We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Universal
Nearby Hotels
US$373
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$339
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$949
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$284
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ibis Porto Sao Joao(Porto)(Great Value!)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$308
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$256
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (341)
Filter reviews
341 results
Traveller rating
35
120
132
31
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
120
132
31
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteep flight of stairsgreat locationyogurtbread rollsavenida dos aliadoshotel is centrally locatedsao bento train stationwithin walking distancecomfortable roomreception areafirst floorfree wifieasy accessminute walkcitysocketscathedral
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 341 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Does what it says on the label..... Keeps you central and your budget down. Spend your money at Cafe Guarany across the avenue! It's small, clean - lots of towels and hot water. Room on 4th floor quiet apart from other guests in corridor. Breakfast reasonable if you ate in a rush. Great views from front rooms! Not posh. Not special. But for one or 2 nights - decent!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

As a budget hotel we were very pleased with our stay. The rooms are basic, fairly small but clean. The only thing we didn’t like was the plastic mattress cover but for only 3 nights we weren’t too worried. The staff on reception were very helpful and friendly and although the choice of items for breakfast was limited it was frequently replenished.

The only downside was that on both the Friday and Saturday night there was a loud band playing in a cafe right across the square. With the fan of the air conditioning unit running constantly we could just about drown out the band. We did not have a problem with any traffic noise even though you are right on the main square. We were lucky in that the people in the rooms next to us were quiet but with small rooms I can imagine that loud neighbours could be an issue.

The location of the hotel is perfect for touring this wonderful city. The Hop On, Hop Off buses stop very close to the hotel and it’s very easy to get the Metro from the airport to the hotel. The walk down to the river front goes past many restaurants and bars and the river is about a 15 minute walk.

Don’t expect luxury from this hotel but for a few nights stay on a budget you won’t find better.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hampshire_TravelHog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We enjoyed 3 nights here. Rooms were clean, neat and safe. Staff were helpful and provided us with what we required. Well priced and would. Recommend it to others travelling to Porto. Found this place on trip advisor

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rehbein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The hotel is centrally located, at walking distance from services and a lot of tourist attraction.
Staff is friendly and very helpfull, my husband and I speak french and they all made the effort to speak french to us
We had the economic double room wich was very small but clean
We were at the 5th floor and had difficulty to acces the free wifi from our room
We ask to change room but the hotel was full, so we had to acces internet from the lobby
The first 4 floors look nicer than the two other one so if you have a chance ask for a room on those floor
The breakfast is ok but a little bit costy

Room Tip: Ask for room on 2nd, 3th or 4th floor, they look more modern and the wifi will be easier to acces
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frad17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

-towels were old and cracked
-visitors were not allowed to go to the room at 9am (2h before check out) not even to pick up a coat or the suitcase. they had to wait on the street. That remind us to Portugal in the 50´s.
-Doors didn´t close well
-noise rooms
-We are not comming back

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews