We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky but fab”

Rua- Tapas & Music Bar
Ranked #25 of 1,633 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$27
Cuisines: Bar, Mediterranean, European, Spanish, Portuguese, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Restaurant/bar that serves lunch and dinner, specialized in tapas and snacks , having a mood changing from a restaurant ambience to a lively and crowded bar after 11 pm. Live music, of different styles, is usually present from Wednesday to Sunday. Smoking is allowed after midnight!!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quirky but fab”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Came to realise that most places in Porto are a little different. Tapas food was excellent and original. Waiter suggested not to order too many and he was right. Didn't stay late enough to hear the band but bet they were great.

Helpful?
Thank Neiljw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuno G, Proprietário at Rua- Tapas & Music Bar, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you very much for your visit and for your nice comment! We look forward for your next visit, and with time to listen to our live concert!

Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    125
    30
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montmelard, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Wonderful up market tapas. Try the mini steak sandwich. Charming young staff and relaxed atmosphere. Really good live music was just starting as we were leaving 10.30pm. Probably very busy with lots of young people later in evening so go early if you are "mature".

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuno G, Proprietário at Rua- Tapas & Music Bar, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review and thank you even more for your visit. It was a pleasure to receive your group and we look forward to see you again in your next visit to Porto!!

Greetings!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great bar!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Good food nice drinks and friendly service! We went there twice and enjoyed! Some places just have this good relaxed feel about them. Try the Portonic!

Helpful?
Thank amilia62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuno G, Owner at Rua- Tapas & Music Bar, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review and thak you even more for your visit. It was a pleasure to receive you and it would be an honour to see you again very soon.

Greetings!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Really atmospherical place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

You can enjoy everything here:vine, tapas( especially the shrimps crockets), live music, stuff and people around you!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuno G, Owner at Rua- Tapas & Music Bar, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review and thak you even more for your visit. It was a pleasure to receive you and it would be an honour to see you again very soon.

We're glad that you had that sensation since it is exactly what we intended for RUA!!!

Greetings!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“at first seemed nice, but smoke after midnight made it terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

My first night out on my holidays, to see my friends concert. Aparently smoke in bars is normal again in Porto. Last time I was in Porto I was so happy to find the bars smokefree. So when I came in, aparently a bit before midnight, I just had to hold my breath for 3 meters, as all smokers were in the entrance part (rain outside...). But soon after it became almost unbearable and I could not stay until the end of my friends concert. I love going out, but why is the law not followed? I know its not only this bar, but have to start somewhere

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mariejose74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuno G, Owner at Rua- Tapas & Music Bar, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience! In fact after mid-night, as every other bar in Oporto, and since people are not still eating, we allow smoking.

We don't think this is a very fair review, since it doesn't evaluate our service, kitchen or music, but only the fact that smoking is allowed after mid-night.
Nevertheless we do hope you come back to taste our dishes before midnight, and built a diferent opinion.

Greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rua- Tapas & Music Bar also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Rua- Tapas & Music Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing