hope hearing from you soon.

Best Regards,

Ana Rita Ferreira
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa da Caparica, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Simple yet beautiful. Located near the Boavista avenue and the Casa da Música, it sits on the old building of the Bom Sucesso market (which is nowadays a modern gourmet market concept). The hotel is really nice and comfortable, although the rooms are a bit small but still ok. The musical design notes gives it a different and tasteful touch. Friendly staff, fast check-in, breakfast is up to standards regarding 4 star hotels in Portugal, which means great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luis_FFigueiredo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catarina V, Guest Experience Manager at Hotel da Musica, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Luis,

On behalf of our entire team, we would like to thank you for the kind words about your stay at our hotel.

Opinions like yours encourage us, to improve our services day by day.

Hope hearing from you soon,

Best Regards,

Ana Rita Ferreira
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
99 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Rooms are simple yet modern. Though the rooms are small there it seems to have the space for everything: small desk, wardrobe, etc. Some problems with wifi when checking in but solved after a few minutes.
The lobby is very simple, there should be a more comfortable area for people traveling on business.
Breakfast area is not in intone with the rest of the decoration of the hotel.
Being inside the "mercado do bom sucesso" might be a plus for a snack/meal/ drink.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catarina V, Guest Experience Manager at Hotel da Musica, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Daniel,

Thank you for sharing your opinion concerning your recent stay in Hotel da Música.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

Hopping to receive you again soon.

Yours Faithfully,

Ana Rita Ferreira
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
194 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed for 2 nights in this lovely hotel while in Porto, Portugal for business. This hotel is just opposite the famous 'Casa Musica' theatre and the famous square by its name. Hence the complete hotel is based on theme of music. The whole hotel right from the reception, lobby, floors and rooms is based on music. On many walls you see paintings and musical notes of famous musicians like Mozart, Beethovan and many others. Location is very good but is a bit away from main tourist area riviera of Porto. Rooms are very modern but quite small in size. Sleep quality nevertheless is good. The restaurant is also quite good and breakfast offers a very good variety. Staff at reception is very helpful in giving you guidance in visiting places in the lovely city of port wine 'Porto'. Another big advantage that this hotel has in its premises a big shopping complex and a market with variety of food stalls and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guru52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catarina V, Guest Experienca Manager at Hotel da Musica, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of our entire team, we would like to thank you for the kind words about your stay at our hotel.

Opinions like yours encourage us, to improve our services day by day.

Hope hearing from you soon.

Best Regards,

Ana Rita Ferreira
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Recently renovated, this hotel offers modern and stylish decor, with a music twist. The rooms are spacious and very European, being all open. Not that good if you are sharing but not very good friends, as the toilet and shower doors are frosty glass.
A nice touch was that you had to use your key pass to use the lifts, which stopped kids running around using them!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catarina V, Guest Experience Manager at Hotel da Musica, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on tripadvisor.

We highly appreciate your review about your stay at Hotel da Música.
Looking forward to your next stay very soon.

Best regards

Ana Rita Ferreira
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
HF Fenix Porto
HF Fenix Porto
#32 of 106 in Porto
1,048 reviews
0.9 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#15 of 106 in Porto
874 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Artist Porto Hotel & Bistro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
0.7 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#9 of 106 in Porto
968 reviews
0.3 mi away
HF Ipanema Porto
HF Ipanema Porto
#29 of 106 in Porto
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Musica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Musica

Property: Hotel da Musica
Address: Largo Ferreira Lapa 21 183 | Mercado do Bom Sucesso, Porto 4150-323, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel da Musica 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel da Musica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing