We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (796)
Filter reviews
796 results
Traveller rating
519
214
51
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
519
214
51
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews perfect location the river small square light switches boutique hotel street musicians tarts pastel de nata lovely hotel port wine rua das flores storage space modern amenities overlooking the square superior room historic district loved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 796 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2018

We stayed at the Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel during a recent visit to Porto. We are so glad that we did. Even though we had a corner room on this very busy street, we didn't hear much of anything given the double-paned windows. There was lots of good sound insulation.

The hotel was located in the middle of everything: 5 minute walk to train station, 5 minute walk to the river, 15 minute walk across the bridge to all of the port lodges in Gaia. Breakfast was included and it was very good. Everything was fresh and there was a good variety. The staff was helpful, friendly, and spoke very good English. We would stay there again when visiting Porto!

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kristi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing D, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Dear Ms. Kristi

We would like to thank you for your thoughtful words about our Porto AS 1829 Hotel and its' staff.

It was a pleasure having you here with us. We hope that we have managed to surpass your expectations and corresponded to your needs.
It will be a great pleasure having you here with us once again in a future visit to Porto!

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018

This hotel is very well located in the middle of Porto within easy walking distance of all the sites. The city is on a hill and this is about half way up which feels as if you get a head start somehow. The staff were polite and helpful. The room was small but well appointed. The hotel does not have parking but there is a good underground public car park (at a cost obviously) nearby.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YwaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing D, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment about your stay at Porto AS 1829 Hotel.
Our guests' comments are very important to us because they allow us to grow everyday in order to fulfil our guests needs and make sure they have a unique experience at our Hotel.
We hope to welcome you again at Porto AS 1829 Hotel.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

This former print works with its beautiful tiled exterior is in the heart of Porto, a short downhill walk to the river and a flattish/uphill walk to the station and shopping area.
The reception area is smart with a classy stationary shop part of it. The excellent young brigade of staff greet you with a pastel de nana and a glass of port.
Rooms are small but functional. Space is at a premium. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and neat. It is not cheap however.
Breakfast buffet in the dining room was plentiful and varied. Dinner was good and fairly priced .
The hotel lacks a bar or lounge to sit when not wishing to venture out.
In all a very pleasant place to stay

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing D, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Dear Mr. Colin

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

Your opinion is very important to Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel´s team because we always want to provide the best experience for our customers.
The best way for us to review and improve our services is through our guest's reviews.
We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Clean, comfortable, spacious room. Great shower. Everyone who works there is Very helpful. Very good breakfast with a huge variety of food to choose from. Fresh and delicious. They also have a nice restaurant for dinner. Love the location.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank harleywoman78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

This hotel was very friendly, the reception staff greeted us with a glass of Port and a Pasty de Nata.
The rooms were functional but kept very clean.
Above all was the location right in the heart of the old town, close to the harbour where it all happens. Just under our balcony you had street musicians playing for the restaurants so we could sit with the door open and listen whilst getting ready.
My 1 criticism is that the breakfast scrambled eggs need some work.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews