We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“M n M in Porto”
other travellers have booked this property
Lounge area with windows allowing for natural sunshine and view of the Douro river
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge area with windows allowing for natural sunshine and view of the Douro river
View of Kitchen and lounge from the entrance door, Kitchen space with window overlooking the Douro River
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Lounge area with windows allowing for natural sunshine and view of the Douro river
View of Kitchen and lounge from the entrance door,
Kitchen space with window overlooking the Douro River
Windows from the lounge sitting chairs and Kitchen directly  overlooking the Douro River
lounge
Sitting / Dinning room
relaxing area
Bedroom with double bed
bathroom with shower and bathtub
Shower cabinet, Bathroom with towels, bath robe and toiletries
Bath tub
Street and River seen from the window
map and location of apartment
Tram passing under the apartment window
View of the rabelo boat from the kitchen window
Tram close to the apt
Tram and bus stop in front of apartment
Porto, ribeirinha
View from the apartment of the Rabelo boats sailing the Douro river
View of Porto - Serra de Pilar and Wine caves- Vila Nova de Gaia,  very close to the apartment
The river douro and the rabelo touristic boat
View of Porto very close to the apartment
View of Porto very close to the apartment
View of Porto very close to the apartment
View of Porto - the Sé Cathedral very close to the apartment
View of Porto very close to the apartment
View of Porto very close to the apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Porto, Porto District, Northern Portugal

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
MnMPorto2...
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“M n M in Porto”
Reviewed 9 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The Riverview apartment was, clean, cozy and had everything you needed. Walking distance to most sights, trams and hop on hop off buses, Cristina is wonderful, very knowledgeable about the area, pics you up from the airport and gives you a tour of the local areas, Porto is fabulous and we shall certainly return here one day,. Note: the apartment is up several steep stairs, suitable for active junior seniors and the like, Thank you Cristina it was a pleasure to meet you your welcome Is a lovely memory of our stay in Porto,

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jth400
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“An apartment situated in a prime position with a great host!”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We might have only stayed for four nights but because of a fantastic host we were able to take full advantage of the time we had. Cristina picked us up from the airport gave us a brief overview of Porto and then took the time, back at the apartment, to give us great advice on where to go, what to eat and how to get around. The apartment is situated with an excellent view of the river and was in walking distance of many of the sights. (It is very hilly so be prepared with good shoes!!) We tried some typical Portuguese food based on Cristina's recommendation and we also visited places outside Porto which were well worth a visit. The apartment was comfortable and had everything you needed in it. We had a fantastic time. A big thank you to Cristina for being a great host!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
Thank you for your review, its guests like yourself that make hosting so special and gratifying. Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amanda703
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Comfortable apartment with river views and excellent host”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Cristina made us feel welcome as soon as we arrived. She sat down with us and went over the map giving us suggestions of what to do and see and places to eat. She booked us a table at the Postigo do Carvao restaurant for our first night which we really appreciated as we were tired after travelling and didn't want to go far.. Although the restaurant was busy we found the staff friendly, good service, nice food & wine and excellent value so we even went back on our last night. We found the apartment bright, ,spacious and comfortable with a well equipped kitchen and it was quiet during our stay. Although the bed is very low we found the mattress and pillows comfortable. There is a large TV with lots of channels in various languages including English. We did find there was only enough hot for one shower before letting it heat again but this did not cause us a problem. Bus & tram stops and only a few steps away or you can enjoy walking the many hilly streets that Porto has to offer. Thank you again Cristina for providing a lovely apartment and for all your help & advise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The river views from a comfortable apartment
Liked least: The wet weather but that was just unlucky!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2016
Thank you for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simonsdvd
France
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent stay in Porto”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

An excellent apartment with views over the river. The owners description is completely justified. In fact the photos of the apartment do not do it justice as it is both bigger and lighter than the photos suggest. The owner is extremely helpful and gave us a lot of good advice on where to go and what to do. Having a large car park directly opposite the apartment was extremely useful as car parking space can be a problem.

Access to the restaurants and the various riverside facilities are only a 5 minute walk away.

One word of caution! The apartment is on the second floor and the stairs are very steep. This is only to be expected with an old house but anybody with mobility problems could have difficulties. The owner was very helpful in transferring our luggage from our rental car in the car park and helping to carry it up the stairs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The central location and access to public transport such as tour buses, river cruises etc.
Liked least: The stairs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol J
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“At home in Porto”
Reviewed 10 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had a wonderful few days in the centre of Porto. It was our first time in Portugal, and it was an ideal introduction!
Hotels are great for business trips, but much more enjoyable to stay in someone's place - a clean, quiet, (except for Saturday night!) and cool apartment in an excellent town centre location. We felt at home as soon as Cristina met us at the airport and gave us her views on what to see, where to eat and how to get around the city.
Porto has it all - city life, markets, river, boats, beaches, historic buildings, art and music... not to mention the excellent fish cuisine and Portuguese wines.
We will definitely return to Portugal and see some more.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Getting to know the town at our own pace.
Liked least: The maps of Porto were indicative rather than accurate! Needed some interpreting....
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotr5645
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed 11 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

If you want to see Porto and it's surroundings without need of a car, this is the place. It is a short walk away from Sao Francisco and the Bolsa as well as the Ribeira waterfront. View the the port cellars of Vila Nova de Gaia from your window. Bus and tram stops are steps away as are Douro River tour docks. Great restaurants abound nearby as do grocery shops for stocking the apartment. The apartment itself is clean and well appointed. Cristina, the owner, was very attentive and responsive to our needs. We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Porto and Cristina and her apartment were a major factor in that.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, ease of access to public transportation and tourist attractions
Liked least: Weekends got a bit noisy at the restaraunt below, but this is unavoidable in a popular area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene2232
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Potential”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This apartment has potential to be a great vacation rental. It is directly on the river, within easy walking distance of many shops, restaurants, and historic sites. Also, the tram and buses (city and tour) pass in front, all having stops with a block of walking.

The owner was out of town on holiday while I staying in the apartment, so locating the apartment and getting in were a challenge. The internet did not work with the instructions that were left in the apartment, which made it difficult for me to look up information on the area. This caused me to miss out on a lot of sites since I seemed to always arrive when things were closed.

The bathroom needed a good scrubbing and perhaps some of the old toiletries from previous tenants could be thrown out. I would not personally use an old bar of soap that had been left behind by someone else. The fridge and freezer smelled and had leftover open packages of food from previous tenants, as well as bottles of condiments with expiration dates as old as 2010.

There is no A/C, but a fan was provided. There is a great breeze coming off the river, but if you leave the windows open, the apartment is swarmed with flies. It would be great if there were screens on the windows. Also, the shutters on the windows don't work, so you can't close them to block the sun during the heat of the day. The apartment seems to face south, as it gets sun all day.

There is currently construction being done on the river promenade during the day, so there is a lot of noise starting at around 8:30am. Also, there is a very lively restaurant/bar downstairs with live music that goes pretty late. If you close the windows and the bedroom door, you will not hear it.

This apartment is two flights up very steep stairs. Given the age of the building, the stairs are not all uniform in rise, so it took a bit of getting used to.

Communicating with the owner was difficult, perhaps because she was on holiday, but we did talk before I left and I provided her this same feedback. She was very appologetic and seemed to appreciate the information, so perhaps these concerns will be addressed in the near term.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No internet and lack of cleanliness
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2014
I am really sorry that the apartment did not live up to your expectations, I appreciate your review and information regarding improvements that can be made so as to make future guests feel comfortable and at home. Although I was not in town when you arrived, I did leave my mother to welcome you and give you information and the apartment keys.
The day you arrived at the apartment I phoned you from my celular phone informing you of the various places to visit and eat during your stay, I also left my number so that if you needed anything, I would phone you back to answer any questions you needed to ask and during this short time that we exchanged words I did not experience any communication difficulties. In order for you to feel welcome, I left you a letter informing you of the same things and much more, as well as the password for the Wifi. Unlimited wifi was provided and working to the best of my knowledge since previous guests used the Wifi in the apartment with no trouble and I did not receive any comments regarding the wifi, but you need to remember to charge the router and switch it on at the bottom! could this have been the problem that you did not have any wifi signal.

The apartment was recently refurbished/renewed and everything inside from linens, towels, furniture and electrical apliances are new, except for an antique bathtub that I kept. When you comment that the bathroom needed a good scrubbing and perhaps some of the old toiletries from previous tenants could be thrown out. I am guessing that you are referring to the scratches and light stains on the white antique bathtub and 2 grey spots seen on the side of the silicone finishing around the shower water exit (the slilcone has been replaced with a new transparent antifungal silicone so as to prevent future black mouldy spots). I have a lady that cleans the apartment spotlessly after each guest departure and therefore does not allow dirt to accumulate after a 3-5day guest stay. As for the old toiletries, I agree that some guests have left shampoo and conditioner bottles in the bathroom shower.
As for the bar of soap. Yes, there is a bar of soap in the bathroom, however a dispenser bottle of bath/shower gel is always provided for guests that prefer liquid soap in a dispenser instead of a bar of soap.

After viewing your review, i opened the fridge and freezer for smells. I did not find anything inside that could of produced an unpleasant odour except for some potatoes and 2 onions that were left in the fridge drawer and a leftover open package of smoked sausage, these items were immediately thrown out and there seems to be no smells.

As for the condiments with expiration dates, I left a jar of homemade fig jam for a previous guest that commented during a conversation of being a lover of figs, I used a jar from a clean empty nutella jar to transport and maintain the jam so that the guest could enjoy the jam with some crackers, I admit, it never occurred to me to look at the validation date or even considered that anyone would.

The apartment is swarmed with flies. Forgive me, but the remark - a swarm of flies seems to be an exageration. A fly net screen on the windows would not allow you to freely hang clothing outside the window.

I did find that one of the window shutters in the lounge did not work, that was because a guest before you pulled the shutter above the permitted limit and the shutter was locked in its casing. It has since then been repaired.
Did you notice that there was a wooden shutter in that same window that could be let down to make shade in the lounge during the day.

During the month of July and August there was indeed construction being done on the river promenade during the day,however, the construction is now been completed.

During the summer, on the weekends - Friday and Saturday the restaurant next door has live music until one in the morning, however, if you close all the windows and the bedroom door the music is less bothersome.

Once again thank you for your time in writing and sharing your comments, I appreciate your review,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing