We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel! BUT ?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
Ranked #26 of 111 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2010

This hotel is a good opcion, with walking distance to the old town of porto. very nice decor, with a comteporary design and great paintings. Freindly staff, the girl from the lobby (i wish a remember her name ) very nice and help us with very good restaurant recomendantion. They offer free intenet in the room , but in our room the conextion was at small bedside table with no space only for the table lamp ,so you need to put the computer on that corner of the bed , for us, non sence, because they have small desk. Also if you want to open the mini bar, that is below the desk no body can be seating at the same time, need to stand up and open. For us very uncomfortable. Otherwise was a good option.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jovi809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

431 - 437 of 1,443 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2010

Cliched though it is this review has to go something like 'behind an unassuming facade lies a gem of a hotel etc etc'. We booked Das Artes on the basis of earlier Trip Adviser reviews that proved spot on. It was interesting to find that the reception staff were acutely aware of their TA rating and anxious to get to be No 1 in Porto. Our experience is that TA is still not widely known about even by hotels that get good ratings whereas Das Artes seemed acutely aware of the business that positive reports generate. Ours was a room only deal and Los Amazonas exactly opposite the hotel is a clean modern cafe that does a good continental breakfast, drinks, snacks etc. Our room (407) was spacious and quiet and we cannot fault this hotel, we have no connection other than being satisfied customers and TA converts!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InvictaHerneBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

Was accompanying my partner who was on a business trip to Barcelos, Braga and the area just south of Porto.

The hotel is well placed and within walking distance of the Old City, the docks and major sight-seeing spots. The hotel staff provided an excellant service with maps, and suggestions and even reserved a table at a restaurant at Foz for us. The bar man gave us tips of Portuguese liquers and Port.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RafikiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2010

A very good hotel where the staff are extremely helpful. The rooms are exceptionally good in terms of size, facilities, cleanliness and quite. The bathrooms are also excellent - good size and shower very powerful. Breakfast was included in our deal and the 8 travellers all felt that this was extremely good value - there is a good selection of hot and cold provisions. The reception was also good and comfortable which also had wifi and a free computer for internet. The only downside is that it is on the edge of the centre and takes about 15 mins to walk down to the river - although with taxis costing only €4 not too much of a problem

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelvin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

My wfe, daughter and myself booked a suite at the Eurostar Hotel in Porto. The service was outstanding, very helpful and with a nice smile. The breakfast was very good for us, we had what we needed. On the first night we were surprised by the Hotel with a bottle of champagne and a basket of fruits (that was not part of the booking). The room was not huge but had enough space to make two separate areas: sofa and living room and bedroom. The hotel was normally quiet, but one night some people were having some drinks at the terrace and we could clearly hear the noise. Fortunately it was too cold at night to stay late, but I guess in summer may be different. I would recommend this hotel to anyone willing to spend a good time in Porto.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ovejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2010

I stayed here with my partner, for Valentines Night. We don't normally celebrate, but by coincidence decided to spend a night in Porto, and chose this hotel (it was offering a complimentary bottle of champagne – of course!) Needless to say we had an absolutely brilliant time. I loved the local vibe and will definitely be going back again!
The hotel is situated on a central street, in the north-west of the city, within close walking distance to the river, and the old town of Porto. Completely renovated, it has kept its Portuguese charm, with its tiled facade and original exterior features. Inside it presents contemporary design, but at the same time is relaxed and welcoming, and the staff were great. A bar is situated to the back, with a small terrace and also secure underground parking with lift access (an added bonus!). Room & bathroom were excellent, very clean, with super hot shower!
The hotel is situated in a residential area, so although we had a top-floor rear room, our view looked out across the back of neighbouring streets, which may not be picturesque, but gives you a great perspective of real life in the city. Close by are many local art galleries, cafes, and local businesses.
For authentic Portuguese cuisine, on the same side of the hotel, check out Ze de Braga, cheap and cheerful with super friendly owners and staff. I’d also recommend the local Arts Academy, on Rua de Breyner, 85. In the evenings they open the top floor to the public. It’s a bohemian hangout of art students and locals, listening to an eclectic mix of live Jazz jamming sessions, soul, hip-hop and dj sets. If you need any more info…send me a message! ☺

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbunny2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

We stayed for a 2 day, 3 night short city break. Myself and My wife.
The Room
Rooms are of a quality business hotel style. Very clean with quality fittings and furniture. Neutral and functional. There was ample hot water and the shower is of good pressure.
The Food.
Breakfast is served in a bright spacious room and is of good quality. Ample bread and rolls, cured meats, hot eggs and sausage. Some nice cakes and also good choice of coffee.
The Service
Very efficient check in however lacking the personal touch.
The location.
This hotel is in a "trendy" neigbourhood with lots of unusual boutique shops selling locally produced fashion and gifttware.
SO WHY NOT A 4 OR 5???
A 3 is for average. And this is an average business hotel. There was nothing that exceeded expectations. For example the room was nice but the bed had a "gap" between the mattresses (uncomfortable). We were clearly away for a short city break but unlike many hotels where we have stayed in, the staff did not give us a map upon arrival. We had to ask and even then they did not show us our locality and describe how best to get into town.
The biggest minus was location. If you, like us were going to Porto for a few days to see the old town and visit the Port warehouses then this place may not be for you. It is at least a 20 minute walk to town over a complicated route and whilst it does let you see some quaint narrow streets, it does mean that at least 1 hour per day (if you walk) is spent walking to or from the hotel. If I were to stay in Porto again I would choose somewhere nearer to the river. To gain a 4 or 5 point rating this hotel would need a regular shuttle service to the town centre, or at least be near a bus or metro stop.
If you dont mind the walk then this place is for sure acceptable.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wharton1Trencin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.6 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#9 of 111 in Porto
1,159 reviews
2.6 mi away
Eurostars Oporto
Eurostars Oporto
#20 of 111 in Porto
702 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#31 of 111 in Porto
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
1 mi away
The Artist Porto Hotel & Bistro
0.8 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Das Artes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Das Artes Hotel

Address: Rua do Rosario, 160 - 164, Porto 4050-521, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Porto
#9 Business Hotel in Porto
#19 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#23 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range: £47 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Das Artes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For people who love art. For people who appreciate port wine and know how to enjoy it with the necessary calm. For these people we have opened the Eurostars Das Artes. The Eurostars Das Artes has a total of 89 modern, spacious rooms, equipped with high-speed Wi-Fi connections, writing desk, air conditioning, mini-bar and satellite TV. The hotel also has 4 single rooms and 3 junior suites with king-size beds and generous extra space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Eurostars, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Eurostars Das Artes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Das Artes Porto
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing