We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good quality/price ratio”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BessaHotel Boavista
Ranked #14 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Bruxelles
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very good quality/price ratio”
Reviewed 17 March 2010

I stayed in this hotel both for pirvate and business purposes...I must say that it is top quality. The only bad thing is the situation...quite far from the city centre...but the price is so good for such a good hotel ! The food is fine too. Service is high quality. I would however recommend the hotel to offer the wifi connection...it is so common now in many places..having to pay, to get a code, etc...a bit complicated to surf the net nowadays ! I strongly recommend the place even if far from the city centre, you can always go by metro to the best sights in town !

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tequila19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    439
    53
    8
    5
See reviews for
157
322
28
263
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2009

The Hotel is locatted behind the Bessa footbal stadium and near a school. it´s not very easy to find drinving around, because there´s few street indications.
Its a modern building in a quiet neighborhood. although there´s a hotel parking lot (expencive) there are plenty free street parking space.
The reception staff are very friendly and helpfull, with a small loby and some computers with free internet acess.
The room are very spacious and modern, with stylish furniture, plasma Tvs, minibar, many bathroom amenities.
the breakfirst is served in the cafeteria. Pleny of food choices and quality, very helpfull staff.
Although its a very good hotel, with modern and comfortable facilities, it lacks a gym or a swimming pool.
Overall is a very good city hotel!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2009

The Bessa hotel is avery good 4 star hotel. Breakfast is a bit expensive (12,50 Eur I think...) Big underground parking for 5 Eur/weekend and 8 Eur weekdays. Parking entrance and exit a bit narrow for big cars. Mini bar is ok. Rooms are clean and modern/cozy with good bathroom. The bed is very comfortable aswell. The internet is good priced if you use up to a couple of hours, as they charge you 0,03 Eur per minute. multiply it by 10 hours and you'll see...
The location is not so central, but taxi is not expensive. Dont' forget to eat a "francesinha" during your stay in Oporto.
Also try to go see a football mach at Estadio Dragao of FC Porto. Very beautiful stadium.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rapharj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2009

After a long, tiring trip, it was a pleasure to be welcomed by the friendly receptionist and promptly put into the first clean room even though we arrived hours before the check-in time. The free internet in the lobby was great. The rooms were modern and very clean. The service was great!! I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler_Caribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2009

I have stayed in some hotels in Porto (I enjoy very much the city and the hospitality) and I only have good things to say, speacialy the staff! Very understanding. Actually it was a great pleasure to be there with my husband.

5 Star Staff! Congratulations!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanaSOMonteiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2009

The permises are OK even though rooms are smallish.
The really bad point that completely spoils your stay is the extremely bad, uneffective and totaly unfriendly service. staff is there basically to say no to anything you ask them and doesn´t even try to sort out whatsoever.
On 2nd night as my husband was joining me and our 3 kids asked for an extra bed in one of the rooms. Imediate answer:not possible. Asked for an alternative, nothing.Ended up with the 3 kids in 2 bads.
Asked for help with the luggage:no way.imediate answer:we don´t have anybody to do that.
One of the kids was not feeling well and we needed to stay in town for the begining of the afternoon;asked for a late check out.Imediate answer:only with a 50% charge (even though they confirmed that the hotel was far from full.
To use internet, even though they charge some cents a minute they ask for a deposit of 20 Euros.
You end up feeling totally unwellcomed and that everybody wished you were not there. Strange attitude for this days when usually it is the opposite:hotels try to solve problems to keep the customer satisfied and willing to return.
We will never go back to Oporto Bessa and strongly advise you choose a different hotel. Thios is not portuguese hospitality and service!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.5 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
1.2 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#9 of 106 in Porto
1,000 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Porto
Crowne Plaza Porto
#10 of 106 in Porto
1,294 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Artist Porto Hotel & Bistro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BessaHotel Boavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BessaHotel Boavista

Property: BessaHotel Boavista
Address: Rua Doutor Marques de Carvalho 111 | Boavista, Porto 4100-325, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Porto
#10 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#12 Family Hotel in Porto
#13 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BessaHotel Boavista 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Porto's prestigious Boavista district, a few minutes' from Casa da Musica, BessaHotel offers a fitness centre and a Turkish bath. Free WiFi is available. At BessaHotel we dress Porto with design and a new concept: The B Concept! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your BessaHotel Boavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bessa Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing