We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$109
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/12/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$109
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$90
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/12/21
Hotels.comUS$109
Expedia.comUS$109
eDreamsUS$109
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (931)
Filter reviews
931 results
Traveller rating
612
243
57
16
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
612
243
57
16
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location the river free mini bar boutique hotel street musicians superior room lovely hotel reception staff stationary port square cafes minibar suitcases
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 931 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2019

The staff was extremely helpful. When we checked in, they offered us a glass of port wine and a custard tart. The room was comfortable and quiet. The morning breakfast buffet had a good selection, including the Custard Tarts! Note: The hotel was strict with check in time of 3:00 pm but they were very helpful with storing luggage and bringing it to our room for when we checked in.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank M9286PVbriant
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 June 2019

A nice boutique hotel in a great location in Porto. Minutes to Sao Bento station in one direction, and minutes to the riverbank of the Duoro, close to Ribeira and the Se (cathedral).
There is nightly music/busking on the street outside until about midnight which might be a problem if you are a light or early sleeper. Good restaurant downstairs. Smallish rooms, but otherwise perfect for me.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 June 2019

If a clean, refurbished and fresh room is what you’re looking for than this hotel is not for you. It’s unfortunate that a hotel so well located will take advantage of its customers.

The first thing we noticed when we went into the room was the sewer smell. This was definitely a deal breaker for us but unfortunately the room was prepaid for 3 nights.

When we asked to change rooms, they proposed a room on the floor below ours that had the same issues. Obviously a problem in the hotel.

The rooms are tiny with a shower/toilet so small, they had to place the sink on a trolley stand in the room (see photo). When we showered we noticed the mold and mildew all around the shower stall. Maybe this contributed to the smell in the room. Obviously, humidity this prevalent will cause the paint to peel off the walls (see photo).

The experience we had takes away the advantages of the hotel such as location service and a good restaurant. Considering the price we paid for the room (almost 300€ a night) in June, we truly believe this hotel is giving Portuguese tourism a real bad name and an undeserving image.

Even simple hotels have an obligation to provide you a clean hotel room...

Room tip: Standard rooms' windows face a brick wall. Premium rooms' windows face the the pedestrian street over a noisy cafe/bar.
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank KennyKanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxhotelsportugal, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2019

Dear Mrs. KennyKanuk,

We received your review which had our full attention!

We are very sorry that your experience at Porto AS 1829 Hotel did not meet your expectations.

The issues you reported were dealt internally with the Hotel Manager and Maintenance so that specific cases you referred do not happen again.

Once more, we apologize for any inconvenient and we would like to welcome you back in your next visit to Porto.

Kind Regards,
Anabela Fernandes
(Guest Relations)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2019

Porto AS 1829 is perfectly located for a visit to Porto, it is a 5 minute walk from Bento or a $8 cab ride from Campanha. The rooms are spacious, with a complimentary mini bar. We were welcomed with Port and Bonbons in the room and gifted one evening meal.

At all times the staff went out of their way to accommodate our needs and moved very smoothly through the UEFA gatherings of football fans that were in the City. The breakfast was more than adequate and the quality of food and service encouraged us to take several lunches and dinners at the hotel.

Bathroom had bather accommodation rather than shower but that is hardly unique.

Big hello to Rita F, who is a credit to the hotel

Room tip: We were on the 3rd floor
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BritinDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxhotelsportugal, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2019

Dear BritinDetroit,

Porto AS 1829 Hotels' team has a goal of fulfilling all of our guests needs within reach.

We thank you for your kind words and look forward to welcoming you in a future visit to Porto AS 1829 Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Anabela Fernandes
(Guest Relations)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2019

Being an antique collector this was my first choice. The building used to be an old stationary company and is full of memorabilia and even a shop in the lobby area. The location is the best in Porto and the staff super efficient and friendly but I guess that is usual all over Portugal. The hotel is right on a main square and there gets very noisy until later hours, we spend three nights and after the first night we asked to move to an upper floor were it was a bit better.
Rooms are ok and breakfast is good, all in all a good experience but in my opinion it is a bit overpriced. Be aware that parking is an additional 25 euro a day.

Room tip: Ask for rooms with a street view on upper floors
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roberto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxhotelsportugal, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2019

Dear Robert S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your nice experience on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel.
We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards,

Anabela Fernandes
(Guest Relations)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews