We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eurostars Das Artes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
Ranked #24 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed our stay very much. The rooms was very nice and comfortable. It was very quiet. The location of the hotel was perfect giving access to nice neighbourhoods off the touristic circuits which is nice after full days of touring. The breakfast was very good and offered a lot a different choices. Would go back anytime!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Isabelle-L70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    647
    121
    23
    8
See reviews for
207
677
59
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

If you are looking for a clean, comfortable place to stay then I can't say anything bad about the Eurostars Das Artes. The rooms were spotless but nothing fancy and there are no extra amenities you might expect for a 4 star hotel. The TV didn't work properly but we didn't really use it. The breakfast, which was included, is excellent. Front desk staff were ok - I wish they had told us more about the area when we arrived because the hotel wasn't in a bad location but you wouldn't know that from the street it is on. The first couple days we spent moeny on taxis which we didn't need to because we could have walked into the historical centre. The food in the lobby bar was terrible, don't waste your money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
286 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Our family of five spent two nights in two rooms at this hotel. The hotel was clean, the staff members were helpful and very hard working (we saw the same man working late at night in the bar and then again bright and early the next morning at breakfast). We enjoyed the complimentary juice cocktail for booking online. The location seemed a little dicey at first but once we got used to the city we found it quite nice and convenient. We arrived on the metro and found the walk there a bit long, The directions on the website are not very clear and we were at the mercy of a nice elderly man who gave us directions (me speaking Spanish and him speaking Portuguese...) The breakfast buffet was also quite good value and we found enough for everyone to eat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5Travellers1263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

There's no doubts, it is a very good hotel, with a friendly staff and good rooms. Don't wait for luxuries or big surprises, there's only a clean hotel, with a very good location (arts street), and with everything you need. I was very surprised. There's only one thing, I stayed for two nights and after my first night, I left in the floor before cleaning, my sheets because for an accident it was dirty in a small part of it. For my surprise, they used the same sheets for the second night (once again, they were in the floor!!!), and it's not a very smart attitude of housekeeping. A part of this, congratulations!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andre_m_torre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
126 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

This propety is an excellent value for money. Although located just a short walk to the city center I found it quite nice. Nothing special but still interesting. The main building is a traditional portuguese house which was once a school.
The staff was helpful and frendly.
Check in/out was quick and efficient. My room was on the top floor which made it less covenient due to inclinated walls. That was ok but difficult to get closer to the wash basin . I learnt each room had different layout so probably this was the case for this specific room.
The bed was very hard but comfortable to sleep in, the tv had a good choice of channels.
Wifi was fee and breakfast was included in my rate. A regular price was 12€ which is a lot, considering basic choices offered.
The common areas looked a little tired and the bar area boring.
But considering the price, I cannot complain. The hotel needs some minor repairs (holes in the wall, broken window shades, stains on the hallway carpet.)
I was offered a welcome drink on arrival and a small detail in my room which was a nice surprise.
I would definitely recommend this hotel especially for those wanting to explore the traditional parts of Porto and on a tight budget.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ludwig70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Okay, there is some walk to activities of Porto, but nothing that you could not do if you value city holidays overall. The hotel is perfect choice if you're looking nice, comfortable and feasible stay for few nights. The rooms and beds were nice and the breakfast was excellent... my special distinction goes to fresh orange juice :-)

Totally worth of every penny.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

After a week in Europe in their small rooms, tiny lifts and terrible beds (including two twins sandwiched together as a "Queen"), I was so surprised to find a legitimate King sized bed with excellent sheets, and a firm mattress. That alone made the hotel worth it. Even better was the breakfast breads and cereals catering to both European, and foreign diets.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pwparkphd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.6 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#8 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
1.4 mi away
Eurostars Heroismo
Eurostars Heroismo
#11 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
2.6 mi away
Eurostars Oporto
Eurostars Oporto
#16 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#27 of 103 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Das Artes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Das Artes Hotel

Property: Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
Address: Rua do Rosario, 160 - 164, Porto 4050-521, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Porto
#9 Business Hotel in Porto
#20 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#20 Romantic Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Das Artes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For people who love art. For people who appreciate port wine and know how to enjoy it with the necessary calm. For these people we have opened the Eurostars Das Artes. The Eurostars Das Artes has a total of 89 modern, spacious rooms, equipped with high-speed Wi-Fi connections, writing desk, air conditioning, mini-bar and satellite TV. The hotel also has 4 single rooms and 3 junior suites with king-size beds and generous extra space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Eurostars, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Eurostars Das Artes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Das Artes Porto
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing