We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, clean & comfy”
Review of Hotel Universal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Universal
Ranked #64 of 106 Hotels in Porto
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Central, clean & comfy”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Does what it says on the label..... Keeps you central and your budget down. Spend your money at Cafe Guarany across the avenue! It's small, clean - lots of towels and hot water. Room on 4th floor quiet apart from other guests in corridor. Breakfast reasonable if you ate in a rush. Great views from front rooms! Not posh. Not special. But for one or 2 nights - decent!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    109
    119
    28
    23
See reviews for
37
142
33
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
117 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

As a budget hotel we were very pleased with our stay. The rooms are basic, fairly small but clean. The only thing we didn’t like was the plastic mattress cover but for only 3 nights we weren’t too worried. The staff on reception were very helpful and friendly and although the choice of items for breakfast was limited it was frequently replenished.

The only downside was that on both the Friday and Saturday night there was a loud band playing in a cafe right across the square. With the fan of the air conditioning unit running constantly we could just about drown out the band. We did not have a problem with any traffic noise even though you are right on the main square. We were lucky in that the people in the rooms next to us were quiet but with small rooms I can imagine that loud neighbours could be an issue.

The location of the hotel is perfect for touring this wonderful city. The Hop On, Hop Off buses stop very close to the hotel and it’s very easy to get the Metro from the airport to the hotel. The walk down to the river front goes past many restaurants and bars and the river is about a 15 minute walk.

Don’t expect luxury from this hotel but for a few nights stay on a budget you won’t find better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hampshire_TravelHog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed 3 nights here. Rooms were clean, neat and safe. Staff were helpful and provided us with what we required. Well priced and would. Recommend it to others travelling to Porto. Found this place on trip advisor

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rehbein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Honore de Chicoutimi, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The hotel is centrally located, at walking distance from services and a lot of tourist attraction.
Staff is friendly and very helpfull, my husband and I speak french and they all made the effort to speak french to us
We had the economic double room wich was very small but clean
We were at the 5th floor and had difficulty to acces the free wifi from our room
We ask to change room but the hotel was full, so we had to acces internet from the lobby
The first 4 floors look nicer than the two other one so if you have a chance ask for a room on those floor
The breakfast is ok but a little bit costy

Room Tip: Ask for room on 2nd, 3th or 4th floor, they look more modern and the wifi will be easier to acces
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frad17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

-towels were old and cracked
-visitors were not allowed to go to the room at 9am (2h before check out) not even to pick up a coat or the suitcase. they had to wait on the street. That remind us to Portugal in the 50´s.
-Doors didn´t close well
-noise rooms
-We are not comming back

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Porto hotels

London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

central location, otherwise pretty terrible:
unfriendly staff
horrible plastic cover on mattresses so its like sleeping in a sweaty plastic bag
wifi works for a few minutes then dies on end
no plug sockets in the bedroom! (or only TV socket, which is 3m off the ground).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_W111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
135 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We loved the location of this hotel--right on liberty square, just down the street from the Intercontinental Hotel. It was easy to find once we got off the metro and had a lot of restaurants nearby to enjoy. We found the staff to be extremely helpful and willing to spend time talking about things to see and places to eat. The rooms are in need of an update, but since we didn't spend a lot of time in the room, it wasn't a big deal. The WIFI worked fine and was free.

Room Tip: We chose a family room with four beds. We got one double and two twins which worked well for us. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aliados
Hotel Aliados
#67 of 106 in Porto
426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vera Cruz Porto Hotel
Vera Cruz Porto Hotel
#55 of 106 in Porto
427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malaposta
Malaposta
#68 of 106 in Porto
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel do Norte
Hotel do Norte
#65 of 106 in Porto
366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pao de Acucar Hotel
Pao de Acucar Hotel
#51 of 106 in Porto
730 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paulista Pensao Residencial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Universal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universal

Property: Hotel Universal
Address: Avenida dos Aliados 38, Porto 4000-064, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Universal 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in an elegant and old avenue "Avenida dos Aliados," in the heart of the historical center of Porto, the Hotel Universal is surrounded by some of the most emblematic buildings of this city and in a central point to reach on foot touristic sights one can’t miss such as: The City Hall, Trindade Church, S. Bento Railway Station, Clérigos Tower, The Cathedral Douro Riverhood. If you want to go further, you have a railway station or an underground station both in less than 3 minutes on foot. One can’t miss neither a boat trip through the magnificent Douro River, nor the night view of the old part of the town near the river, where you can taste a good meal and a delightful Porto wine. Our hotel offers you a personalized service in a joyful, comfortable and inviting atmosphere. We guarantee the best prices and we’ll help our guests to get the most out of their trip calling our receptionists’ advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Universal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing