We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$109
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/12/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$109
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/12/21
Trip.com
US$89
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/12/21
Expedia.comUS$109
PricelineUS$109
eDreamsUS$109
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (930)
Filter reviews
931 results
Traveller rating
612
243
57
16
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
612
243
57
16
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location the river free mini bar boutique hotel street musicians superior room lovely hotel reception staff stationary port square cafes minibar suitcases
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 931 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2018 via mobile

We were very pleased with this hotel where we stayed for 3 nights. The reception staff were very helpful and offered us a glass of port wine on arrival. Our room was spacious with a separate Bath/shower and toilet area. The bed was super comfortable. We only had breakfast in the hotel which was good and catered for gluten free diets.
The location is excellent for sight seeing, within a few minutes of the river and the main squares, historical monuments and shopping areas. Would recommend a stay here.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank cilwych
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing D, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2018

Dear SheleyB

Thank you for your nice comment on Tripadvisor.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and our breakfast that includes gluten free items.
We hope to welcome you back very soon.

kind regards,

Anabela Fernandes
(Guest Relations)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2018

We had a lovely stay at Porto AS 1829. The location could not have been better, smack in the middle of everything. The reception staff were friendly and extremely helpful, going as far to help book travel. The pastel de nata and port wine were a nice addition. The room was clean and comfortable with window overlooking square. The breakfast was large and tasty. Nice TV with good English-speaking options. Could not have asked for better option in Porto and I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Only negatives would be slow internet at times and small shower which leaked a bit onto bathroom floor, but these were not a big deal.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank JoshuaR784
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing D, Gestor de Front Office at Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2018

Dear JoshuaR784

Porto AS 1829 Hotels' team has a goal of fulfilling all of our guests needs within reach.
We thank you once again for your kind words and look forward to welcoming you in a future visit to Porto AS 1829 Hotel.

Kind regards,

Anabela Fernandes
(Guest Relations)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. The room was small but well appointed. The sheets were cool and crisp and the pillows were well fluffed. We were on the fourth floor and had a good view of the plaza downstairs. So why did I give only 3 stars? Because the room smelled like sewer on our first night. To be fair they offered to move us to another room without a window but what if the room is the same smelly condition? Anyway we decided to stay in the room and just slept with the window open to dissipate the smell. With the windows open, it got pretty loud as the music from the plaza and the chatter can be heard from our floor. But it was our decision to deal with it so we really shouldn’t complain about that. We left the window open on our second day and that may have fixed the issue. The room didn’t smell as bad as the first night. So I hope this was just a one off.
Nice hotel, just that the first night experience wasn’t the best.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank azm1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing D, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2018

Dear azm1206

Thank you for taking the time to sent us your comment on Tripadvisor.
We are very sorry that the experience did not match your expectations.
Regarding the problem with your room, we understand that this was very inconvenient and that was why we offered the room change.
We remain at your disposal for any further queries.

Kind regards,

Anabela Fernandes
(Guest Relations)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2018 via mobile

My wife and I spent four nights at this very good hotel. Our room was very nice and the front desk staff, especially Rita, were very cordial and helpful. The hotel is well located between the Sao Bento train station and the waterfront and its restaurant was very good. We look forward to staying there again whenever we return to Porto, which we expect to do so often!!!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank wclegends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing D, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2018

Dear wclegends,

Porto AS 1829 Hotels' team has a goal of fulfilling all of our guests needs within reach.
It is very nice to find out that you enjoyed your stay with your wife.
We thank you once again for your kind words about our staff, especially about Rita and and look forward to welcoming you in a future visit to Porto AS 1829 Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Anabela Fernandes
(Guest Relations)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2018

The AS 1829 Hotel has a very good location. Very close to the Sao Bento Metro station. In an area where you have restaurants, bars, and walking distance from attractions and shopping. The room that we stayed was small, however very clean with comfortable bed. The breakfast, included in our rate, was very good with a good variety of fruits, breads etc. Great staff, pleasant and polite. There is NO parking at the hotel and when you "read Parking available", means that is a public parking close by and the hotel has an arrangement with the Parking that you pay 23 Euros per day.

Room tip: Higher floors might be less noise from the bars close to the hotel.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Patricia Lara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing D, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2018

Dear Patricia Lara F,

Thank you for your comment about your stay at Porto AS 1829 Hotel. Our guests' comments are very important to us because they allow us to grow everyday in order to fulfill all our guests needs and make sure they have a unique experience at our Hotel.
We hope to welcome you again at Porto AS 1829 Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Anabela Fernandes
(Guest Relations)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews