We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cheap and central” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Peninsular

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Peninsular
Ranked #87 of 103 Hotels in Porto
galicia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“cheap and central”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2009

Right in the centre of town. The hotel is old but its blue azulejo tiles give it some charm. The room we had was very old fashioned, a comfortable bed, quiet but witha a tiny, tacky bathroom. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was good. We paid 38 euros for the room. If you want luxury dont go here but otherwise its fine.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnGalicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    109
    64
    32
    27
See reviews for
31
113
37
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2009

The hotel is amazingly located in the very city center, which makes sightseeing in Porto really easy.

Unfortunately, the rooms are incredibly old-fashioned, which in itself would not be problem, if they were at least a bit more comfortable! Worst, though, is that the wall are so thin that you can hear everything happening in the rooms around yours and in the hallway.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M_a_SGroningen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Porto hotels

East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2009

Myself and my partner stayed at this hotel recently for three nights. We would recommend it for anyone visiting Porto. The hotel is old which makes it quaint. It was very clean. We had a room which looked out on to a wall so it was very dark, but I feel we could have asked for a move had we wanted to but we did not spend much time in the room anyway.
The hotel is well situated. i would describe it as half way up the hill. The Quay is at the bottom and the main shopping street is at the top, so you never have to climb the full hill to get anywhere!
The reception staff were extremely helpful. I made an enquiry with one about whether there would be taxis on the rank at the station across the road at 6:30 the next morning which was a Sunday, as we were due to leave. Before I knew it she had ordered a taxi to be outside the door for us, arranged an early breakfast in the bar and fixed an alarm call to our room. i wish i knew her name to give her full credit, but she has a gorgeous little 18 month old girl she was showing us photos of one night.. The others we came across were all just as helpful in responding to queries we had.
In summary i can highly recommend this hotel. It is not modern and flashy but is brilliant value for money and a great base for exploring Porto.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxine36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
146 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2009

We stayed for 4 days. We had a huge bedroom, but a small double bed and even smaller bathroom.. Wonderful air condition. No wifi, and as we found in most places in Portugal, no English on the TV.
Eselde at reception gave us wonderful advice about Porto. The hotel is, as other reviewers have said, is a rabbit warren. It is very central with sao bento railway station across the road. Heaps of restaurants around.. If you turn left up the hill. Pass two flash ones you will come to a small narrow restaurant on the left hand side, looking like a butchers shop with the ribs and kebabs in the window. They serve great cheap food, and lots of it and great cheap wine, and lots of it.. Loved Porto. Great metro to get around.
Well worth the 50 euros per night we paid

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank busterNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2008

We were very pleased with our room, which looked out onto the street, had good light, had a nice balcony and was big enough. We arrived at night and the view out the balcony was so pretty with the old railstation building and the moon...that made it for me! Location is great...it's a short walk to the river, but a nice walk. Parking is off site...we spent about 12 euro, I think per night. Breakfast was ok (but the coffee not so hot -- much better in a cafe!). The room came to 37 euro in cash, which was really awesome. The tiled decorations on the main floor are also quite pretty. Very good service as well.

  • Liked — location, the view, excellent value
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OttawaKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2008

We spent two nights at the Pensao Peninsular on our six day trip around Porto & the Douro region.

I had read the reviews and knew what to expect but in saying that I was very happy with this basic accomodation. The receptionist was exceptionally friendly and let us take a look at a few rooms before deciding on one! The rooms within the pensao vary in standard also. On the whole, for what we paid, and the amount of time we spent here this was very good value. If you pay cash, the rooms gets cheaper!

The rooms were clean as was the bathroom. I say rooms as we stayed two seperate nights at both ends of the trip and had different rooms on both nights! Breakfast was the usual breadrolls, ham cheese, jam, huge croissants, tea, coffee and juice. Nothing to write home about but enough to keep you going!

The location is very good - just across from the railway station which incidentally is a fine building and the area was not noisy at all. In general I think people are warned against staying in establishments near railway stations but I did not come accross any undesirable elements!

Porto is a lovely town to spend a few days looking around and the port tours are a must!

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dublinadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
604 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 692 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2007

We recently spent three great days in Porto. It's a lovely old city with much to see and do. The Peninsular hotel was an older one but with plenty of modern amenities and it is kept looking very clean and polished. It was clean, spacious enough, had the normal Portuguese hotel breakfast, tv in the room that included a news station in English, and a full bath. The staff always had someone on duty who spoke English for those with language difficulties. We would have paid 34 euros a night for a twin room but the price came down to 30 euros nightly with payment in cash. It was great and comfortable for the money. In addition, it is very central and only a minute or two away from the metro, Sao Bento train station, Aliados, and plenty of shopping and just a few minutes away from several of the main tourist attractions and the tourist office. If you want comfort and a place that is very reasonably priced this is great and for those who want more amenities you can have them for a few more euros in the more expensive rooms.

  • Liked — central and clean
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank unclelouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Universal
Hotel Universal
#63 of 103 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residencial Triunfo
Residencial Triunfo
#84 of 103 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paulista Pensao Residencial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residencial Girassol
Residencial Girassol
#81 of 103 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Nobre
Hotel Porto Nobre
#65 of 103 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Poveira
Hotel Poveira
#60 of 103 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Peninsular? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Peninsular

Property: Hotel Peninsular
Address: Rua Sa da Bandeira 21, Porto 4000-433, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Peninsular 2*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Peninsular reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Peninsular Porto
Pensao Peninsular Hotel Porto
Hotel Peninsular Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing