We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of B The Guest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B The Guest
Ranked #9 of 149 Porto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

The hotel is located in the city center, opposite to the Bolhao market, about 15 minutes walk to the cathedral and bridge. It is located above a store. The small door hides a beautiful old house with high ceilings. The rooms are beautifully decorated with a modern touch. There is no elevator, so you should not mind climbing stairs!
The hotel is boutique style /B&B and it is run by young enthusiastic owners. We were welcomed with a glass of Port, and the day after we were offered a glass of great wine.I had mentioned we were in Porto to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we found a bottle of sparkling wine in our room after dinner.
The owners are very nice. They make you feel at home. The breakfast is not too extensive but with quality products. Delicious mini pastels de nata. We really recommend a stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EsmeBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    49
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
47
187
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is a small boutique hotel situated in a renovated 19th century building which used to be a sewing workshop. It is newly decorated to a high standard, with large rooms and a very nice lobby. Our room was of a good size, with a very comfortable large double bed and a very spacious shower room. The breakfast was very good, but the best were the hosts who helped us discover the beauty of Porto, and we will sure be back!

Room Tip: If you have a problem with climbing stairs, then this hotel is probably not for you. There is a lugg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Perfect little hotel, beautifull large rooms. A glass of port on arrival. More than OK breakfast. Right at the heart of the city and in short reach of the metro. We loved it and would shurely recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

One of the most impressive hotel interior. very good food and friendly staff. I think, it is one of the must-see hotel. It was just at the city centre (OPorto) near the market what we really appreciated due to night life in OPorto. thanks for the excellent service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at B the Guest for eleven wonderful days. The rooms are beautifully designed, everything is brand new and sparkling (the bathroom especially which is nice), the beds are incredibly comfortable, and the breakfast is delicious, especially the fresh squeezed orange juice. We very much enjoyed our time in the hotel lobby/salon which is beautifully decorated, and was a great place to watch the World Cup games too. The actual house itself is gorgeous--down to the stairwell--and the art displayed on each of the floors and in the breakfast room was another thing we loved.

On top of all of this, though, is the incredible service. I don't know that I have ever stayed in a hotel or guest house where everyone was so incredibly kind, friendly, accommodating--you name it. Every single person we encountered--without exception--was lovely. They went out of their way to make sure my husband and I had the best stay possible, whether it was getting coffee in the wee hours of the morning (I'm an early riser), extra pillows, answering questions about Porto, or just being a friendly face when we walked in the door each day after being in the city. What's more, we met the owners when they were hosting a dinner one night in the salon, and they were so nice--they invited us in for wine and spent time getting to know us, and even threw a dinner for some of the guests before we left, upon their invitation.

We truly were made to feel at home. We were so sad to leave!

We cannot recommend this place enough, in other words! We will definitely be back, and I plan to tell all of my friends, when visiting Porto, this place is a must.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank df44crosswynds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed at B the Guest a couple of weeks ago for one night while in Porto. Everything was great. The hotel is decorated modern and artsy. The room was very clean and spacious. We loved the furnishings. Bed was comfortable. Elizabeth was lovely and very helpful in helping us plan our time in Porto. It should be mentioned that there is a tall staircase you need to climb to get to the lobby area and then more stairs on to the rooms. We happened to be there on the evening of Sao Joao festival which is a completely over the top street party. We did hear some street noise from our room, but I would expect that from any hotel on that night (like New Year's Eve). Breakfast was good - but standard.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stkurtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The service is superior and personal. Both Elisabeth and Manuel go above and beyond to ensure we had a nice stay. The room was open, clean and airy. Tastefully done with simple but elegant furnishings. Breakfast was healthy with variety. Directly across from the Bolhão market and fabulous bakery next door. Walked to all the sites but quite at night for being in the city. They also have a nice bar and area to relax. The place looks new, clean but still has the old world charm. Would recommend to friends. Staff helped book Duoro River cruise #3. Beautiful train ride from San Bento to Regua, then boat to Porto with lunch.

Room Tip: We had first floor which was ok but the top floor would be slightly quieter. But you would have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrdoak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.1 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#28 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Teatro Porto
Hotel Teatro Porto
#20 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Porta Azul
Porta Azul
#3 of 149 in Porto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B The Guest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B The Guest

Property: B The Guest
Address: Rua Formosa 331 | Santo Ildefonso, Porto 4000-252, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Porto, facing the Bolhao Market, B The Guest Downtown offers air-conditioned rooms with modern style decor and free WiFi in all areas. The 10 comfortable rooms offer views to the street or to the city rooftops and each includes flat-screen cable TV, a seating area, a desk and a minibar. Each has a private bathroom featuring free toiletries, a shower and a hairdryer. B The Guest Downtown has its own bar and snack bar. The breakfast can be served in the room or if guests prefer they can enjoy a breakfast buffet. A great variety of restaurants are available within 100 metres and at night guests can visit the bars 500 metres away. Guests have a great amount of facilities and services at their disposal. Dry cleaning, laundry, ironing and grocery delivery can be done for a surcharge. B The Guest provides daily maid service, room service and safety deposit box in all rooms. If guests need transportation to and from Porto International Airport, which is 17 Km away, a shuttle service can be arranged. With Bolhao Metro Station right across the street, guests can easily visit all the major attractions that Porto has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your B The Guest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing