We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ah yes”
Review of Hotel Universal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Universal
Ranked #64 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
163 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“Ah yes”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Yes, Yes.
This hotel does the trick. We spent a couple of nights here and the location is perfect. Right in the heart of this fascinating city. The value was there as the room was clean and compared to nearby places,a good deal. What I really liked about this hotel though, was the staff. Liliana is an absolute jewel and a wealth of knowledge and savvy tips. Amazed a top multi-national company hasn't snapped her up, with her many language skills. Breakfast is simple, but the price is negligible anyway. A good choice of hotel for those not looking for luxury, but looking for a clean, comfortable enough room for sleeps and very good staff, in the heart of it all.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    109
    119
    28
    23
See reviews for
37
142
33
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maynooth, Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We got off the metro at Aliados to be greeted with one grande street and right in the middle of the grandeur was Hotel Universal. With more expensive hotels like the Intercontinental a stones throw away, I can't believe the great value this hotel offers. It may not be as glitzy as some but we had a lovely stay in a clean, air conditioned and comfortable room (with a surprise balcony, no view but still a bonus for our needs!). The staff were really helpful. i would recommend that for an early morning return flight that you ask staff a couple of days in advance to organise a shuttle bus to the airport. It's 6 euro , collects you at the door and drops you too the airport, saves a lot of hassle and time. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for simplicity and comfort and wishes to be in the heart of Porto for low low price!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susycbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Apart from the steps up to reception we found the hotel to be very clean and comfortable, with very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were serviced every day, the continental style breakfast was more than adequate. The room was well presented but soundproofing could be a little better. But we will be using this hotel next year when we come back to Porto.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
136 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

In the center of Porto (near the Camara Municipal, the City Hall), this hotel offers you all the features of a hotel (daily cleaning, private bathroom, reception 24/7) for a good value. The room is nice, the staff is helpful and English speaking, I was really satisfied by this hotel in Porto. I truly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrSignorAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed in a 'panoramic view' double room on 5th floor. Fantastic views! Essential air-con. Good size clean comfortable room and very nice bathroom. Helpful friendly staff. Really can't fault this no-nonsense hotel for value. Parking was a problem though and spoilt our stay - I am disabled - nevertheless I heartily recommend the 'Universal'.

Room Tip: Face the square for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dadofjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Right in the centre of Porto within walking distance of major sightseeing points. Perfect for exploring the city.
Staff is very helpful and friendly, always explaining you details about the city.
Rooms and simple and not brand new but it is good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FranciscoSOLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aliados
Hotel Aliados
#66 of 106 in Porto
426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vera Cruz Porto Hotel
Vera Cruz Porto Hotel
#55 of 106 in Porto
427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malaposta
Malaposta
#68 of 106 in Porto
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel do Norte
Hotel do Norte
#65 of 106 in Porto
366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pao de Acucar Hotel
Pao de Acucar Hotel
#51 of 106 in Porto
730 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paulista Pensao Residencial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Universal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universal

Property: Hotel Universal
Address: Avenida dos Aliados 38, Porto 4000-064, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Universal 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in an elegant and old avenue "Avenida dos Aliados," in the heart of the historical center of Porto, the Hotel Universal is surrounded by some of the most emblematic buildings of this city and in a central point to reach on foot touristic sights one can’t miss such as: The City Hall, Trindade Church, S. Bento Railway Station, Clérigos Tower, The Cathedral Douro Riverhood. If you want to go further, you have a railway station or an underground station both in less than 3 minutes on foot. One can’t miss neither a boat trip through the magnificent Douro River, nor the night view of the old part of the town near the river, where you can taste a good meal and a delightful Porto wine. Our hotel offers you a personalized service in a joyful, comfortable and inviting atmosphere. We guarantee the best prices and we’ll help our guests to get the most out of their trip calling our receptionists’ advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Universal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing