We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some T L C !”
Review of Hotel Santo Andre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Santo Andre
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Povoa de Varzim
Reviewed 25 June 2014

A friendly and clean hotel. In desperate need of updating, apparently in the process of this. We were with Newmarket Travel with excellent tour guide and excursions . The food is poor, and should be much much better considering the excellent availability for local produce. Would have gone hungry if not had lunches out !

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Santo Andre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

The hotel is right on a sandy beach on it's own and a rural location. From the outside the hotel looks good , inside some of the rooms are a little tired but are under a refurbishment programme. When completed I am sure it will be perfect.
Food is fine and the young couple (Christina and husband) that run the hotel are very pleasant people. The staff are incredible and a credit to the business The cost of drinks are certainly cheaper than in the UK and served with a smile (The Brazen Hussey was delicious!!!!). the included day trips were excellent and plenty to see. Mary Anne our holiday rep is excellent and we all cannot praise her enough. She and her No 2 Virginia were very special people ,nothing was too much trouble and they both were very informative both at the hotel and day trips. For the Oporto trip with a river cruise and visit to Sandeman port brewery ,for the want of a better word Fab even brought some port home .MMMMMMMM. Ponte de Lima Bought some Vino Verde and Vianna Do Castello, Bought a shirt very nice and the Fortress was also great had a lovely meal of local chicken .
There is a lovely walk on the boardwalk to local village to the right of the hotel .The locals made you feel welcome .To the left 50 min's walk along the coast road to Pavoa Varzim. You must try the " TASCA da MARIA" petiscos tradicionais .New restaurant opened this year Great value for money and fab food. Unique as everything is served in small pans ,even the bill !!. The light shades are upturned pans and the lids decorate the ceiling!! What a fabulous week away, with a wonderful hotel and 14 staff and two great guides .Thank you Newmarket travel ,will definitely use this Hotel again. Thank you Christina and staff for making us so welcome


Room Tip: Sea view rooms have a great view .


Stayed 9th June to 16th June , travelled as a couple in a group

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank keith g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We loved the location on the beach, however the local town was a good 30 minute walk, we got taxis which were reasonable. The service from the family who run the hot was excellent, we were made to feel very welcome.

Newmarket Holidays organisation was superb. Thanks Mary Ann who looked after us all week.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Excellent family-run hotel. Went with an organised party via Newmarket Travel and enjoyed this hotel enormously. The staff were very friendly and spoke excellent English. The rooms were adequate though not sumptuous. Food excellent and lots of it. Location ideal for us - on the beach, but some might think it too remote. There were some bars and coffee shops within 20 mins walk but not much else.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BarryFlorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just come back from this Hotel.
I went with friends the weather was not very good but the staff at the hotel where very friendly.
This hotel is having a refurbishment the new rooms we where shown are very nice.
It will have a gym soon and a meeting room plus there is a disabled room available .
The location is great next to the beach.
I would go back again to this hotel.
The pool area is nice.
The food is very good.

Room Tip: Ask for room on second floor great sea view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianeandGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Excelent hotel for family leisure: situated at the sand dunes, with a friendly staff, outdoor swimming pool, good food ... enjoy this atmosphere at Póvoa de Varzim, only 20 minutes from the international Oporto airport.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This hotel overlooks a beautiful natural beach with sand dunes and wild flowers, with each room having a sea view. The hotel is a little tired but is in the process of being reburished. The young couple who run the hotel along with their staff make sure that your holiday is enjoyed to the full. It is very clean, comfortable and the food plentiful. Marianne, our Rep was excellent. She made sure that all our needs were catered for, was very knowledgeable of the areas visited, always found time to talk to you and in a nutshell she was the best rep we have ever had. Give it a try you will not regret it.

Room Tip: middle floor rooms are cooler in hot weather.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jeankenuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Povoa de Varzim
1.8 mi away
Axis Vermar Conference & Beach Hotel
Axis Vermar Conference & Beach H...
#3 of 10 in Povoa de Varzim
555 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sao Felix Hotel Hillside & Nature
Sao Felix Hotel Hillside & Natur...
#1 of 10 in Povoa de Varzim
179 reviews
1.7 mi away
Varzinn Hotel
Varzinn Hotel
#4 of 10 in Povoa de Varzim
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Axis Ofir Beach Resort Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Mar
Hotel Torre Mar
#5 of 10 in Povoa de Varzim
90 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#2 of 10 in Povoa de Varzim
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santo Andre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Andre

Address: Aver-o-Mar Avenida de Santo Andre, Povoa de Varzim 4495-012, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Povoa de Varzim
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Povoa de Varzim
Price Range: £46 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santo Andre 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Santo Andre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estalagem Santo Andre Hotel Povoa De Varzim
Hotel Santo Andre Portugal/Povoa De Varzim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing