We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (724)
Filter reviews
724 results
Traveller rating
474
194
44
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
474
194
44
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect locationsmall squarethe riverlight switchesboutique hotelstreet musiciansreception area isde natatartsport winelovely hotelcity viewhistoric districtcomplimentary portinterior designoverlooking the squarewalking distance
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 724 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2017

We stayed here in Porto for one week. The location is outstanding, a short walk to the riverfront and to sites. Many restaurants at different price points within a 10 minute walk. We had a double room with city view, a queen bed and bathroom with shower. We had ample space and slept well with the shutters closed. Staff speaks excellent English and was always immediately helpful. We were provided a complimentary bottle of port upon arrival and a tray of petit fours was gifted in the room a few days into our stay. The bottled water in the room was complimentary. The standard toiletries and hair dryer were in the bathroom. Room has safe and tea kettle Taxi to/from airport euro 25-27 and to Campanha train station E6. Hotel's restaurant has an expansive breakfast buffet for E7.50. There is no exercise room, but we did not need this after walking the hills of Porto and Gaia. This was perfect for us, we will return.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the city view room
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jisabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing D, Gestor at Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Thank you for your comment about your stay at Porto AS 1829 Hotel. Our guests' comments are very important to us because they allow us to grow everyday in order to fulfil all our guests needs and make sure they have a unique experience at our Hotel.
We hope to welcome you again at Porto AS 1829 Hotel, Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

We really enjoyed our 3 nights 4 day stay at Porto AS 1829. The hotel staff is super courteous and friendly. The rooms are clean and well-equipped with a mini bar, a whole lot of snacks etc. The hotel is nicely located and walking distance from the riviera, 7 mins walk from Porto station and all the busy spots. The street on which Porto AS is located is pretty busy and buzzing as well with a tonne of options for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It gets super lively in the night with street bands and music performances.

You can totally pick this hotel if you are looking for a clean, convenient and comfortable stay in Porto. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

I would have loved to give Porto AS 5 stars, but I am giving it one star less, because we were disappointed with the breakfast. Since we opted for rooms with breakfast we were expecting to have a good meal and get ourselves going for the day. The spread was really small which stayed consistent across the three days we managed to grab breakfast. There was no change or possibly any innovation in the menu. If you like eggs and variations in eggs, you might need to pay on top for that.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms towards the end of the corridor, they have no view :)
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ektabab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing D, Gestor at Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments with us concerning your recent stay at Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel.
Your comments are very important to us, as they help us to review and improve our services.

We highly appreciate your feedback and looking forward to your next stay.

We remain at your disposal for any further queries.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Lovely hotel with a perfect location in a nice square with everything going on on the doorstep. Easy walk to most of the sights cathedral etc also only around a 500 metre walk down to the river. Staff were helpful and friendly and our room on the 4th floor was light & comfortable. beds really comfortable and the room was spotless. Although it looked cool we didn't like the bath in the bedroom - nor did we like taking the over bath shower with the plastic shower consequently sticking to you ! The bath height was also very low so it would have been easy to fall out sideways if balance is not a strong point. Breakfast first morning was really good, unfortunately breakfast the second morning was terrible, scrambled eggs just as liquid so would never firm up also it was stone cold as was the bacon, sausages, tomatoes, mushrooms. Advised the waitress but nothing materialised not even an apology so somewhat disappointing and surprising when her colleagues had been so proficient.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank GLOSSOPGLOBETROTTERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing D, Gestor at Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Thank you for your comment about your stay at Porto AS 1829 Hotel. Our guests' comments are very important to us because they allow us to grow everyday in order to fulfil all our guests needs and make sure they have a unique experience at our Hotel.
We hope to welcome you again at Porto AS 1829 Hotel.

Best Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

Great central location with stylish lobby. There was no offer to help with our bags to the room. The room (312 IIRC) was a bit dark and had a horrible layout with a cabinet that cut the room in half. One half was the bed area and the other half was wasted on a cafe table and two very small chairs. The shower curtain had pink mould on the bottom and there was a giant crack at the back of the shower stall where the wall met the floor. It looked nasty and if they don't take care of it they will be dealing with water in the structure of the building. The shower stall (wall near the controller) had been repaired with an awful looking patch job that was totally botched and looked like it had been done by a child with some cement and a tube of silicon caulking. W/C stall door (slider) did not close properly.

Also had a major problem with the parking pass not working and the garage around the corner was nearly full the day we arrived so it took 20 minutes to get into the garage plus 20 minutes waiting to talk the garage attendant about why the card the hotel gave us didn't work.

The staff were nice enough but I didn't come away thinking to myself "if I ever come back to Porto I will stay here and I will tell all my friends to stay here if they visit".

I'll save my review for the restaurant under the restaurant section of TA. (Okay food with sloppy service).

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank montyawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing D, Gestor at Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Thank you for your comment about your stay at Porto AS 1829 Hotel. Our guests' comments are very important to us because they allow us to grow everyday in order to fulfil all our guests needs and make sure they have a unique experience at our Hotel.
We hope to welcome you again at Porto AS 1829 Hotel.

Best Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

PROS: The hotel is centrally located; it's an easy walk to the river or to the cathedral and train station. The breakfast buffet was very good, with many choices. We received a coupon for a complimentary dinner in the restaurant and had a very nice meal there. We received a bottle of port and the mini fridge is stocked with complimentary water and snacks. The square in front of the hotel is lively, but thankfully they require the amplified music to stop at 10:00, so we were able to sleep quietly.

CONS: When I made the reservation I specifically requested a shower, not a bathtub. So what did we get but a shower inside a claw foot bathtub in the middle of the sleeping room. This is really unsafe--there are no grab bars. The bathroom itself is sleek but not functional--you have to store everything under the sink: no shelf even for a toothbrush or hairbrush. The closet is very small with only 3-4 hangers. I was told that they provide discounted parking in the Saba garage, but as we were leaving I was told that I had parked in the wrong one and they wouldn't provide me with the discount card--that I should have parked in front of the hotel first to learn the address of the correct one. So why not tell me when I inquired by email before I arrived? And how is a first time visitor to Porto to know that it's OK to just park in the middle of a narrow, busy street and dash into the hotel to get directions?

We really liked Porto, but I'm ambivalent about recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ShowMeSomething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing D, Gestor at Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Thank you for your comment about your stay at Porto AS 1829 Hotel. Our guests' comments are very important to us because they allow us to grow everyday in order to fulfil all our guests needs and make sure they have a unique experience at our Hotel.
We hope to welcome you again at Porto AS 1829 Hotel.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews