We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very clean, very basic” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Grande Rio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Grande Rio
Ranked #52 of 148 Porto B&B and Inns
san antonio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“very clean, very basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Our room was clean but drab. No decoration or anything to make it cheerful. The breakfast is nice and the staff is very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkcat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    112
    51
    9
    10
See reviews for
33
103
18
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

This hotel was just what I was looking for: very reasonable price (30 Euro), convenient to the city (Subway 2 blocks), safe, a clean, quiet and comfortable room and helpful staff. I got all of the above.

For a simple, practical and inexpensive place in Porto, I can recommend this hotel without any reservations.

Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2010

This is a great value hotel. The multi-lingual staff are firendly and helpful, proving msp and suggestions for things to see and places to eat. The rooms are very clean and the whole place has the sense of being well run. Breakfast is good. It isn't luxury, but it is great value.
The location is a bit outside the city centre. However, this means that it is quiet and you feel safe walking there at night. It's possible to find (free) parking nearby in the street. However, you don't need a car - the nearest Metro station is a couple of blocks away. We also walked into the city centre (2 or 3 km, maybe)

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mick3187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

We stayed at this hotel in October, it was a really nice and clean and very easy to get too. It is about two blocks from the nearest metro line and as long as you realize that it on Rue St. Helena then you are good to go and it is easy to find. We stayed in the apartment part of the hotel and had the entire place to our selves which was pretty nice. The only problem was that we could not get the heater in the apartment to work so I used lots of blankets at night. Otherwise the internet was good and fast, the facility was clean, breakfast was good and everything was just fine. Excellent value for the money!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JML0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2009

5 of us stayed in this hotel in July 2009 and we loved it! The hotel is near the center of the town, very close to metro station and bus stop. The bus ride to the beach takes 30-40 minutes. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this place to everyone who is looking for a budget accommodation in Porto.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nonkaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.5 mi away
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
#39 of 103 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
1.7 mi away
Star Inn Porto
Star Inn Porto
#46 of 103 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tryp Porto Centro Hotel
Tryp Porto Centro Hotel
#47 of 103 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residencial Vale Formoso
0.5 mi away
Alvares Cabral Guest House
0.3 mi away
Pedra Iberica
Pedra Iberica
#34 of 148 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grande Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Rio

Property: Hotel Grande Rio
Address: Rua do Bonjardim, 977 / Entrada: Rua de Santa Helena, 31, Porto 4000-461, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Grande Rio 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Grande Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Grande Rio Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing