We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$296
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$275
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$322
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$300
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$312
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$274/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$447
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$430
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (691)
Filter reviews
691 results
Traveller rating
454
182
44
10
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
454
182
44
10
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect locationsmall squarethe riverlight switchesstreet musiciansboutique hotelreception area isde natapedestrianised streetlovely hotelcustard tartport winehistoric districtcity viewcomplimentary portinterior designoverlooking the square
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 691 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel during a recent visit to Porto. We are so glad that we did. Even though we had a corner room on this very busy street, we didn't hear much of anything given the double-paned windows. There was lots of good sound insulation.

The hotel was located in the middle of everything: 5 minute walk to train station, 5 minute walk to the river, 15 minute walk across the bridge to all of the port lodges in Gaia. Breakfast was included and it was very good. Everything was fresh and there was a good variety. The staff was helpful, friendly, and spoke very good English. We would stay there again when visiting Porto!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kristi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing D, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Ms. Kristi

We would like to thank you for your thoughtful words about our Porto AS 1829 Hotel and its' staff.

It was a pleasure having you here with us. We hope that we have managed to surpass your expectations and corresponded to your needs.
It will be a great pleasure having you here with us once again in a future visit to Porto!

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is very well located in the middle of Porto within easy walking distance of all the sites. The city is on a hill and this is about half way up which feels as if you get a head start somehow. The staff were polite and helpful. The room was small but well appointed. The hotel does not have parking but there is a good underground public car park (at a cost obviously) nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwydion H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing D, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment about your stay at Porto AS 1829 Hotel.
Our guests' comments are very important to us because they allow us to grow everyday in order to fulfil our guests needs and make sure they have a unique experience at our Hotel.
We hope to welcome you again at Porto AS 1829 Hotel.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

This former print works with its beautiful tiled exterior is in the heart of Porto, a short downhill walk to the river and a flattish/uphill walk to the station and shopping area.
The reception area is smart with a classy stationary shop part of it. The excellent young brigade of staff greet you with a pastel de nana and a glass of port.
Rooms are small but functional. Space is at a premium. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and neat. It is not cheap however.
Breakfast buffet in the dining room was plentiful and varied. Dinner was good and fairly priced .
The hotel lacks a bar or lounge to sit when not wishing to venture out.
In all a very pleasant place to stay

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing D, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Mr. Colin

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

Your opinion is very important to Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel´s team because we always want to provide the best experience for our customers.
The best way for us to review and improve our services is through our guest's reviews.
We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Clean, comfortable, spacious room. Great shower. Everyone who works there is Very helpful. Very good breakfast with a huge variety of food to choose from. Fresh and delicious. They also have a nice restaurant for dinner. Love the location.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank harleywoman78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

This hotel was very friendly, the reception staff greeted us with a glass of Port and a Pasty de Nata.
The rooms were functional but kept very clean.
Above all was the location right in the heart of the old town, close to the harbour where it all happens. Just under our balcony you had street musicians playing for the restaurants so we could sit with the door open and listen whilst getting ready.
My 1 criticism is that the breakfast scrambled eggs need some work.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews