We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“very helpful”
other travellers have booked this property
Fabulous view from the shaded dining area.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fabulous view from the shaded dining area.
The stunning view from the grounds. The stunning view of the river and mountain.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Fabulous view from the shaded dining area.
The stunning view from the grounds.
The stunning view of the river and mountain.
The private pool with river view
Stunning private pool with new shaded area
Arial view of the pool showing the solar panels for heating the pool.
View to the river and mountains beyond
Arial view showing the property, the grounds and the pool.
The wonderful view from the pool
The pool terrace and loungers - the perfect way to unwind and enjoy the view
The large pool is so inviting on a hot day!
Aerial view of the pool.
Pool and river .
Lovely dining area
Overhead view of our large heated pool.
Inviting pool with wonderful scenery
Aerial view of the pool and
river.
House and wisteria
Beautiful floral display near the pool
The house and extensive grounds as viewed from above.
The house and extensive grounds as viewed from above.
Explore the extensive grounds and find hidden gems!
The lovely shady area under the wisteria
The house from the garden
Looking down on the house and the river view
The side of the house with wisteria
The view is always perfect
The stunning view over the river
View from a bedroom window
The wisteria in summer
View from the verandah
The river at its best
House and grounds from Porto Antigo Hotel
Showing the area of the house and grounds from other side of the river.
View up the River and part of the Roman road.
Overall view.
The view of the river late afternoon
Overview, house, pool, Pala town, river and mountains.
Cozy lounge
Chic dining area with wonderful views
Breakfast with a view
Well equipped fitted kitchen
Large fitted kitchen
Double bedroom 1
Double bedroom 2
Each room is full of character and period furniture
Original furniture and traditional features
Amazing river views from all bedrooms
Beautiful wrought iron bed with charming linen and curtains
Bedroom 3
Double bedroom 3
Amazing carving on wardrobe
What a view to wake up to!
Enchanting view from each bedroom
The hallway with period furniture
Modern bathroom
Bathroom with a large shower.
Second bathroom with shower.
Bathroom 1
One of our large double bedrooms
One of our large double bedrooms
One of our large double bedrooms
The cellar with history of the area and tourist guides
Historic antique furniture
Air con units in the hall
Covered area for barbecues
Shady pergola with BBQ
View from the Port Antigua Cafe
Ancient Roman history in the local area
Historic train ride starting from Porto
The mighty River Douro
Historic train ride starting from Porto along the Douro to the end of the line at Tua
Historic train on the Douro line
A river cruise on the Douro
It's so peaceful
Our local station at Mosteiro
Train's coming
Station view
Historic boats on the River Douro
That famous bridge at Porto!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Porto, Porto District, Northern Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

davidwQ78...
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very helpful”
Reviewed 27 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Fransisco was very helpfulin offering advice on activities in the area and the farmhouse was very clean and tidy.Great views over the river too

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
15 Jul 2017
It has been a great pleasure to welcome you at my home and give you all the assistance to enjoy better all the Douro Valley.
Thank you for your stay, you are welcome any time.
Best wishes
Francisco Neto
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophie a
Guildford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful old house, with incredible views. Highly recommended.”
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My family and I have just got back from a wonderful holiday in Portugal, having stayed at this beautiful old farmhouse high above the Douro river. It was stunning - I couldn't stop staring at the view across the valley, over the river far below, the steep hills dotted with tiny houses. The farmhouse is surrounded by privately owned land, so it is not overlooked at all. The owner and his wife live in a nearby house, but they are very helpful and friendly, and also tactful, not wanting to get in the way of our holiday. The pool was lovely, and a good size, and what a location! The house is surrounded by orange and lemon trees on steep terraces, so we had freshly squeezed orange juice or lemonade every day. Bliss. We will be going back if we can. The only downside to the farmhouse is the surrounding roads. We have never driven such bendy roads! Terrifying, and requiring total concentration. But you do get used to them!

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
30 Jul 2015
Hi S.

Thank you for the comments regarding your stay at our family home.
We do our best to make our guest´s holidays a memorable stay.
Douro Valley is a great region to visit with their Port wine farm producers and
the cities around as Régua, Lamego, Vila Real and others nearby.
The roads are in a very good condition but our area is a mountain area so,some
bendings to give attention.
As we live near the main house ,our guests have, as they may need, our full
assistance.
We have been delighted to have you and family with us, you are welcome any
time you come back.

Kind regards

Francisco
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian...
Chateau-Thierry, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2019 for a stay in August 2019
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStar...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: June 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virgule49
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation
3
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: August 2015
Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
20 Aug 2015
Thank you very much for your stay at our family home at Quinta do Loureiro - Douro Valley - Baião.
I do my best to provide a memorable stay for my guests.
It has been a great pleasure to have you here and to know you have really enjoyed your stay loving with us our Douro Valley.
Thank you very much and come again you are welcome.

My best regards

Francisco
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.