We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can find much better hotels in Povoa”
Review of Hotel Torre Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Torre Mar
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Povoa de Varzim
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You can find much better hotels in Povoa”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Only few rooms were remodelated. I got one old room, with old furniture and bed, which was not confortable. Toilet also very old and there is a huge step between you room and the toilet, which is very dangerous... You can hurt yourself seriously if you are not careful.

Staff is nice.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pmdsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Torre Mar, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Felizmente o hotel que o Sr. (a) conheceu em Dezembro 2011, já não existe!
Infelizmente a opinião sobre a sua estada em Dezembro 2011, apenas foi editada em Junho 2012. Pelo que, o hotel Torre Mar foi mais rápido a renovar profundamente os restantes 21 quartos; que a Tripadvisor a editar sua opinião.
Fica demonstrado que, uma opinião editada fora de época, pode prejudicar muito quem põe todo o empenho em oferecer o melhor aos seus hóspedes!
Aguardamos a sua visita ao novo Hotel Torre Mar!

Fortunately, Mr. (s) the hotel that you got to know in December 2011, no longer exists!
Unfortunately, for us, your opinion concerning your stay in our hotel 6 months ago was only published in June 2012. With this, hotel Torre Mar was faster renovating profoundly the remaining 21 rooms, than Tripadvisor editing your opinion.
This only demonstrates that an opinion posted with such a big difference of time, can do serious damage to those who work unconditionally to always serve their guests in the best way possible.
We hope you have an opportunity to visit the new Hotel Torre Mar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    44
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
26
42
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Value for money. Good location and spacy rooms. Excellent staff with eye for details.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJdB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteltorremar, Manager at Hotel Torre Mar, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Thank you very much for sharing your experiene with us! For us it is important our guests feel like being home. We believe better can be done; so we'll put all our effort in improving what we can offer to our guests. It will be a pleasure to receive you in Hotel Torre Mar in your next stay in Póvoa de Varzim. Kind regards, Isabel Torre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulm, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
453 reviews
307 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 476 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Don’t be fooled by the nice pictures on their webpage. The only "recently renovated" part of this family run hotel is the 4th floor which is the breakfast room, the nice teracce and a meeting room. Also the elevators are new. The rooms are in good shape but the decor and quipment even in the bathroom is from the 1980ies or so. Some mould in the bathtub tiles, water pressure was low.
We got a room to the back which is definetly an advantage as a busy street is just next to the hotel and AC is quite loud (also old)
Usually such simple hotels try to compensate their quality weakness in adding some extras like breakfast or free internet. Breakfast is included in the official rate (45-50 EUR for double) but they charge incrediblly 25 EUR/day for Wifi Internet which isnot acceptable anymore in 2010!!
You can take this hotel for a short night stay (before early flight from Porto Airport) or if you are on a budget and you can accept the very basic decor and bathroom factilities. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for a longer stay in the area. There are better options for slightly higher rates which are supposed to be better value for my understanding

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joe1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2007

We had an excellent stay at Hotel Torre Mar. The staff were very friendly, helpful and spoke English. The family suite was an excellent size for us (2 Adults, a toddler and an infant). We spent the last few days in an apartment at the side of the hotel which would be great for a larger group of adults. The only thing we would recommend is if getting the metro into Porto get the express service. The all stops is long and laborious.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Beno1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2004

Delightfully unexpected. This hotel was chosen for Euro2004 because it had not, unlike most, raised its prices substantially, for the tournament. This factor, and it being 2*, gave us concerns about the standards we would find. We could not have been more wrong. The cleanliness, facilities and friendly welcome from all staff could not be faulted. Strongly recommended to anyone thinking of visiting this beautiful, unspoilt, part of Europe.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mike1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Povoa de Varzim hotels
0.8 mi away
Axis Vermar Conference & Beach Hotel
Axis Vermar Conference & Beach H...
#2 of 10 in Povoa de Varzim
534 reviews
0.3 mi away
Varzinn Hotel
Varzinn Hotel
#4 of 10 in Povoa de Varzim
152 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sao Felix Hotel Hillside & Nature
Sao Felix Hotel Hillside & Natur...
#1 of 10 in Povoa de Varzim
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#3 of 10 in Povoa de Varzim
88 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grande Hotel de Povoa
Grande Hotel de Povoa
#8 of 10 in Povoa de Varzim
128 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Luso Brasileiro
Hotel Luso Brasileiro
#7 of 10 in Povoa de Varzim
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torre Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torre Mar

Property: Hotel Torre Mar
Address: Rua Gomes de Amorim 2121 | Aver-O-Mar, Povoa de Varzim 4490-091, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Povoa de Varzim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Povoa de Varzim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Torre Mar 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little hotel with 31 rooms, equipped with Complete Bathroom with Shower&Tub, Hairdryer, Air-conditioning, Minibar, Safety-box, TV led & bath amenities. Free Wireless, Bicycles, Massage service, BabysittingNear beaches, Casino, golf, shooting clay club. 30km north Oporto ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Torre Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Torre Mar Portugal/Povoa De Varzim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing