We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grande Oceano Guest House
Ranked #52 of 172 Porto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in Porto for a week at the end of March.
When looking for a hotel we always put location with reasonable price at the heart of our hotel choice, this hotel seemed to tick all the boxes.

How right we were. This hotel is centrally located, with nice size and very clean rooms. Staff are always friendly and as helpful as possible. Internet is available in your room, (which I did not discover until 2 day before check out).

The only negative I noticed is that Friday night is quite loud with people celebrating the end of the week; we took this as an opportunity to join the festivities. All other nights were very quiet and with the big comfy beds you should have an excellent night’s sleep.

If you do choice to stay in this hotel, the pizza restaurant (can’t remember it’s name) on the opposite side of the road is great, but also walk around the corner, to Aziz restaurant, they serve the best francesinha, which is a bit of a Porto delicacy.
In Summary, a great base to explore beautiful Porto. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timbleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2012

About two weeks ago, my husband and I stayed at the Pensao Grande Oceano in Porto. Our room was a large room, that faced the street. We were happily surprised how quiet it was. The window really sealed off the street noises (it wasn't a very noisy street anyway). The lady at the front desk and her son were very helpful.
I don't give it a 5 star because the bathroom was small, particularly, the shower curtain, so ti was hard for water not to spill out of the the shower. Also, the room is in a 3rd floor, which was not a problem for us, but it might be a problem for other people.
The price was great for the space and central location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jagushemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pensao_grandeoceano, Owner at Grande Oceano Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Thank you for your opinion, very correct and true.
The windows with good insulation are indeed one of our most recent investments to ensure peaceful nights.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

My partner and me stayed here for 2 weeks in May/June. We just wanted a clean place, not expensive, on a good location where we could shut our eyes and get a decent night of sleep after sightseeing all day. And that is what we got.

The owners are really lovely and helpful, we didn't have any language trouble (just put some effort in trying to speak Portuguese, which is appreciated, even if it is as poorly as my attempts...)

It really is a budget hotel, so don't expect too much. The room we stayed in was a bit small (no problem) and so was the bathroom (a bit more of a problem). The shower was tiny and there was not really a place to put our shampoo and shower gel. No worries: we just went to the nearby Chinese store and bought a 'sticky board' which we sticked to the wall, in the corner of the shower, problem solved. We also bought some sticky hooks for our washcloths etc., as we found the space to hang stuff was a bit meager.

So, room and bathroom was easy to get used to or to adjust, but the bed... the mattress was okay, the height as well, but again, it was really small and my Partner kept struggling with staying in the bed and not rolling out...
Another thing that really wouldn't be a problem if we just stayed here for a couple of days, but what was a bit inconvenient when staying 2 weeks: there were no bed lights. And of course there were days where my partner was wiped out and wanted to go to sleep, while I wanted to read up on whatever we wanted to visit the next day. Again: the Chinese store brought the solution, we bought a small lamp. ( we also bought to glasses to have a nice little Porto-wine in the evening, I hope they left them in the room for the next visitors).

The free Wi-Fi was really welcome! We made good use of it. Also, the air-conditioning was very welcome, once we finally figured out that and how it worked...(our bad!) We could just close the window (brilliant isolation, all the street-noises were kept out ) and we could still 'be cool'.

Breakfast is really no problem at all, just go down the street and have your pick of places where the serve a decent and cheap cup of coffee with a nice piece of pastry.
Location is great, near the trainstation, metro and lots of busses.

For us the stairs really weren't a problem, but I can imagine if you are a bit older or lack a bit of mobility, the stairs can be a bit too much.

Room Tip: When older or lacking mobility, ask for a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seolram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Thank you for your comment. You really describe our main features!
We appreciate the recommendation about the lack of a place to put the shampoo and shower gel. We will try to fix that!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I booked it based on good reviews and because it seemed reasonably priced - 30 Euro for single, no breakfast. I guess it would be totally ok if my first night in Porto I did not stay at another place for 22 Euro which was much nicer. The positives: Grand Oceano is well located, the people seem friendly.
On the negative: the room was very small, oldish, you have to ring the door bell when you return and since I came back at 4 a.m. I felt uncomfortable waking up the reception and it also took some time. However, for one night (actually few hours) of sleep it was ok. But the "excellent" reviews seem to be over the top.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anchi100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Thank you for your comment.
In fact some rooms are a bit small, but as the building is small, we can not change the situation.
On the issue of time of entry, we dont have employees because it is a family business, but can enter the time you want without any problem (during the night just ring the bell and wait a bit).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Both in booking.com and here, the rating for this hotel is quite good and that is why I booked from this hotel. I can't understand this. OK this is a budget hotel and the expectations should be limited and mine were limited already. I stayed in lots of budget hotels and this was the most rubbish one. Smells humid everywhere from lobby to the rooms, was not clean, toilet pipes broken washing out toilet, staff doesn't know English, no lift!...It was a really poor hotel. I wouldn't recommend this at all. Positive sides: location, free and working wireless, cheap

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ongun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pensao_grandeoceano, Owner at Grande Oceano Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Thanks for the comment you sent. We appreciate the fact that that you consider that Pensão Grande Oceano is a good value accommodation, well located and with free wireless internet with proper functioning. As you mentioned some negative aspects we can state the following:

- "no lift": In fact we are located in a building of 3 floors without elevator. We would like to install one, but as we are in a historic building with little space is impossible to put a lift, as indeed happens in most guest houses from the city center of Porto.

- "staff doesn't know English": Pensão Grande Oceano is a small family run business. Even without speaking the language of some of our customers we seek to compensate with sympathy and concern about guests.

- "smells humid everywhere from lobby to the rooms": It is important to specify exactly which area you consider that was not clean because we are not aware of it. Moreover, 75% of the comments we have received on TripAdvisor indicate a score of 4 or 5 points in "cleaning". Therefore, if you remember some specific situation, please report to us so that we can recognize and resolve.

- "toilet pipes broken": Regularly we check the condition of the building and did not reach us any claim on this subject in the room where you were installed. However, we inspected in more detail the room where you were installed to detect any abnormality and found nothing. Obviously, if there were any problems with pipes, it would be in our best interest to urgent repair that.

Our thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

A very clean hotel near to the center. Attractive price.The staff was correct.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pensao_grandeoceano, Owner at Grande Oceano Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Thanks for highlighting our cleaning and good price. In fact they are attributes with which we have great concern.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

This is the play to stay if you want a clean room for a great price in the city center (200 meters from the railway station and 500 meters from the bus station). You don't have breakfast but for the price is more than acceptable, but you can find many bakeries and pastries nearby! I've stayed there several times and also recommended my parents to stay there when they visited Porto!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pedro_Morais76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pensao_grandeoceano, Owner at Grande Oceano Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Thank you for your generous consideration. It is true that a service breakfast is not necessary because there are plenty of cafes and bakeries along the Pensão Grande Oceano and with very affordable prices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Nobre
Hotel Porto Nobre
#69 of 111 in Porto
39 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moov Hotel Porto Centro
0 mi away
Grande Hotel de Paris
Grande Hotel de Paris
#50 of 111 in Porto
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dear Porto Guest House
Dear Porto Guest House
#50 of 172 in Porto
174 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oporto Cosy
Oporto Cosy
#54 of 172 in Porto
90 reviews
1.1 mi away
Residencial do Marques
Residencial do Marques
#70 of 172 in Porto
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Oceano Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Oceano Guest House

Address: Rua Fabrica 45, Porto 4050-247, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range: £25 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grande Oceano Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get to know Porto city and relax in the familiar environment of a touristic accommodation located right in the centre of the city. It offers new, modern and comfortable accommodations but also a familiar, cosy and a “home” feeling. Of all of these renovations we must highlight the complete change of all the accommodations in 2005. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Grande Oceano Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing