We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for a small stay in Oporto”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BessaHotel Boavista
Ranked #14 of 109 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Very good for a small stay in Oporto”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Bessa hotel is a modern 4 star hotel in Oporto business district.
I had already stayed there in two business trips, but now I stayed with my wife in holiday weekend.
The rooms are quite good (inspite the decoration beeing a little bit "dark"), and the breakfast is very good.
The biggest drawback of the hotel is the location. It is a uggly place of Oporto near the Boavista football club stadium, with no good public transportation near by. So you either use taxis, or you bring your own car (this was my case) if you want to go to historical Oporto (4km away).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TudelaMartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    445
    54
    8
    5
See reviews for
161
329
29
266
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vicenza, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Very comfortable on the position for who, as me, have to travel around Port area with the car for business, indeed is very closed the motorway, but also in a very quit zone, if we exclude when the Boavista FC will play a football match (the hotek is at only 200 m from the Boavista stadium).
The interiors are very nice and very well cared, with all the comfort that a 4 stars hotel must have. Even the restaurant was very good, but quite expensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlo_VI_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisboa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

UsuallyI stay at Bessa hotel while I spend some days in Porto, either business or holidays. It is located in a privileged and more sophisticated section of the city.
Very nice staff and great standard executive rooms. Near subway and alternative bus rides. If you driving a car there is a parking space that can be reserved ahead.
You can get over to Porto downtown in a few a minutes or to Foz by foot or a bike.
My favorite amenity is PS3 free to use in the lounge.
Nearby there are nice restaurants (I recommend Gosho), 24 hours pharmacy, cafeteria, etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuasimodoLisboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

After reading the reviews on tripadvisor, I decided to choose this hotel although it seemed a bit strange I had never heard anyone talk about it. Upon arrival I was surprised because I had to pay beforehand for my stay although I had given a credit card for confirmation. The room was nice and the bathroom was also clean, new and with all the toiletries needed. We had a nice breakfast and were quite pleased with this hotel although a bit far away for anyone without a car to move around the city. But the worst was yet to come. During the night, my car had been broken in, lots of smashed glass and everyting scattered on the front seat. Nothing was robbed because i do not usually leave anything inside the car. The staff of the hotel upon knowing this had happened were very nice, helping me clean the seat and covering the broken window with tape but instead of chargin me beforehand they should have asked me if I wanted to park inside the hotel because they surely know this happens a lot in front of the hotel. They called the police for me to make a report and the policemen arrived quickly only to tell me that this kind of attempted burglary happened everyday on that street. Nice hotel but in a bad neighbourhood, no thanks!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IsabelTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ines F, Director of Sales at BessaHotel Boavista, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Madam,

First of all, thank you for choosing BessaHotel for your stay in Oporto!

We would also like to thank the comments left on Trip Advisor to which we reply below:

1 - In relation to the payment policy, it is a procedure adopted by the hotel to avoid problems with pre-authorizations made to credit cards. In this way guests never get money captive in the card;
2 - Regarding the location, the hotel is not actually in the old quarter, on the contrary, it's located in a very well known shopping and business area of the city with good connections to the city center (Subway/Bus);
3 - In relation to the parking lot outside, like any city, there is the possibility of robbery. To prevent this kind of situations, the hotel itself has a private garage with direct access to the reception/room.


We sincerely hope that we've managed to express our point of view, and we'll be waiting and looking forward to be seeing you again in a near future.


With Best Regards,

BessaHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

I just stayed one night at. Now it's with great price. weekend - 50€ without breakfast. 3 years ago cost 120 €!!! GOOD!! You don't need to take the breakfast here when you can do it in front of the ocean ( in 2 minutes by car)

Room Tip: Rooms on the back (South) side let have a great sunrise light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARIEROM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We stayed as a couple in this Hotel.

The Hotel itself is nice and very modern, breakfast is good and reception staff mostly friendly (except of the night staff).

Unfortunately I will avoid this hotel for my next stay in Porto. The hotel is about 4kms or so from the Historic centre away and located in a slightly dodgy location. View out of the room is horrible (something like a progress lacking construction site). You will need a taxi for every trip down town, which is cheap (about 8EUR) but a bit annoying if you have to go 4 times a day.

The hotel could be recommended for a Business Trip but is not suitable if you want to visit Porto as a Tourist.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton Fribourg
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We spent just one night at this hotel. We booked it via internet and we got a very good offer because we spent just 55 euros for a twin bed room. The hotel is very nice, all the people in the staff are very kind and helpful. The greakfast is 9 euro per person, a bit expensive, but its quality justifies the price. The only con is the location, because it is quite far from the center of the city, but bus and metro are not far from it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexG71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.2 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#8 of 109 in Porto
1,024 reviews
1.5 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
2.3 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Eurostars Oporto
Eurostars Oporto
#15 of 109 in Porto
672 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Artist Porto Hotel & Bistro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BessaHotel Boavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BessaHotel Boavista

Property: BessaHotel Boavista
Address: Rua Doutor Marques de Carvalho 111 | Boavista, Porto 4100-325, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Porto
#10 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#12 Family Hotel in Porto
#13 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BessaHotel Boavista 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Porto's prestigious Boavista district, a few minutes' from Casa da Musica, BessaHotel offers a fitness centre and a Turkish bath. Free WiFi is available. At BessaHotel we dress Porto with design and a new concept: The B Concept! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your BessaHotel Boavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bessa Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing