We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Us”

Jimao Tapas e Vinhos
Reserve with
Jimao Tapas e Vinhos is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 1,743 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$24 - US$36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Jimao is a restaurant that combines the best of Portuguese cuisine and offering tapas dishes with carefully chosen by our chef
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I had looked at the good reviews on Tripadvisor and on our first night in Porto we found this lovely little restaurant. The lite choices were perfect for us. That evening we were not in the mood for a heavy dinner, but ordered tapas and then ordered more. We all enjoyed our food. Everything was just right and when we returned a few nights later, the owner was, once again, wonderfully polite and helpful. She remembered everything about us and her interest was genuine. She could not have been more lovely to us. On our second trip there we were hungry for salads and not only did they have choices, but the two we chose were excellent.
I was concerned that the restaurant would be difficult to find, but it is along the water and at the upper end of a short street, not difficult at all to find. One just needs to walk by three other restaurants to get to it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sandytraveler93405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimaoTapaseVinhos, Proprietário at Jimao Tapas e Vinhos, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

I do not know how to appreciate, sandytrav... the nice words you have written about us!

It was very nice to host you in our house. Having such a nice customers as you are, makes our job very rewarding and satisfying...

We hope to see you back in Porto! Meanwhile, have a nice winter and a wonderful Xmas Season.

Sincerely,

Jimão(Carmen)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,717)
There are newer reviews for Jimao Tapas e Vinhos
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

679 - 683 of 1,717 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

After a couple of nights of very mediocre food in Porto based on good reviews from TA, thought we would give this place a try.
Looked nice from outside and reasonable choice on the menu.
Cannot truly comment on the quality of the food as just had mixed sharing board (avoid as only comes with fairly small portion of serrano ham and what tasted like cheddar cheese - not good value at all!) and some appetizers recommended by the friendly waitress (although again, I wasn't keen on these and should have just stuck to my guns and ordered what I wanted!!).
Desserts however were delicious.
As everywhere in Porto - drinks good value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MorfeasBrightonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimaoTapaseVinhos, Proprietário at Jimao Tapas e Vinhos, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you very much MorfeasBr for your review.

We are sorry to know about your disappointment about our mixed board (Iberic Jam and Manchego cheese) We will look into the amount of the service ...that we thought to be proporcional to its cost. Thank you for your advice.

Glad to know, though, you enjoyed our desserts and wines!

Sincererly,

Jimão(Carmen)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Just what we were looking for. We enjoyed a nice casual lunch here. We bypassed the large, more touristy places on the square and found this place to be just right. It had a few outdoor tables, and inside there were tables on the first and second floors. The dining rooms were rather intimate, not too large. There is a nice view from some tables on the second floor. We ate on the first floor and it was fun to watch the activity in the open kitchen. The restaurant is newer and super clean. Service was excellent with English spoken (as needed) and English on some menus. We decided to share tapas and a "jarra" of wine. We had a nice selection of cheese and meats and a few other things. All were excellent! The bill was @ 29 Euro--a great value. The restrooms were very nice. This was one of our two best meal experiences on this trip!
Carmen, if you read this, could you please tell us what the sauce was on the Batatas a Jimao--it was wonderful!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kim54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimaoTapaseVinhos, Proprietário at Jimao Tapas e Vinhos, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you very much Kim54 for your kind words!

It is a great satisfaction for us when we read these comments...and they give us a great amoung of energy to keep hosting this way!


So glad you enjoyed our food, "jarra" of wine and our Batatas Jimão. Hope you keep the secret of our Francesinha´s sauce ;):

Onion, carrots, garlic, linguiça, chouriço, pork meat, beer, bay leaf, tomato sauce, piri-piri (hot sauce), brandy and Porto wine and salt.

Sauté with olive oil the first 6 ingredients finely cut. Add the rest and let them boil for a while (About 3|4 of an hr.) Remove the bay leafs and liquify.

Don´t despair, after a few tries will be perfect. :)

Wonderful Xmas Season!

Sincerely,

Jimão(Carmen)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Friendly staff, menu looked good but the experience was not good. Overpriced food and drink and some of the food inedible. We ordered tapas dishes, one being an onion dish with a fried egg on top. We waited a long time for it and the onion was hard and the egg also hard and overcooked. The wine was more expensive than in other local restaurants and we were really disappointed with the restaurant. Would not return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimaoTapaseVinhos, Proprietário at Jimao Tapas e Vinhos, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you very much Mrs Jennifer for your review.

We are very sorry about your disappointing meal in our restaurant.

With all my respect, I have to disagree with some of the critics you are reviewing but even so we will take them in consideration.

Sincerely,

Jimão(Carmen)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We were also led to Jimao through a Trip Advisor search rather than going with the touristy recommendation from the front desk of the hotel. Jimao sits to the extreme left of the Plaza de Ribeira, if you are facing the water. They have a cozy outside seating area that faces the water. We were so pleased with our experience. Look at the decor if you visit. The walls, ceilings and corners have personailized decorative items placed by the owner, Carmen, that she takes pride in explaining. The silverware and linen is presented inside a faux book. The immaculate kitchen is visible from the dining room and fresh, bunched herbs sitting in water, catches your eye.

The service is so personalized. If we asked them to hold the salt, or add lemon instead of vinegar, it was not a problem. The description of menu items were explained and the presentation was beautiful.

We enjoyed the tapas and entrees at Jimao so much that we dined there the three nights that we were in Porto. We had a traveling companion that was selective with what she ate, and Jimao was perfect for her. My husband enjoyed the green eggs, turkey fillet entree, and the patatas. I had wonderful pork tenderloin in a reduction sauce. Everything is fresh. I tried three different desserts for each night we dined there, and they were all sinfully good.

We also enjoyed the fact that each night, the restaurant was presenting a wine selection. Rather than ordering a bottle, or house wine, we had the option of ordering the selection by the glass.

Jimao is a gem amongst the touristy restaurants of the Plaza. It was an excellent value and the food was great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tere0053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimaoTapaseVinhos, Proprietário at Jimao Tapas e Vinhos, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Good Afternoon Tere0053,

Passing my eyes thru the Trip Advisor´s reviews I happen to realize that our respond to your beatiful comments had not been posted. I felt very sad about it...

I write to you once again to appreciate your review and specially your visits to our restaurant. Such a charming family you are...

I hope you had a great Christmas Season and I wish you a wonderful New Year.

(Did you found the perfume? :) )

Sincerely,

Carmen(Jimão)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jimao Tapas e Vinhos also viewed

 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Jimao Tapas e Vinhos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing