We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (408)
Filter reviews
408 results
Traveller rating
269
114
17
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
269
114
17
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart schooltasting menutraining hotelhospitality schoolcatering collegehotel runamazing mealquiet areapoached pearbaked applebeautiful designmain restaurantroom was largeminute walk downhillrecommend this hotelspoke excellent englishsanta catarina street
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 408 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

We would highly recommend this hotel. The rooms are modern, spacious and comfortable and immaculately kept. The staff were very helpful, friendly and polite and had great knowledge of the area and able to answer any questions we had. The breakfast was delicious - the poached pear was a real treat. We stayed for a birthday celebration and they left a card, cake and two glasses of port in our room on arrival which was a thoughtful touch that made our stay even more special. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank joannab776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArtistBistro P, Gestor de Front Office at The Artist Porto Hotel & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for sharing with us your experience on The Artist Porto Hotel & Bistro.
It was a pleasure welcoming you in our hotel!
Thank you for your constructive suggestions, which we have taken good note of, as we strive to continuously improve our service and facilities.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Porto.

Best regards,
Ricardo Serdoura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

My friend and I stayed in this unique and stylish hotel in Porto for 5 days. It was very hard for us to leave because we had such a wonderful time. The staff, many of whom are students in training from the Porto School of Tourism next door, receive a 5 star rating. The staff kindly provided tour information, interpreted bus maps, and helped us with the usual tourist requests- all in very very good English. This is one of the very few hotels that has rooms with 2 beds. Our room was modern and bathroom was large. Shower was a bit different but that’s the
adventures of travel. Housekeeping kept our room clean and supplied. I’m saving the best for last- their restaurant! We took the bed and breakfast plan which I recommend. It is buffet style and choices were abundant with delicious pastries, breads, meats, poached pears(!!).Eggs are cooked to order. I had my best dinner of the trip in the restaurant. The surprise element of each course made the dinners both fun and educational. I will definitely return to this great little hotel on Porto!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArtistBistro P, Gestor de Front Office at The Artist Porto Hotel & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

"Dear Mrs. Mary M.,

Thank you so much for sharing with us your experience on The Artist Hotel & Bistrô.
It was a pleasure welcoming you in our hotel!
Thank you for your constructive suggestions, which we have taken good note of, as we strive to continuously improve our service and facilities.
We are particularly happy to know that our staff assisted in making your stay a memorable one and we will ensure to share your feedback with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Porto.
Best regards,
Ricardo Serdoura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

We stayed three nights at the hotel and it was a very good experience. The location is within easy walking distance of the historic sites, very close to the main shopping street but a few blocks off so nice and quiet. It's a small hotel with only ~13 rooms which made it so the front desk and other staff knew us and took a personal interest in getting the most out of our Porto experience. The front desk staff arranged for a Douro valley wine tour, made some great restaurant recommendations and provided some "insider" tips for our stay. This made the stay extra special. The space formerly housed an art school so the art from the former students is featured throughout the space, adding to the overall fun and modern decor. Our room was large with a very large bath (2 sinks). We had snacks and drinks in the bar area which was a fun place to hang out and watch a soccer game and had a very lovely 7 course meal prepared by the students in the culinary program still associated with the hotel. Overall, an all around wonderful place to stay and I would without question recommend this establishment!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArtistBistro P, Gestor de Front Office at The Artist Porto Hotel & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear Mrs. Allison,

We are delighted that you have spent your vacation with us and that you enjoyed your visit at The Artist Porto & Bistrô.

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about the service, the rooms, the staff and our facility.

It was honor for our entire team to be at your service again making your holiday enjoyable.

With great pleasure all you congratulations will be forwarded to the staff mentioned.

Your comments are very encouraging for our team and give us energy and motivation to keep up great work every day.


We are looking forward to your next visit to spend here another memorable holiday.

Best Regards
Ricardo Serdoura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

This hotel is part of the nearby hospitality college. Partly staffed by students. Reception is excellent as are the rooms. We had a superb meal in the restaurant and good food in the bar. The service by students varied from very good to rather random. Breakfast is limited and better can be obtained for the same price by walking for a few minutes to a nearby cafes. We stayed twice at the hotel and we already knew what to expect. Good fun but sometimes irritating. Prices make up for the education students. Location is very good. Easy walk to the main shopping area and about 20 minutes to the river and old Porto

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vwatts40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArtistBistro P, Gestor de Front Office at The Artist Porto Hotel & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

"Dear guest,

Thank you so much for sharing with us your experience on The Artist Hotel & Bistrô. It was a pleasure welcoming you in our hotel!
Thank you for your constructive suggestions, which we have taken good note of, as we strive to continuously improve our service and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Porto.

Best regards,
Ricardo Serdoura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Just stayed the last three nights here. First evening had an excellent tasting meal in the restaurant. Staff are so friendly. Haven’t given five stars because I think the breakfast could be better. The decour is very artistic.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank melvinAyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArtistBistro P, Gerente de recepção at The Artist Porto Hotel & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for your visit to our beautiful hotel!

It is our best reward receiving your recognition to the personal attention.

We have taken note of every detail you have mentioned and will be revised with the departments involved.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future, it will be wonderful to say hello to you again!

Our best regards!

Ricardo Serdoura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews