We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aparthotel Oporto Sol
Ranked #103 of 214 Speciality Lodging in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Me and a couple of friends came to Porto for a weekend. We were very lucky to have found such a great place, great location and reasonable price.
We were greeted with a bottle of Port wine!
Reception staff was very helpful and friendly and we got some discounts for the local activities, river boats, and Port Bodegas...
There was a sofa bed in the place, the room could sleep up to 4 people.
The place was clean, very new and comfortable.
I would definitely come back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    28
    11
    8
    4
See reviews for
19
30
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Excellent location on a quiet street within walking distance from city's major attractions. The staff was very helpful. The apartment itself is basic, with an Ikea feel to it.

It is only after strolling around the city that I appreciated its location. Do not miss eating with the locals at Casa Kanimambo (at the end of the bloc, where Rua Sol meets Rua Augusto Rosa)-a homemade, basic, but delicious meal. Each time I ate there I was the only stranger.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank StefanBalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

My friend and I were there from August 31st through Sept 4th and appreciated the apartment and location. Good rate. We had problems with very noisy occupants upstair who were making noise all over the night. Therefore we could hardly sleep. We would suggest the organization to make rules for the silence hours inviting guests to strictly respect them.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabetta1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The name hotel is just a scam. These are semi furnished remodeled apartments in old rundown houses. When we showed up to check in we realized these people were running some sort of scam. No house- keeping service is provided (the name hotel is a scam). Please bring your own cleaning crew and supplies. Be prepared to pay for extra towels and such other amenities.

We could smell molds in the apartment. We booked for an apartment with air conditioner, however, we were told not all apartments had air conditioners and were asked to stay in one without. We refused and we were threatened to be charged for no show. The lady at the reception (Susan or Susana) was rude and very unhelpful. Totally did not understand that we had a binding contract and that as a part of the booking conditions they need to provide the services listed on their site. She only understood that guests were always wrong and she was always right. By the way, we used Booking.Com. Please realized they are part of the scam as well.

Room Tip: Do not get sucked into this scam. You are better off staying somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robinshar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dijon
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Extremely well located apartment; walking distance from a number of interesting sites. Apartment was clean and sofa bed was comfortable but a bit narrow for two people (we gave the comfortable double room to the kids as usual). Staff were very friendly and helpful
The internet indicated air conditioning but we couldn't get it to work (though the apartment was cool enough and we didn't need it). As with other reviews, the photo of the balcony view is misleading. We had a narrow balcony onto the back street, good for watching local life unfold but not the city view promised. Some other reviews refered to noise from upstairs. Insulation isn't great but it's no noisier than a good budget hotel would be.
Be careful about your check-in. The apartments are located in a building but there is no on-site reception. The reception is in fact a 'tourism office' on the corner at number 238. It was lucky that I made contact before our arrival in order to find out that this was where we had to go to get our keys. On the door of number 127 there is no indication of this, and we found at least one confused couple on the doorstep trying to figure out how to check-in.
Overall we had a lovely stay and I would recommend the apartment to other travelers.

Room Tip: If you specifically want the view in the photo you need to ask for it! Also if you are travelling a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

The pictures of the hotel are not correct. If you don't happen to have the appartment on the 4th floor, you don't have any view, just on the wall of the next house. It is also not a hotel, it is just an appartment in a narrow and noisy road. It is very hot inside, no airconditioning wich made it difficult to sleep. No shutters on the windows. No ventilation. The bed is 1.40m wide, the bed for the children is a couch that is 1.20m wide. The children have to go through the parents bedroom to use the toilet or shower. The workmanship of the finishing is poor.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertram C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed here for a few days in june 2013. Conveniently situated for discovering Porto. Very friendly staff, nice and clean rooms with good furniture and excellent kitchen. Superb sunny balcony on the 3rd floor. Great value, recommended.

Room Tip: On the 3rd floor the room has a very nice and sunny balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
Residencial Triunfo
Residencial Triunfo
#84 of 104 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel OPorto
Aparthotel OPorto
#37 of 214 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Shafa Guest House
#100 of 151 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa dos Guindais
Casa dos Guindais
#9 of 151 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cathedral Design Apartments
Cathedral Design Apartments
#178 of 214 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old City Design Apartments
Old City Design Apartments
#104 of 214 in Porto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Oporto Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Oporto Sol

Property: Aparthotel Oporto Sol
Address: Rua do Sol 127, Porto 4000-530, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 214 Speciality Lodging in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Oporto Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Aparthotel Oporto, the home of serviced apartments in Porto. We specialise in providing quality, great value accommodation in Historic Hearth of Porto. Our short stay apartments offer a great alternative to hotels saving you an average of 30% and providing you with more space, comfort and flexibility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Aparthotel Oporto Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing