We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$109
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/12/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$109
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/12/21
Trip.com
US$89
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/12/21
Hotels.comUS$109
PricelineUS$109
eDreamsUS$109
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (930)
Filter reviews
931 results
Traveller rating
612
243
57
16
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
612
243
57
16
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location the river free mini bar boutique hotel street musicians superior room lovely hotel reception staff stationary port square cafes minibar suitcases
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 931 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2019 via mobile

I don’t have any complaints about this hotel. It’s definitely the best I stayed in a very long time. The bedroom was very spacious and I liked the fact that there was a table and chairs to seat and relax and not just the bed. The shower was great as well.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 918mela
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing D, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2019

Dear 918mela

Thank you for your nice comment on Tripadvisor.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Anabela Fernandes
(Guest Relations)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2019 via mobile

Helpful staff, eager to please. Attractive hotel, terrific breakfast with gluten free section. Very comfortable beds and a good shower.
My criticism would be I found the light switches impossible. Way too complicated for a hotel room.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank Number37
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing D, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2019

Dear Number37

Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments with us concerning your recent stay at Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel.
Your comments are very important to us, as they help us to review and improve our services.
We highly appreciate your feedback and looking forward to your next stay.
We remain at your disposal for any further queries.

Best regards,

Anabela Fernandes
(Guest Relations)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2019

Everything about the Porto AS 1829 Hotel is top-notch. I simply cannot find fault with anything. I arrived early and my room wasn’t prepared. When I arrived back at the hotel over an hour later I was informed that I had been upgraded to a deluxe room with 3 French windows overlooking the square. The room was large, clean and tastefully furnished. The hotel itself is apparently a renovated stationery shop, built in 1829, hence the hotel’s name. Breakfast was good, reception staff extremely helpful and the hotel itself is an excellent location. There wasn’t really a lobby area where you could sit and relax and a separate bar would have been nice. A lovely hotel at a very reasonable price,

Room tip: A room over the square
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mb74_england
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing D, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2019

Dear mb74_england

We would like to thank you for your thoughtful words about our Porto AS 1829 Hotel and its' staff.
It was a pleasure having you here with us.
We hope that we have managed to surpass your expectations and corresponded accordingly to your needs.
It will be a great pleasure having you here with us once again in a future visit to Porto!

Kind Regards,


Anabela Fernandes
(Guest Relations)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2019

This is a gorgeous, luxe boutique hotel. It is not cheap, but well worth the price given the location, quality of facilities and service. The front desk were fantastically helpful. Our delightful, tastefully decorated and comfortable room had a view over the quiet square and being right smack in the middle of lovely Porto was a sublime experience. Breakfast is not included which for the price it should be. It is an easy downhill walk from Sao Bento metro station, which works well when coming in from the airport. We walked and walked around Porto (which we loved), and we always had this lovely hotel to come back to. Its ‘downhill’ location always seemed to draw us back at the end of a day’s strolling around and the River Douro is only 200 m away so a drink at outdoor tables down there was sublime. Enjoy!

Room tip: Rooms overlooking square are quiet
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldrichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing D, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2019

Dear Goldrichie,

Thank you for your nice comment on Tripadvisor.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Anabela Fernandes
(Guest Relations)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2019 via mobile

Staying her at the moment as it’s my husbands birthday
We arrived at 11am as it was an early flight from Dublin and were greeted with a glass of port and a custard pastry
We were told the room wasn’t available until 3pm
So we went sight seeing and caught the tram up the sea front as. My husbands back was really giving him problems we needed a place to sit/rest. So we returned to hotel and had lunch at 2pm.
I tried to see if room was free - no joy.
I was told again that check in was 3pm
There was no flexibility around this

The chairs in restaurant are so hard - seems to be hard chairs everywhere in Porto
At 3pm we got the key to our room

Despite requesting a high room, a quiet room as this was recommended all my requests fell on deaf ears

We got a room on level 1 that looks out at a wall. See picture

The air conditioning/heat doesn’t seem to work.
It’s freezing or too hot and then states ‘central’ on the temp control and can’t be adjusted at all
I didn’t want to burden staff as they weren’t helpful at check in or for room allocation

This morning I arrived at breakfast at 11:05
Everything laid out still. Cereals, cheese, pastries etc
3 members of staff were standing at coffee machine area.
As I went to take a seat - I was told ‘no - we are closed. Breakfast stops at 11’
My husband was in bed with his back. It was only me and I was somewhat underwhelmed at her response and there was no flexibility considering I was a guest
It Wasn’t good ‘customer service’

The location is great as it’s a 5 minute walk everywhere
Would I recommend???
No - Try somewhere else that listens to customers and treats their customer better

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
6  Thank topps2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing D, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2019

Dear topps2014,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments with us concerning your recent stay at Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel.
Your comments are very important to us, as they help us to review and improve our services.
We highly appreciate your feedback.

Kind regards,

Anabela Fernandes
(Guest Relations)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews