We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but location could be better. Would go there again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
Ranked #27 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good hotel, but location could be better. Would go there again.”
Reviewed 8 December 2010

Nice hotel, not too large. Very helpful staff. Clean and okay rooms. No frills, but no complaints either.

Only location-wise not the best out there. It's a bit out of the historic center, and on top of a hill. However, that being said, taxis are dirt-cheap in Porto, so for a mere 5 or 6 euros you can get a ride back up there in the evening.

Would go there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R_Vosters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    665
    125
    27
    10
See reviews for
216
698
60
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
quorn uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2010

this hotel has lovely modern rooms and an excellent reception staff. the breakfasts are well done ; be aware you are at the top of a hill so not to go if you don't like walking, though the public transport in porto is excellent. There are some excellent restaurants and snack bars close by; though we were surprised by the extent of delapidation of Porto, with such beautiful buildings cheek by jowel with the sights. Our only reservation for the hotel was it was very chilly and there seemed to be both temperature limits and sound overrides on the TV - we like to catch up on the news!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thequilterQuornUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2010

The hotel was out of the way. It took hours getting lost in the warped streets of Porto to find it, but the hotel was well worth the stay. I'm disappointed that I only stayed 1 night. The rooms were beautiful, modern and clean. The reception/concierge service was the best out of all the hotels we stayed in Portugal.

I can't say more highly about the help we received from the front desk people. The nice lady at night gave precise direction how to get the car parked ways away (I had to walk solo to find the place) to where the hotel was located. The morning reception personel, a nice cute man, was very accomodating while we were struggling with the navigation to get out of the town. He also gave us a map detailing the city and told us where and how to visit the major sites within the timeframe I gave him. He was no nonesense, precise, and extremely helpful. He was amused when we got back to the hotel with bags of Port, a little red faced after enjoying some of their national ambrosia. Even the bartender was more conversational and friendly than the other bartenders in the other hotels.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimbop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

We stayed at this hotel during two recent visits to Porto. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful and speak very good English. The rooms are of a good size, clean with an extra large bed and have all the facilities you would expect in a modern hotel. The breakfast area in the lower ground floor has a good layout, spacious and well presented. The breakfast provided was excellent with plenty of variety.
The hotel is approximately 10 minutes walk to the centre of city and about another 15-20 minutes across the river to the Port Wine cellars.
From the airport the hotel is a €20 - €23 taxi fare or if you have the time you can take the # 601 bus which takes about 40 minutes. You get off at the Hospital de Sto Antonio turn around and walk back from the stop to Rua do Rosario which takes about 5-10 minutes.
Porto is best enjoyed by walking around it if you don't mind walking up hills and lots of exercise.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BremenCologne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

We booked a "ROMANTIC ROOM",this was to include a bottle of CHAMPAGNE and a "FRUIT BOWL" it arrived in our room at 7.30pm! The bottle was BORLINDO sparkling wine! The fruit bowl was 2 x small wooden bowls ,one with strawberries and one with grapes!The strawberries were un-edable next morning as they were mouldy!The room cost 193 Euros for 2 nights.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsayhmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and were not disappointed in any way. The hotel certainly lived up to the positive reviews posted by others on TripAdvisor. The staff were exceptionally helpful & polite, the rooms were spotlessly clean and well furnished. The common areas of the hotel were well designed and functional.

The buffet breakfast had many options & the attentive staff ensured that even most popular items were replenished regularly. The only niggle was that 1 morning, we went down for breakfast at the same time as a coach party of elderly spanish tourists. That morning there was a wait for tables and long queues to get your chosen breakfast items. The other 3 mornings though there was no waiting about and we were seated and fed straight away. For people with an early check out (prior to 7am) the hotel will arrange a breakfast box to be delivered to your room prior to departure which is a nice touch.

Other people have commented here about the hotel being 'out of the way' 'off the beaten track' etc. I think those comments are slightly unfair as the city is well spread out and has no real centre to speak of. As the city is built up the hillsides up from the river, at some point in your stay in Porto you will have to walk up & down hills - thats just a fact of life rather than the function of a badly placed hotel !

As for the comments about the hotel being in a 'dodgy' or 'rough' area, Porto is an old city and many of the properties appear ramshackle in appearance. As with all large cities there are problems with poverty and drugs, but I would say that these elements were more prevelant in the shopping areas, train stations or along the river (where many of the tourists head) rather than the area around the hotel. Again these things can not be fairly apportioned to the hotel or its location.

For getting to/from the Airport, don't spend unnecessary money on taxi's, take the Metro into the City Centre and then (depending on your hotel location) take a cab the rest of the way. The Metro leaves every 20 minutes and the journey takes about 20-30 minutes. The cost is 2 euros each way per person and the operating company have english speaking staff on hand to help you with the ticket machine & best choice of ticket for your journey.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EuroTraveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

The Eurostars Das Artes Hotel met and exceeded expectations, and then some. Located on a quiet street just a 10-minute stroll to the central Porto tourist area, the hotel's facade has historic charm and proportion while inside, chic modernity reigns. The staff is uniformly courteous, the breakfast is a stand out for selection and quality, and, there's a nice bar just off the lobby. The concierge handled arrangements for a tour and taxi efficiently, and the wake-up call came as asked. In all, it would be hard to perceive any short-comings whatsoever in this delightful well-run hostelry.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CountyGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.6 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#9 of 106 in Porto
970 reviews
2.6 mi away
Eurostars Oporto
Eurostars Oporto
#16 of 106 in Porto
658 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Eurostars Heroismo
Eurostars Heroismo
#13 of 106 in Porto
497 reviews
0.6 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#8 of 106 in Porto
522 reviews
1.0 mi away
Eurostars Porto Douro
Eurostars Porto Douro
#24 of 106 in Porto
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Das Artes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Das Artes Hotel

Property: Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
Address: Rua do Rosario, 160 - 164, Porto 4050-521, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Porto
#9 Business Hotel in Porto
#20 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#22 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Das Artes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For people who love art. For people who appreciate port wine and know how to enjoy it with the necessary calm. For these people we have opened the Eurostars Das Artes. The Eurostars Das Artes has a total of 89 modern, spacious rooms, equipped with high-speed Wi-Fi connections, writing desk, air conditioning, mini-bar and satellite TV. The hotel also has 4 single rooms and 3 junior suites with king-size beds and generous extra space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Eurostars, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Eurostars Das Artes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Das Artes Porto
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing