We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
Ranked #30 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2010

We stayed at this hotel during two recent visits to Porto. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful and speak very good English. The rooms are of a good size, clean with an extra large bed and have all the facilities you would expect in a modern hotel. The breakfast area in the lower ground floor has a good layout, spacious and well presented. The breakfast provided was excellent with plenty of variety.
The hotel is approximately 10 minutes walk to the centre of city and about another 15-20 minutes across the river to the Port Wine cellars.
From the airport the hotel is a €20 - €23 taxi fare or if you have the time you can take the # 601 bus which takes about 40 minutes. You get off at the Hospital de Sto Antonio turn around and walk back from the stop to Rua do Rosario which takes about 5-10 minutes.
Porto is best enjoyed by walking around it if you don't mind walking up hills and lots of exercise.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BremenCologne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,395)
There are newer reviews for Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

393 - 399 of 1,395 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2010

We booked a "ROMANTIC ROOM",this was to include a bottle of CHAMPAGNE and a "FRUIT BOWL" it arrived in our room at 7.30pm! The bottle was BORLINDO sparkling wine! The fruit bowl was 2 x small wooden bowls ,one with strawberries and one with grapes!The strawberries were un-edable next morning as they were mouldy!The room cost 193 Euros for 2 nights.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindsayhmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and were not disappointed in any way. The hotel certainly lived up to the positive reviews posted by others on TripAdvisor. The staff were exceptionally helpful & polite, the rooms were spotlessly clean and well furnished. The common areas of the hotel were well designed and functional.

The buffet breakfast had many options & the attentive staff ensured that even most popular items were replenished regularly. The only niggle was that 1 morning, we went down for breakfast at the same time as a coach party of elderly spanish tourists. That morning there was a wait for tables and long queues to get your chosen breakfast items. The other 3 mornings though there was no waiting about and we were seated and fed straight away. For people with an early check out (prior to 7am) the hotel will arrange a breakfast box to be delivered to your room prior to departure which is a nice touch.

Other people have commented here about the hotel being 'out of the way' 'off the beaten track' etc. I think those comments are slightly unfair as the city is well spread out and has no real centre to speak of. As the city is built up the hillsides up from the river, at some point in your stay in Porto you will have to walk up & down hills - thats just a fact of life rather than the function of a badly placed hotel !

As for the comments about the hotel being in a 'dodgy' or 'rough' area, Porto is an old city and many of the properties appear ramshackle in appearance. As with all large cities there are problems with poverty and drugs, but I would say that these elements were more prevelant in the shopping areas, train stations or along the river (where many of the tourists head) rather than the area around the hotel. Again these things can not be fairly apportioned to the hotel or its location.

For getting to/from the Airport, don't spend unnecessary money on taxi's, take the Metro into the City Centre and then (depending on your hotel location) take a cab the rest of the way. The Metro leaves every 20 minutes and the journey takes about 20-30 minutes. The cost is 2 euros each way per person and the operating company have english speaking staff on hand to help you with the ticket machine & best choice of ticket for your journey.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EuroTraveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

The Eurostars Das Artes Hotel met and exceeded expectations, and then some. Located on a quiet street just a 10-minute stroll to the central Porto tourist area, the hotel's facade has historic charm and proportion while inside, chic modernity reigns. The staff is uniformly courteous, the breakfast is a stand out for selection and quality, and, there's a nice bar just off the lobby. The concierge handled arrangements for a tour and taxi efficiently, and the wake-up call came as asked. In all, it would be hard to perceive any short-comings whatsoever in this delightful well-run hostelry.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CountyGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

I was hoping to get into the Pestana but it was full and this looked to be the best option with rooms still available.

Overall this was a good clean hotel with no major complaints. At first impression it was a some distance from the river and not helped by the continued rain we used a lot of Taxis. Every one says they are cheap but Euro - 6 to 7 per trip soon mounts up, Most used the night time route and took the long way home.

When the rain stopped we discovered the hotel was only a short walk down to the river but I all the places to see are really by the river so better I think to stay closer if you can

Breakfast was ok nothing special but hot and cold buffet that had most bases covered - certainly not an area for complaint - one of my friends said it was the best ever probably because it had Special K ( cerea

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ianfromnotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We stayed here with another couple on Sept 15th and 26th, 2010. We were extremely happy with the rooms, service, breakfast. The reception staff went out of their way to be helpful, especially Marta.
The location could be a bit better, but all in all an excellent choice. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wasaga705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

Stayed for 2 nights with my fiancée on a visit to Porto. The taxi from the airport was cheap, less than €20 if memory serves. The hotel is on what seems to be a quiet street, but there are a few restaurants around. And just around the corner (come out of the hotel, turn left, take first left) there is a small supermarket; MiniPreco. The hotel was well appointed, free WiFi in the common areas, small bar and nice outdoor seating. The rooms were decent, maybe a little small, but modern and clean.
Overall, a good stay in a nice city.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mat_in_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.8 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
0.6 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#8 of 108 in Porto
1,067 reviews
0.8 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Eurostars Oporto
Eurostars Oporto
#17 of 108 in Porto
681 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#33 of 108 in Porto
1,386 reviews
0.6 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 108 in Porto
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Das Artes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Das Artes Hotel

Address: Rua do Rosario, 160 - 164, Porto 4050-521, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Porto
#9 Business Hotel in Porto
#19 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#25 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range: £60 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Das Artes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For people who love art. For people who appreciate port wine and know how to enjoy it with the necessary calm. For these people we have opened the Eurostars Das Artes. The Eurostars Das Artes has a total of 89 modern, spacious rooms, equipped with high-speed Wi-Fi connections, writing desk, air conditioning, mini-bar and satellite TV. The hotel also has 4 single rooms and 3 junior suites with king-size beds and generous extra space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eurostars Das Artes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Das Artes Porto
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing