We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great view and free parking...Hourra!”
other travellers have booked this property
View to Porto from the balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View to Porto from the balcony
Living room with big windows to see Porto Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
View to Porto from the balcony
Living room with big windows to see Porto
Living room
Dining room
View of the river from the living room
Kitchen full equipped
Kitchen full equipped
Bed room with double bed, with balcony with view to Porto
Bed room with double bed, with balcony with view to Porto
Double bed room with viscoelastic memory foam mattress
Double bed room with viscoelastic memory foam mattress
Room with 2 single beds
Room with 2 beds bunk + balcony
Room with 2 beds bunk + balcony
2nd Balcony
WC
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Laundry
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Porto, Porto District, Northern Portugal

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
balimoon
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Tired and Dirty”
Reviewed 27 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

"I booked this apartment in February as a surprise for my husband, it transpires we had booked the weekend of the Air Race and I assume that's why the owner tried to cancel the booking some months later? He is an avid fan, we have no interest. We arrived early and dropped off to leave our bags at the apartment whilst the cleaners finished off from the previous booking and agreed to return at noon. When we arrived back there were four people in the apartment waiting for the owner whilst watching the races. We wanted to get settled in, but were made to feel awkward.

The apartment is in dire need of an update. It felt very tired, the photos do not show this. On closer inspection it's very dirty, it's clear that the cleaning is a surface clean only. The shower head is broke and you need it remove it to get any water over your body. The water runs brown each morning and takes a good 20 minutes to clear.

All dirt was clearly visible, I would hate to see behind or under the furniture, I didn't look.

We booked this apartment due it stating that it is in a quiet block! Most apartments face inwards with balconies, families/friends sat out partying until gone midnight for 3 nights, due to the design, the noise resonates. We couldn't open the window due to the noise and there was no air con in the rear bedroom. On the 2nd night we went to move to the front double room but the bed was tiny and the road noise even worse. This is NOT a quiet apartment at all.

The whole feeling was one of penny pinching, one pillow each with no further covers, I went on the hunt for additional clean pillows, they all need replacing, either lumpy or stained yellow. The towels were tiny, I have tea towels bigger than the bath towels they gave us.

I raised all of these complaints with the owner, showed him the pictures of dirt and quite frankly he didn't care. He told me the dirt wouldn't be a problem for him as it is "detail". He seems happy about the noise but only so he could use this to play a tit for tat game as the residents usually complain about the noise from his apartment. The brown water, yes it happens, it must be maintenance. Didn't apologise once and seemed far more interested in himself and his super sports car.

We were only 2 adults and the apartment was spacious but there is only a very small two seater sofa, I wouldn't have wanted to share with more than two more (small) people.

I will finally add that the view is amazing, we had gorgeous weather and were able to sit out and enjoy it but unfortunately all the other issues did not compensate.

Photos to follow.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2017
This comment is misplaced. Therefore please correct this because it can mislead other guests.
And because the majority of our reviews are 5 star, we demand an prompt correction of this serious mistake.
Thanks in advance!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martine P
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great view and free parking...Hourra!”
Reviewed 24 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Fellow travellers, this apartment for a stay in the Porto area is a 5 rating. You can park your car and luggage and just go where you want on that day. A cruise, a walk, a train trip, a nice meal on the Douro, buy the Porto of your dream of, buy some local bread or see a guy jump from the bridge for fun...it's all from a walking distance. The owner is very nice and helpfull for all the questions you have on arrival and is available via phone. The appartment has the quality of a confortable "port d'attache" with really a great view that enhanced the planning of your next day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenwo...
Middleton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Location and views but missing essentials”
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment is located mid-way on the hill on the Vila Nova de Gaia side of the the river. The block itself looks and feels tired.

We were initially impressed with the accommodation but found it lacking in basics. Clothes storage was an issue, lack of wardrobe space. No wardrobes in the main bedrooms (a clothes rail in the rear bedroom).

Also, we found the description a little misleading, the Air Conditioning box has been ticked, however the apartment only has Air-con in the lounge and front main bedroom. We felt the heat as we were holidaying in August and felt a little mis-lead and were expecting Air-con for all the bedrooms - it was needed!

There is a lack of lounge seating too, a two seater settee isn't sufficient.

The beds need pulling out and cleaning underneath and behind, the wall behind the bed in the rear main bedroom was very dusty. The windows to the front of the apartment are very dirty and would benefit a clean and the balconies are not usable as they are very narrow and the left one has a large appliance in it.

Having said all that, we enjoyed our stay in Porto and Miguel and Joana were very nice people.

The score is 3.5 out of 5.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2017
Hi Lee,
Thanks for your feedback.
The building is in the historic center and his from the 50's, however the facade was already renewed, the interior will be next.
As you have notice there's no room for wardrobes in all rooms, therefore we have racks and hooks to hang the clothes.
The back rooms don't have air conditioned because they are fresher and only a few days per year you have the need of an air conditioned, but we are planning to install them as a near future improvement to the apartment, but mainly for winter season do produce heat, with better efficient than the electric heaters.
In the lounge there is only a two seater coach, because has you have notice there's no room for another one and that´s why we have very confortable armchairs in the dinning table.
Regarding the dust and windows dirty, I remember you that you were there 7 days, therefore is normal that some dust apear during that time as we could have notice when we went to clean the apartment after you left.
Anyway I have to accept your opinion and always try to improve when it's possible...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lmendes76
Millville, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing views — the perfect Porto apartment!”
Reviewed 28 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This apartment is situated in the perfect spot to view the River Duoro at sunset, get over to any of the local shops and restaurants within minutes, or just take a walk down the block to any of the local Port houses. A gem in a small, tightly packed city of sights and excitement. Our stay was great, with everything we needed to enjoy Porto. Parking is in a secure location beneath the apartment, which makes parking in the city worry free. Miguel was super to work with. Great communicator and extremely helpful. You will not be disappointed. Come. Stay. Enjoy!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Footprint...
2 reviews
“Beautiful flat with a great view of Porto.”
Reviewed 16 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Absolutely beautiful apartment with wonderful views. Flat was really well situated so we did most of our exploring on foot. Apartment is very comfortable and is perfect for two families. Check in/out very smooth and the owner was really friendly and helpful. Would recommend the apartment to anyone who wants to visit this beautiful and friendly city.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DickOomen
Oosterhout, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great apartment for a stay in Porto”
Reviewed 3 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
3
people found this review helpful

This apartment is situated in Gaia, just on the other side of the Duoro where the Port houses are (5 minutes walk). It's view on Porto is beautiful. A walk from the apartment to Porto is 15 minutes and therefore an good location to explore Porto.
The apartment is well equiped and proper. Parking at the back in a garage. The price of the apartment is absolutely worth its value.
The owner, Miguel makes you feel welcome, is a good host, providing useful tips and always willing to be of assistance whenever needed.
I can recommend this apartment when visiting Porto.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evodkin
San Jose, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
Reviewed 14 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Miguel is a great guy. We all felt that it's a great luck that we are staying in his place ans have him as a host.
Apartment is great. Location is unbelievably good. The view from the apartment is unforgettable. It also comes with no-nonsense parking in a gated garage in the same building; luxury you will not find in Europe very often.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing