We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a decent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
Ranked #31 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2012

When we entered the lobby, we had some mixed feeling about the hotel. It does not strike you as a four star hotel at first. However the room was very comfortable and we had an excellent view on the roof tops of Porto (see photo). The staff was very welcoming and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and they were eager to share tips about Porto. We had a very relaxing five nights there.

The location of the hotel is very good. It's located in a quiet street about ten-minute walk from the old centre. There's plenty of small shops in the street and a super nice cafe right at the corner (walking down the street, turn left as you exit) where we had breakfast on a couple of mornings (for just 8 EUR for two!). We enjoyed being a bit away from the fuss of the old centre, besides the tram and bus stop are just down the street, a mere 5 min walk tops.

Our room was of decent size and there was no problem with it. Nice selection of TV channels and the local channels broadcast films in original language with subs, so we could watch films. The room has a decent bathroom with all sorts of toiletries. It also has a safe and plenty of storage space.

The terrace is lovely (see photo). We enjoyed many a evening there sipping (huge) drinks for as little as 3 EUR for a very nice (again, huge) glass of Portuguese wine. That's where we met most of the people staying at the same hotel, the terrace was a nice place to chat in the evenings and watch the sky. True, the views from the terrace are not stunning, but then again, it was local and we enjoyed it.

The bar tender gave us a very good tip for a local restaurant just 3 minute walk from the hotel (turn right as you exit and you cannot miss the big pink sign outdoors). The food was absolutely delicious served in a very nice warm atmosphere and the portions were huge! Again, prices were more than reasonable, for 15 EUR we had a very big dinner for two with drinks!

We also had breakfast at the hotel in a nice dining room facing the garden. We quite enjoyed it (very nice and big selection of cold and warm dishes), but since we stayed there fore 6 days, we also went for breakfast outside (which was also much cheaper, but more limited in choice).

All in all, a very nice stay at the hotel. Albeit not the prettiest one we stayed at, it left a nice cozy and somehow nostalgic feeling. We would consider coming back. Staff and location were excellent and very good value for money (check the hotel website for offers, we booked directly).

Room Tip: Apparently there are no rooms with terrace / balcony, so if you enjoy roof tops view, ask for a roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZwarteKater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

298 - 304 of 1,405 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2012

We enjoyed our 3-night stay here in a large, spotless modern room at the back of the hotel. The beds were too hard for my taste, but my partner thought they were comfortable. Blackout curtains insured a long sleep in the morning, though noisy sea gulls (not roosters!) made their presence known at times. The front-desk staff was very helpful. The copious breakfast was very good for a city hotel though the coffee was only so-so. It was a fine choice for our first stay in Porto -- in a quiet neighborhood close to transportation (including the hop-on/hop-off busses) and shopping and very good value for 4-star comfort.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank expat54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This hotel is very well located in the city center of Porto. The staff is very helpful and provided great advice to get around Porto. The rooms were very clean and comfortable.
This is a four-star hotel that stands up to its reputation, a great choice in Porto!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tuttis1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

While not exactly central, this hotel is in a quiet street only 10 minutes walk fro the main square. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The room and hotel generally was modern in style and very clean. We found the breakfast to be expensive (12 euros) but good quality.

A minor criticism was that the hotel backs out into an open area surrounded by the backs of other houses. Somewhere out there was the Hound of the Baskervilles which gave a nightly performance. Oh and there was a dawn chorus of cockerells to contend with, but neither of these were loud enough to be a major irritant.

Taxis are cheap but we took the excellent Metro to the Lapa station and walked it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rg6sys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Really enjoyed our stay in the hotel. The rooms are quite large and clean. The hotel staff is very friendly and extremely helpful. The location is quite central and in a quiet neighborhood. It is an excellent base to explore the city. The hotel also has a well appointed parking at a very reasonable price, which is a must if you travel by car as it is a challenge to park in Porto. The breakfast buffet offered plenty of choice, with excellent breads. Overall, excellent value for money, would definitely recommend and stay in the same hotel if visiting Porto again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonymous039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

If you visit Porto this hotel would be a good place to stay.

Stayed in April, 2012. The English-speaking hotel staff were very friendly. Our room was very large, clean (hardwood floors) and modern. We noticed a lot of hotel guests dressed in business suits. Recommend that you not order from the lobby restaurant/bar in the evening (we believe our dinners were taken out of the freezer and microwaved). Breakfast buffet, which was not included for our stay, looked extensive. Easily accessible private parking is available.

Hotel is located about a 25 minute pleasant walk from all the port distilleries.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose2364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Eurostar das Artes is a good choice if you are looking for a well-kept hotel in a good (and safe) neighborhood. The room was big and well-decorated, nice and wide bathroom. I couldn't hear any noise during the night, room had double-glazed windows.
Free and fast wi-fi, you just need to get a card with the passcode from the reception.
There's a supermarket really close to the hotel (around the corner, 1min walking) and the nearest metro station is a 10-minute walk.
It is not close to the 'Cais da Ribeira' (20min walking), but if you want to take a taxi from there to the hotel it is unexpensive. One sunday night we took a cab from downtown (Palacio da Bolsa) to the hotel and it took 5-10 minutes and costed 4.00 euros.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views to the back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camm_sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.8 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
0.6 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#7 of 108 in Porto
1,088 reviews
0.8 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Eurostars Oporto
Eurostars Oporto
#17 of 108 in Porto
682 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#33 of 108 in Porto
1,401 reviews
0.6 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 108 in Porto
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Das Artes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Das Artes Hotel

Address: Rua do Rosario, 160 - 164, Porto 4050-521, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Porto
#9 Business Hotel in Porto
#19 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#26 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range: £53 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Das Artes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For people who love art. For people who appreciate port wine and know how to enjoy it with the necessary calm. For these people we have opened the Eurostars Das Artes. The Eurostars Das Artes has a total of 89 modern, spacious rooms, equipped with high-speed Wi-Fi connections, writing desk, air conditioning, mini-bar and satellite TV. The hotel also has 4 single rooms and 3 junior suites with king-size beds and generous extra space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eurostars Das Artes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Das Artes Porto
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing