We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, central hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Peninsular

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Peninsular
Ranked #88 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great value, central hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Ideally located in the centre of town amongst cafes, bars and shops, 2 minutes walk to the train station and Metro and about 20 minutes walk to the river where it all seems to be happening. The hotel is a lovely old building with plenty of character. Our room was a good size, basic and clean but lacking nothing. All staff we came across were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was buffet style and plenty of it with fruit, cakes, biscuits, cereals, fruit juices etc. Wifi available in reception at small cost. Had a great stay, wouldn't hesitate to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bandbwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    109
    64
    32
    27
See reviews for
31
113
37
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

The Peninsular is located just next to Sao Bento metro and railway station, it is also walking distance to the Douro river and Eiffel's bridge. Room has its own batroom. The only drawback was slow Internet, but fortunately during the holiday I didn't need it too much.
Breakfast were really good with multiple choice.
The staff was smiled and very helpful, always ready to help.
The Pensao Peninsular present great value for a low price.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kerad85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caslano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Not the best hotel ever been but surely one of the best for value.
Good rooms, good service and perfect position.
Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lopsch07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

Booked 3 single rooms through laterooms.com. All diferent in size, rather dated and basic, which sums up the hotel, but perfectly adequate and an absolute bargain rate for the city centre location.
My room at rear was dead quiet even with an open window, with decent size bathroom albeit really dated but everything worked fine. No air con in any of our rooms but unecessary during our stay despite a heatwave in mid October. Rooms at front looked big but facing the street could be a tad noisy.
The hotel must have been quite grand in its hey day with much evidence of period features such as the stairs and stained glass. Super friendly staff, even the room cleaners had big smiles.
Cold buffet breakfast was plentiful in both choice and quantity and served in spacious original-retro dining room.
Reception were very happy to provide advice and sold us tickets including a small discount for what proved to be the excellent 5 bridges boat trip. Arrived at noon and the rooms were ready.
Great city central location next to Sao Bento rail station, which is worth a view if nothing else (1 stop from Campanha) and particularly handy if you plan to use public transport as there is a small bus terminus just a 2 min walk where buses go to various destinations including south of the river where you will grab the best views of Porto and also enjoy one of the frequent free tours around one of the Port houses. We thoroughly enjoyed the 30 minute Croft tour which even included a free noggin! and of course the opportunity to buy a bottle or 3. You will need to be quite fit to make it to Taylors at the top of the hill but I stuck my head in there and that too looked a gem.

The bargain 3 day travel cards which comess with an excellent map can be purchased in Sao Bento station although this does not cover the historic trams which are a must as is the standard tram ride west along the river to Foz where you can should you wish take a dip in the sea.
Taxi from airport was 20E at lunch time.

Room Tip: Ask about the aircon if hot weather...or room at rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nic1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
169 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

Once upon a time grand. Nostalgic fittings, extremely high, spaceous, light room, well functioning AC and fridege, extremely central, half way up the hill, next to the railway station which is worthwhile visiting. Next to reception in a dark corner, slow internet access is available, both keyboard and chair have unergonomic heights. Opt for rooms from 3rd floor up. Excellent value for its price.

Room Tip: opt for rooms from 3rd floor up
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ramsay_bocuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

My wife, toddler, and I stayed at this hotel. It was spotless, inexpensive, and well located. There is nothing to complain about. It is a great value, and I would gladly go again.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank acga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights and it was just what we needed. The location was absolutely perfect...just across from the train station and close enough to walk to everything - or easy access to public transport.

The price is right, breakfast is included, and the staff was friendly. Rooms facing the street are a little noisy so if you're a light sleeper you may want an interior/back facing room. It's a solid 3 star hotel. I'd definitely stay here again.

Note - there isn't internet access in the rooms. You can get on Wifi in the lobby but you have to pay extra for it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristikls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Universal
Hotel Universal
#62 of 103 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residencial Triunfo
Residencial Triunfo
#84 of 103 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paulista Pensao Residencial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residencial Girassol
Residencial Girassol
#81 of 103 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Poveira
Hotel Poveira
#60 of 103 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Nobre
Hotel Porto Nobre
#65 of 103 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Peninsular? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Peninsular

Property: Hotel Peninsular
Address: Rua Sa da Bandeira 21, Porto 4000-433, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Peninsular 2*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Peninsular reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Peninsular Porto
Pensao Peninsular Hotel Porto
Hotel Peninsular Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing