We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Spacious Apartment”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Wine apartments 1

Bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedroom
Entrance Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
54 reviews
Bedroom
Entrance
Entrance
Kitchen
Kitchen
Living room
Living room
Living room
Living room
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Balcony
Balcony
Outside
View
View
Neighborhood
Neighborhood
Neighborhood
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Porto, Porto District, Northern Portugal

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Lydia R
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Spacious Apartment”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment is as described. It is very spacious, impeccably clean, and in an ideal spot for anyone new to Porto and willing to explore the old part of the city. Carlos' apartment is well equipped with the basic essentials. Carlos, the owner, is friendly and is quick responding to email and text inquiries. Once we arrived to Porto, he took the time to explain to me and my husband how to use all the appliances and to point out where the small supermarkets were located. All appliances were in good working condition. In addition he pointed out where we could find a bakery. He suggested places to eat and advised us of typical plates to taste in Porto.

The apartment has Wi-Fi and works well. The apartment is on a pedestrian street; Carlos has a deal with the parking lot down the street and he gives vouchers for a reduced price. It worked out perfect.

Carlos even went out of his way to help us with a little issue we had with the toll ticket. We drove into Porto from northern Spain and went through the EZPass lane (Via Verde). Carlos explained to us what we had to do when we left Porto to take care of the unpaid ticket. We took care of our issue thanks to Carlos.

My husband and I had a wonderful time in Porto, and Carlos and his apartment were part of our positive experience. In our travels, we have learned that the place where you stay has a lot to do with the way you see your new environment.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annebaile...
Orpington, Kent
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very central, second floor apartment overlooking a square with lots going on.”
Reviewed 22 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment is right in the middle of the historical centre of Porto with all the 'must see' sites close by. There are numerous restaurants and bars in the square where the apartment is located and in neighbouring streets.They attract street performers, most of whom are fine and add to the ambience although the occasional one uses amplification which can be intrusive. Still, one of the highlights was sitting on the balcony with a drink in hand watching the world go by in the square below.
The apartment itself is simply furnished, very clean and of a decent size.
There is a lift only part of the way up so you need to be happy with climbing stairs.
Carlos, the landlord was exceptionally helpful with information on train services, recommended restaurants, places to visit, etc.
We would definitely go back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m2posc
Porto, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Central location in a vibrant square”
Reviewed 3 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful central location, many sites and restaurants nearby. Metro and train station a short walk away. Carlos is a great and informative host. We would stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael A
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stylish apartment in great location”
Reviewed 2 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Great location close to Sao Bento station, the city centre and the river, in an area with lots of up-market restaurants and interesting shops. We discovered that the two restaurants recommended to us by friends who had visited Porto were within 100 metres of the apartment. The downside is that it was often noisy after midnight. The apartment is roomy and stylishly decorated. Negatives: Mainly issues with appliances. The heating struggled to combat the winter cold. The washing machine was broken. The fan over the stove was broken. Not all of the basic cooking tools were provided - with so many restaurants nearby that perhaps would not normally matter but we were there at Christmas when at times everything was closed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deftgurl
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good central location with great people watching and nightlife.”
Reviewed 8 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Great service from Carlos, very helpful in getting us there and explaining everything, pointing our the better restaurants and shops nearby, etc.. Good space and ambience, though as others have stated anyone hoping to go to bed early will want to look elsewhere, given all the restaurants in the square below which have live music until late, and the constant stream of people on the street. If that vibe is attractive, this is your place! Location on foot is within 5 minutes of the train station and 10 minutes of one major bus station. Amenities were generally good, though I'd vote for some better kitchen knives and a few more cleaning supplies (no trash bags or paper towels). You can do very basic cooking with what's provided, good enough for most people's needs. We were looking forward to having a washing machine in the middle of our trip, and there is one, but it was out of service, which was a disappointment and why I've checked the box for 'not as described'. Everything else was as described. Of the four large windows, the one I wanted to open the most next to the sofa did not open, that might make a difference for some people in the middle of summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: location and view
Liked least: washing machine not working
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
244janemu...
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wine Apartments Porto”
Reviewed 7 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in one of the two Wine Apartments in the middle of old Porto, from 27 Oct - 3 Nov 16. The apartment was very nice indeed. Even better, the location could not have been better - set on a small pedestrianised placa. There were plenty of good restaurants nearby and the outstanding Taverna do Largo (thank you Sofia and team!). There was such good access to tourist spots that a good walker should not need any other transport for Porto centre and the Port Houses on the opposite bank. Owner Carlos provided great communication and support before departure and a wonderful welcome. It must be said that there was some noise in the evenings from the lively placa below but the music always stopped at 11pm - if you want to go to bed early it might be good to take earplugs. Never been to Porto before but we'll be back - and for accommodation we will look no further than the Wine Apartments.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbm00re
Porto, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Comfortable and good location.”
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Porto is a wonderful city, and region, to visit, and this apartment is in a historic, central location for walking and accessing many sites and p unlicensed transportation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and view of the square
Liked least: Noise some evenings late
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing