We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strange experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pao de Acucar Hotel
Ranked #51 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
283 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Strange experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is quite interesting and funny hotel. It is very well located, just off from the main square, quite close (7-10 minutes walk) to Sao Bento train station (suburban trains only but they can get you to Campanha station, just make sure to have enough time), it makes a very good spot to discover Porto on foot. To get to Douro river is downhill, problem is to get back uphill at 40 C. However, taxi should set you back for some 6 EUR only from a taxi rank just above Ribeira. Hotel is clean, and staff at the reception very cordial and helpful - I have not seen such a nice and good staff for a long time, not even in a much higher ranked hotels. Even the hotel is marked outside, it shares entrance with some other business, so you are practically entering an ordinary building and do not see reception, which is to the right and clearly marked way leads to it. And you already feel better as area is air-conditioned. Two elevators are serving the hotel, but only one is exclusive to the hotel, the other is shared. We waited sometimes for few minutes for the elevator to come, but this was not the major problem. Another lovely feature is terrace where you can enjoy your breakfast. In the morning it is in the shade, it is not too hot but very pleasant (I am talking about very hot days this summer) and to the right you can see the tower of the city hall and just ahead roofs of typical Porto building area, even with some abandoned and ruined buildings, which still was a nice view to me. Breakfast itself is somewhat limited, you can get a choice of sweet things (butter, jam, honey, cakes of different kind, sweet bread, and some savory items - cheese and ham - are also offered. No eggs. Orange juice, tea and coffee from the machine, milk and cereals are also there, with bread and rolls. Yogurt is also available, but, alas, with flavor and sweetened, natural yogurt can rarely been found. there is also a small inside breakfast room (where actually all the food is displayed), in case of bad weather. At certain times terrace can be full, usually after 8 o'clock. Tables at the terrace are for two, but you can take a third chair (if free), or even add another table. Half of the terrace length is for the rooms and I can imagine these rooms are quite nice with option to get out (but not during the breakfast). So, location, staff and terrace are positive things and reason I rated the hotel very good. Room itself would earn average grade or even poor. I was in 515 which was reasonably sized for 3 people (not big) and third bed was a proper bed and not sofa. There was a small refrigerator like a mini bar, but we could use it for our drinks. We had LCD TV, air-conditioning and large bathroom with bath tube. In comparison to rooms in Paris this was bigger. The problem is set up which may sound charming, but old furniture in the room seemed to be neglected and not practical. Double bed could be wider as it was barely wide enough for two people (I think it was 160 cm). Third bed had a normal 90 cm. We had an old closet which was not practical for clothes (shelves would be nice) so we simply kept it in suitcases, with exception of few things we put on hangers. View was not good, as we watched the inner court, but we did not care about it as we spent most of the time outside and positive thing was that we never had strong direct light to heat our room up (even it was warm enough to turn on AC regularly). Coming back to positive things in hotel, interesting set up on corridors made of different old toys and bumper cars, lamps made of ventilators and interesting staircase. When we needed assistance with blocked outflow of water in bathroom, the lady came within minutes to solve so they are very efficient. Yes, I would come back to this hotel if my internet deal is OK and I wish they will drop the old style furniture and rearrange the rooms as they could be much better. We could not get Wifi for free but did not bother even to ask, free Wifi was available in a café just next to the hotel and also on main square close to city hall.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Filotije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    307
    186
    51
    46
See reviews for
123
331
52
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

I stayed here recently with my friend and had booked a twin room. When we checked in and went to our room it had a double BUT..... we hadnt looked around the door and seen the other DOUBLE room! So we had a double room each and a lovely nights sleep (I avoided her snoring! Happy days :) . Breakfast was busy busy busy but very acceptable. The hotel itself is very unusual with all its knick-knacks and memorobilia dotted around. Little old bumper cars and old toys make this hotel unique and a pleasure to stay in. The staff on reception were very helpful and smiley (and dishy!) thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would recommend it if you fancy something other than a mundane samey samey hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WendiWoo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Disappointed

A Birthday treat, booked a room with terrace. Got to hotel only to be told that the room was given to the other person who booked at same time, but we could have their best room or Suite, great we thought expecting a 4 poster Jacuzzi maybe, got in the room nothing special just a king size bed next morning asked to be told when a room with terrace was available, they then said they did have a room but the air con was not working but would be fixed later that day at he latest the next day, we looked at the room the terrace was OK so we agreed to have it. Alas the Air con was not fixed even with the use of a fan the room did not go below 30 degrees at night, so we got no sleep. The staff are lovely but the owners need to look at doing the room to a 3 star status

Room Tip: Go for a terrace room as the other rooms are well !! Look at pictures of the place first
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Porto hotels

New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

The best thing about this hotel was the old toys theme! What fun! The staircase is also a gem. The rooms were large and the decor traditional (but with wi-fi!). It is located on a side street in a busy neighborhood, not too long a walk from the river.
The breakfast was good, and, weather permitting, you can eat sitting outside on the restaurant terrace.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IMLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

It´s the third time i stay in this hotel, just besides Aliados Main Plaza, in the heart of town. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful, always motivated to assist their costumers. The room is very spacious, confortable with free wi fi. Vintage unique style with huge and rare items displayed such as old toys,fans,
type writters, and... VINTAGE BUMPER CARS from the 70´s, which i´ve never seen in any other hotel...
Just amazing and singular decoration.The stair case is another must you may see when you get to this hotel: maybe art deco staircase from the fifties. A photo taken from the 6 th floor is great...
Very fresh products in the breakfast, consumed in the beautiful terrace where you can see the city hall.
Lovely hotel. i just recommend it...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ruisousacalheiros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Our flight from Stansted (London) to Porto was cancelled because of the Franch Air Traffic Control strike and we had to queue for over 8 hours to find alternative flights. We informed the hotel we were unable to make our intended date but not to cancel our booking because we were queueing to find alternative flights. We were able to get to Porto the following night (via a flight to Germany!) only to find they had already charged our credit card for the first night, cancelled our original booking and re-booked us into a basic room (but still charging us the same price as our original booking for a better room) and we were told they would charge again for the second night had we not been able to make it. The hotel is shabby, the rooms smell musty and there is little difference between a basic room and a superior room... except the price! Based on our experience I would not recommended this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

This hotel was a bit shabby and the internet is painfully slow (ok if you're checking the odd email or two but not if you're trying to work or download anything). The day I arrived they said there had been a problem with the water in my room so they put me in a different, tiny cupboard of a room for the first night (luckily with a slightly lower rate) and moved my suitcase the next day for me. My new room was very basic but fine, although they removed the extra towels and pillow from the extra bed, which just felt a bit stark. Bed not great or terrible. Breakfast was fine. Good location for the hotel, right in the center of town. There were some very loud people outside on Friday night--a few bars nearby--but otherwise pretty quiet. The staff was the best part of staying here though, as they were very sweet and helpful every time I passed by reception. Not sure I'd stay here again but nor would I strongly not recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmangiare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
Vera Cruz Porto Hotel
Vera Cruz Porto Hotel
#55 of 104 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Internacional
Hotel Internacional
#52 of 104 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grande Hotel de Paris
Grande Hotel de Paris
#38 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aliados
Hotel Aliados
#64 of 104 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
0.3 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#28 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pao de Acucar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pao de Acucar Hotel

Property: Pao de Acucar Hotel
Address: Rua do Almada 262 | next to Gran Plaza Alidos, Porto 4050-032, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pao de Acucar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Priceline, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pao de Acucar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Pao De Acucar Hotel Porto
Residencial Pao De Acucar Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing