We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fascinating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quinta da Boa Viagem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Where does one start. The place is old and the exterior in need of fresh paint. The appartment we had was perfect with a very unusual layout. Breakfast was very good. However the owner is the star. Get there early, we arrived at 4 and you may get a tour of the amazing old gardens and learn of their and the families history. The place has an unhurried relaxed atmosphere which we loved. If coming from the north turn left at the Intermarche supermarket.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WandererPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

My recension isn't objective cause I fell in love with this place and people who run it.
My judgment is influenced by heart and has nothing to do with describtion of customer service standards u may know from other places. So please forgive me and I hope you will find it useful anyway. This place is not a fake vintage tourist factory. It's real,here you can feel and touch the history. And what's more important Jose and Kasia know how to make their guests feel welcome right from the beginning.
The surrounding area is magical. The garden cascades down the side of a slope into the ocean.
There are forest, stream, waterfalls and the coldest water ever (yes we took a bath there) and beautiful shelves craved in stone facing a stone cross. A walk above the Quinta to waterfalls is a must and a "WOW" effect is guaranteed.
Our apartment - cottage was perfect for our needs. It has simple and modern architecture: glass, warm wood and stone. Very comforatble big bed, nice balcony with ocean view, nice wooden wardrobe and enough equiped kitchenette. The owners provided our little girl with bathtube and baby bed :). You don't have to worry about baby stuff cause 5 minutes from Quinta there is a big supermarket with a big baby dept.
10 minutes form Quinta we found beautiful beach with good restaurant and in Viana do Castelo we recommend Praia do Cabedelo where you can find Wind - kite - surf school & shop.
Quinta da Boa Viagem is a great place to stay and Northern Portugal seems even more beautiful from its perspective.
Thank You Ze or let me call you Master Zen for sharing the magic of Quinta de Boa Viagem. We miss you already, Martyna, Olga & Rafal.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We will never forget, although we traveled a lot the World, this wonderfull place. We do thanks from the bottom of our heart to the incredible dedicated service we received with great Love from Ariane!
Thanks Ariane because you made from our stay in Portugal a real "Highlight"!!

Simply no words to explain !!!

Marcel Van Impe - Gentbrugge . Belgium

Room Tip: A place you better keep secret because of pure beauty, excellent (!!!) service of Mss Ariane and sty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My family stayed at Quinta Da Boa Viagem during June 2013 for over a week. I simply cannot find enough pleasant things to say about our time there as it was breathtaking. It starts with the ocean views that greet you upon arising in the morning. During the day there is history (both in the grounds and in the nearby town) at every turn to explore or waterfalls beside the property to enjoy. If this is not enough you have excellent beaches and walking / bike trails nearby to enjoy. To top it off, Jose and Kasia who run the property make you feel welcome and give you insight into the history of the premises / nearby region as well as excellent restaurants to visit. In all, a thoroughly enjoyable experience that I would recommend to anyone. Rob and Barbara H.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

This is a little piece of heaven in wonderful northern Portugal. The historic Quinta has been in the same family for many generations and Jose is restoring the property with great sympathy to provide wonderful 'cottages' in beautiful gardens with the sea ahead and the mountains behind. Hospitality second to none. Breakfast on the sun warm terrace is a great way to start the day. (breakfast and room service is included 'in the rent') very small kitchen area in the cottage but fine to produce a supper and prepare a picnic. Whats missing........perhaps an idea to bring your i-player and two little speakers.
Surrounding countryside perfect. Great beaches very close, towns nearby and fantastic mountains and history by the bucket full. Highly recommended if you want to visit real Portugal.

Room Tip: A mix of 'cottages' Ours was in an old shell but contemporary furnishings and style. Great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeilandMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

The place is beautiful and hospitality wonderful. Did you ever fell in love at first sight? We did! Can't wait to go back there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AniaAndLuks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We have been there for week but felt like been there forever - totally timeless. Place is so relaxing and pretty! We could joined beautiful garden walks and sunbaths, swimming pool and outstanding views. Very good and quick access to ocean. Normally we don't review places but this time we decide to recommend because its worth it. Thank again for brilliant hospitality!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Viana do Castelo hotels
2.1 mi away
Flor de Sal Hotel
Flor de Sal Hotel
#8 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
242 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pousada Viana Do Castelo
Pousada Viana Do Castelo
#5 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
557 reviews
7.4 mi away
Quinta do Monteverde
Quinta do Monteverde
#1 of 1 in Castelo do Neiva
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel FeelViana
Hotel FeelViana
#4 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
71 reviews
2.2 mi away
Casa Melo Alvim Hotel
Casa Melo Alvim Hotel
#9 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
163 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Rali Viana
Hotel Rali Viana
#11 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta da Boa Viagem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Boa Viagem

Address: Avenida Alem do Rio, Viana do Castelo 4900-580, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viana do Castelo District > Viana do Castelo
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Viana do Castelo
Price Range: £52 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quinta da Boa Viagem 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quinta da Boa Viagem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing