We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexican food made by a Mexican Chef”

Frida - Cocina Mestiza
Ranked #182 of 1,841 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$43
Cuisines: Latin, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Reservations
Description: FRIDA is definitely different from what you are used to when you think of a Mexican Restaurant. It's maybe one of it's kind in Europe as it aims to conjugate the more traditional with the more avant-garde flavours, scents and colours of a country whose food has been recognized very recently as World Heritage by UNESCO. Mexican food, one of the most rich and varied in the world is presented in FRIDA with many of its magnificent details, with a surprising menu that transforms your visit in a discovery of different tastes that will certainly make you travel through time and space, and make you feel like your sharing a meal with Moctezuma himself. Hope to see you soon. Hasta muy pronto!
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Hey, it's Mexican food prepared by a Mexican Chef, that should tell you all you need to know.
I've travelled to Mexico on several occasions now and never, ever visited the touristy areas of it or the 'scaled down for tourists' restaurants and resorts of that beautiful country.
I always relied on the expertise of Mexican friends and visited the real taco stands and restaurants :)
It was with very high hopes that, upon being told that the chef was a Mexican, my wife and I decided to go to this restaurant.
We weren't disappointed.
Good atmosphere, excellent food and we even had a small chat with the woman that concocts these tasty foods.

A must go if you know real mexican food and want to remember it and also a must go if you don't know and want to see for yourself

Note: Since most of the things have to be imported from Mexico prices are a bit high but totally worth it .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kalimeru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRIDA_CocinaMestiza, Manager at Frida - Cocina Mestiza, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Hi friends,
Thank you very much for your review but specially for your visit.
The best thing about our restaurant are definitely our clients, you make us happy, so truly happy that you sometimes make us cry. Thanks for loving us, it was a pleasure chatting with you and hope to see you again very soon.
Hasta pronto,
FRIDA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 89 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

I spent with my wife a weekend in Porto, a very beautiful city. One of the best food experiences that I have in mind was our visit to Frida. We met the friendly owners at a sportsbar during the Worldcup footballmatch Mexico vs. The Netherlands (juni 2014). After the match we celebrated the victory of our team at Frida. What a plesent surprise!!! It was our best restaurant in Porto! The taste of the typical and very original mexican food was very delicious!! The restaurant was very well decorated. The service was friendly and attentive and the food was outstanding. It was our best mexican restaurant ever! Totally recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRIDA_CocinaMestiza, Manager at Frida - Cocina Mestiza, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you very much for your visit. In spite it was a sad day for the Mexican National Team and against The Netherlands, and even in spite of what Robben did to us, you just made our night with your sympathy and your constant smile.
It was definitely our pleasure to receive you and after receiving a review like yours we are just speechless.
Thank you, Gracias, Obrigado, Dank
FRIDA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Without a doubt, this is the finest Mexican food that I have ever had the pleasure to taste. The food is beautifully prepared and of an excellent quality - not TexMex. The restaurant is upscale with wonderful and friendly service. It is advisable to make a reservation as it was quite busy.

Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRIDA_CocinaMestiza, Manager at Frida - Cocina Mestiza, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Hola Karen,
It is not enough the space available in this reply to say how happy you made us with your review. But what better review can we have that when someone comes to have lunch with us and immediately makes a reservation for dinner.
You are such a beautiful and nice couple and it was just completely wonderful to receive you and have the honor of serving you, so we are so glad you like it.
We hope to see you again and who knows maybe visit you and keep our promise of taking you our Chiles en Nogada :)
Gracias,
FRIDA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

This place serves as authentic Mexican food as it can get. The only other restaurant we can compare this with - is Fronterra Grill by Rick Bailey in Chicago. So Menu is not in English and the place is not in busy town center, and that it's less than 3 months old. But once you go beyond these cliche, you'll find food and service to make a memorable experience. The spices and ingredients are imported from Mexico and Chef is Mexican herself. Every corner and decor in the restaurant is Mexican. Owners are present themselves all the time paying attention to guests. However, the highlight is food. It's amazingly well cooked, spiced and presented. If you don't understand Portuguese menu, they will take enough time to explain everything on it. Dessert was an absolute aha moment for us! This restaurant has made it to our all time favourite list. Cannot say more.. Go and try yourself. In any case - within a year, this would be rated as the best Mexican restaurant in Portugal..

PS - Runs five days a week from Wed to Sun

1  Thank mitul09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRIDA_CocinaMestiza, Manager at Frida - Cocina Mestiza, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Hi my good friends,
It was an honour to meet you and to have the possibility to show you some of our different recipes that we serve with so much care and that gives us such an immense pleasure when is received in such a good manner by our guests.
Thank you for your visit and for your review and most definitely for having the opportunity of knowing you.
Hope you have the most pleasant stay in Porto and a nice trip home.
Gracias,
FRIDA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Fantastic food, brilliant cocktails and great service. The menu was in Portuguese and Brazilian, however the waiter translated everything and made some recommendations.

Everything we ate was absolutely lovely and I couldn't recommend it highly enough.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GinAndGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRIDA_CocinaMestiza, Manager at Frida - Cocina Mestiza, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Hi Gin and Ginger,
Thank you very much for your visit. It was our pleasure to receive you.
And at the end be rewarded with this fabulous review was just breathtaking.
Hope you have had a pleasant stay in Oporto and I'm sure we'll meet again some day, so we'll just say for now... Hasta Luego!!!
FRIDA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Frida - Cocina Mestiza also viewed

Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Frida - Cocina Mestiza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing