We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but will nickel and dime you for different things. Very small rooms and beds.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vera Cruz Porto Hotel
Ranked #57 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a good central location, but the beds are tiny and uncomfortable. We are normal sized people and had difficulty fitting into the bed. The hotel also charges you for a variety of unexpected things once you checkout so be ready for that. Breakfast is included with some bookings, but has almost no options. The value isn't bad given it isn't too expensive, but with the amount of centrally located hotels I would recommend another one.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wrgare14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

Found this to be a good tourist hotel. Exceptionally friendly, helpful reception staff. Room at front fine but fairly basic and a little old fashioned. Bed a bit hard for me. Good size bathroom with bidet and over bath shower. Door between bed and bath rooms is obscured glass so does let in light to bedroom in morning as bathroom has just nets at windows. Wifi good in our room (302). Ear plugs may be handy in rooms at front - trade off noise against views. Would consider staying here again, probably deserves better than an 'Average' score but not really up to 'Very Good'.

Location is very good: from Aliados metro, go up escalator or lift, walk up the square and it's first road on left. Really just a minute's walk.

Warning for anyone unsteady on feet: there are 3 steps up from lobby to lift; lift only goes to floor 7 meaning 2 flights walk up to breakfast room on floor 8; no rubber mat in bath.

Breakfast simple but adequate. Machine coffee better than average. Great views from balcony. Later in evening same room is used as a bar but no-one in when we tried it. Shame as it's a great view at night over the square and city but no atmosphere.

Room Tip: Rooms on front can get a lot of street noise, traffic and people. Also Sunday night into Monday earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Very professionally run, this city centre hotel delivered on all counts - hospitality, comfort and cleanliness, and in our case, a spacious junior suite for 3 adults. The breakfast room was on the topmost floor (8th) accessible by lift to 7th floor, then a flight of steps. Good choice on offer, something for every taste. Could be crowded from 8.30 to 9.00 - before or after that time, it was fine, and all foods replenished constantly.

A special mention for the 24hr reception staff - they were so helpful, courteous and friendly.

I would definitely stay in this central hotel again if in Porto. Bus and rail links very convenient - don't miss Sao Bento station for its tiles!!

Venicefan75
Wales

Room Tip: The junior suites are very spacious - there's one twin and one double room with bathroom in them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank venicefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel is conveniently situated between the Trindade and Aliados metro stations which makes it easy to get to and from the airport. There are a range of shops, restaurants and bars within easy walking distance of the hotel, but if you want to spend time in the river front area of the Ribeira, be prepared fro a 15 minute uphill walk back. We found the hotel a bit dated and our room bared no resemblance to the ones shown on the website. The walls are thin so you can hear other guests in the rooms around you whenever they come and go. The breakfast room on the 8th floor was at times a bit chaotic, probably not helped by the fact that on the first couple of days of our stay, the outside terrace area wasn't open because of the weather. Breakfast was quite simple consisting of ham, cheese and cold sausage with various breads, cereals, nice cakes, tinned fruit and yogurts, however they ran out of English tea twice during our stay. We found the reception staff to be helpful and friendly. Overall, we felt that the hotel provided good, clean budget accommodation for exploring the sights of Porto.

Room Tip: We were in room 406 at the back of the hotel overlooking neighbouring buildings, so it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Staff is great and very helpfull, breakfast is not much of a variety but it's ok for a few days. The location is perfect, easy to find, and close to 2 metrostations. Great shower and cleen rooms. We expected a bar, but there was no bar. Staff suggested to bring some drinks to our room!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jolanda1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

High on the hill in old town.
The location is close to many reasonable cafes restaurants coffee shops.
Across the street from Guarany
Restaurant a do not miss at any cost kind of place.

Note: in Portugal the waiter will bring to the table that which was not ordered.
He just brought us bread and tapas. We asked on the house or how much?
2,50£, he replied. We could not pass it up and said alright.
Be aware you will be charged for everything brought to your table whether you ordered it or not.
A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Journeyman644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is ok. The rooms are simple but clean. The staff is good and gentle. The place is near the metro, gray line sightseeing cruises, café guarany (good restaurant) and a mcdonalds. There's free internet and breakfast. I'd certainly come back for another visit!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Marcello C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
Pao de Acucar Hotel
Pao de Acucar Hotel
#51 of 108 in Porto
769 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aliados
Hotel Aliados
#69 of 108 in Porto
456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Internacional
Hotel Internacional
#52 of 108 in Porto
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel do Norte
Hotel do Norte
#65 of 108 in Porto
383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grande Hotel de Paris
Grande Hotel de Paris
#46 of 108 in Porto
965 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vera Cruz Porto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vera Cruz Porto Hotel

Address: Rua de Ramalho Ortigao 14, Porto 4000-407, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Price Range: £53 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vera Cruz Porto Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vera Cruz Porto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vera Cruz Residential Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing