We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy with ants...”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Porto Domus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porto Domus Hotel
Ranked #93 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Montréal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Noisy with ants...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

I was there for 4 days and I was really disapointed by the state of the room which is suppose to be a 3 stars hotel. The staff was friendly and nothing to say about that, but when it comes to the room it was terrible. The first morning we were awakened by the heavy noise of the shower ( train whistle) from the room next to us which was unbelievable. Then I saw ants in the toilet event though we were on the 2nd floor ! The door lock is questionable since it is only a button that you turn on the knob (which is loose) Not reassuring when you read the notice that they are not responsible for anything that might disappear from your room. Finally the breakfast is a shame, bread buns ham and cheese every morning, cereal and the worst coffee I ever drank. We are presently at the Travel park hotel in Lisbonn which is also a 3 stars hotel and I question how the Menfis got 3 stars since we are a years light as far as quality is concern.... 2 stars maximum as far as I am concern.

Room Tip: Ask for another hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    40
    40
    21
    14
See reviews for
18
68
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
281 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Stayed in Hotel Menfis actually twice during our long vacation in Porto. At first our stay lasted for five days and after a week stay in Madeira we returned to Hotel Menfis for another week. We were quite satisfied with our stay. They even held one of our large suitcases during the week we stayed in Madeira - free of charge.

Before our vacation I was very doubtful of this hotel and almost changed the hotel just before the trip. However, after doing a lot of background search I ended up realising that this really is the best in it's price range when looking at the location, hotel services etc. I'm glad we decided to stay at Menfis because they really made our stay easy. They held our luggage for a week during our stay in Madeira, arranged us a rental car for a very decent price, had a parking spot at their carage at a very short notice, recommended a very good restaurant nearby. It was truly a great stay thanks to the wonderful staff in reception. Also the location is pretty much perfect. You walk to Porto centre in 10 minutes.

We stayed in two different rooms, both of which were very dated (don't expect anything glamorous, they are seriously dated) but well maintained, they had good aircon, spacious closets, large bathrooms and good showers etc. You couldn't really hear your next door neighbours or the noise from the outside so the sleep quality was quite good.

Breakfast was very basic but the breads, cheeses and hams were good quality. However, there are lots of cafe's and restaurants nearby. We had breakfast at hotel only once and the rest of the stay ate elsewhere.

The wlan works only in the lobby but it wasn't a problem for us at all.

All in all, much better than expected. Can definitely recommend hotel Menfis to basically anyone else who aren't too picky about how the room looks.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristiina83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaipeda, Lithuania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in June. The room was good and the bathroom was clean and spacious. Everything was cleaned every day. The place is in good location, there are some supermarkets nearby and free Wi-fi.

But do not  expect much from the breakfast which is not rich. Just coffee(I hated it though!), tea, water, some cereal, cheese, ham, marmalade and bread. But it is OK for beginning of the day or at least till you reach the decent place for late breakfast or brunch:)

We encountered only one problem in this hotel. When we came to check out in the middle of the night before our flight the receptionist asked to pay for our stay again though we did this on our arrival! He could not see our payment in his computer and everything developed into a small but really unpleasant argument. To tell the truth, the receptionist was yelling at us.. At the end he gave a call to his colleague who told him the other way of checking if we payed on the computer.

We've got an apology but it wasn't the best way of saying 'goodbye' to Porto and Portugal. The next time we will be more careful and will definitely ask for receipt confirming our payment.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ju r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

I wanted to take my wife for an affordable, romantic weekend away. In theory, that was easily done - after all, 3 stars should guarantee a minimum level of comfort right?
Wrong. How very wrong. The only thing about this place that deserves a single star is the lobby, which is amazing - especially when compared with everything else. The building was old, so I didn't expect much. Even then, I was disappointed. The room was dirty, with stains on the carpet, paint peeling off the walls AND the bathtub (yes, really). There was hair on the bathroom floor - and I'm not sure if it came from someone's head or a different region. The toilet was shut with the "higienically cleaned for your comfort" tape on it, but when opened the lies written on that piece of tape became apparent. The parking, which I had to pay for, was horrible. It is a tiny garage with difficult access, where they try to stuff at least double the amount of cars that safety and common sense would allow. In all honesty, I don't understand how they have 3 stars. Maybe at the beggining of the 20th century, but that was a hundred years ago!!! An inspection is way overdo. Yes they are in a good location, yes they are cheap; but i have slept in cleaner hostels the night after a bachelor party. In summary, spend an extra 5 Euros a night and sleep somewhere else. If I hadn't already paid I would have slept in my car.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Whynotzoidberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Porto hotels

Washington DC USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

We didn't have reservations for Porto and got Menfis from the tourist office--always a little disquieting. We were very pleasantly surprised. Double room with a window over a little garden, clean in every respect, free WIFI, decent breakfast and a supremely friendly and helpful staff. Even helped my husband learn some basics of rugby as he watched a match from the bar. We believe in sleeping inexpensively when we can and eating/drinking well with the savings and this hotel measured up in every respect. I'd stay there again with pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryBWashingtonDCUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level Contributor
145 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

The hotel is a few minutes walk from a central metro and bus station, so it's a good location and by foot too you can reach the center of Porto. After staying at the Holiday Inn in Lisbon, this hotel was a bit of a downgrade. Bed and bathroom were clean and shower had hot water - that was enough for us. All the rest, nothing to write home about. Front desk staff do not always speak English. If you don't really have to be in the center of Porto, get another hotel. Again, it's what we paid for and it's fair enough.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2010

We stayed for 2 nights in a dobble bed room. It was exelent!

The hotel is about 10 min away from the citycentre. The street to the hotel is very steep but if you are young its ok.
Its a really nice hotel and we had everyday a clean service who did the beds and gave us new towels and so on.
The bathroom was really nice with hot water 24 h a day. The staff was very nice and helpfull.
They let us check in earlier so that we could sleep a few hours because we arrived really early in the morning (about 7 am). They didnt make us problems because of the early check in.

We love that hotel and will definitly come back!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laila111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Universal
Hotel Universal
#63 of 104 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residencial Rex
Residencial Rex
#81 of 104 in Porto
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.7 mi away
Malaposta
Malaposta
#65 of 104 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aliados
Hotel Aliados
#64 of 104 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
2.3 mi away
Star Inn Porto Smart Choice Hotel
1.6 mi away
HF Tuela Porto
HF Tuela Porto
#37 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Domus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Domus Hotel

Property: Porto Domus Hotel
Address: Rua da Firmeza 19, Porto 4000-227, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Menfis)
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Domus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto Domus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menfis Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing