We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view & hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Pousada Viana Do Castelo
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Viana do Castelo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel on 11-13 May 2014. Having stayed in 2 pousadas earlier, we are very enthusiastic to see what is this place could offer. We found that check-in process is smooth, friendly and attentive staff at the reception, restaurant, bar & housekeeping. We were given room number 108, most of the room in the hotel overlooking the chapel & atlantic ocean, however, our room has a bigger balkoni.. Can sunbathing if the weather permits. Room is clean & comfy. We had dinner at the restaurant for both nites and we love their food. Price is similar to other pousadas. Restaurant staff works very fast & systematic.
We would love to come back.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rosyos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_MtStLuzia, Gerente at Pousada Viana Do Castelo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking time to post your very kind comment about the experience you had in our Pousada.
It is very gratifying to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and it would be a pleasure if we could have you with us again in a nearly future.
Waiting for your return to our Pousada, we remain
Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
There are newer reviews for Pousada Viana Do Castelo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

Our recent two night stay at this pousada was extremely enjoyable. The room was nicely furnished, with stunning views across the river and sea; the bed was comfortable and the bathroom clean and modern. The room was perhaps a little on the small side, though and there was a rather unpleasant smell from the drains throughout our stay.

Staff were friendly and helpful and English is spoken. A small error by our waiter at dinner was immediately rectified and the item deleted altogether from the bill. We were served with a complimentary glass of vinho verde on arrival.

The hotel has an outdoor swimming pool and plenty of parking space. It is easy to leave the car behind and descend to the town by funicular for sight-seeing purposes. Compared with other pousadas I have stayed in, and eating out in the Lisbon area, I thought that the dinner menu represented good value and contained plenty of choice. I would recommend this hotel for a one or two night stay but am not sure that the town of Viana itself contains enough of interest to the foreign tourist to make a longer stay worthwhile.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SherwoodSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_MtStLuzia, Gerente at Pousada Viana Do Castelo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking time to post your comment.
Your comment makes us continue with our work and improving every day.
Waiting for your return to our Pousada, we remain
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We spent 6 nights here and all that has been written about the rooms, the view, the staff and the breakfast buffet are true. The dinner menu while adequate and tasty ( but not outstanding ) has not changed during the entire week!
Kudos to the front desk staff who have gone out of their way to be helpful.
While at the hotel... DONT MISS ... the wonderfully documented, and accessible Iron Age ruins almost in the parking lot of the hotel. An elevated walkway allows great viewing and we didn't see anyone else exploring while we were here! Every one of the children staying at the Pousada should have been taken to see these partially excavated, fascinating ruins.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_MtStLuzia, Gerente at Pousada Viana Do Castelo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking some of your time to post your comment.
We’ll take in consideration the comment about the menu in our restaurant.
Waiting for your return to our Pousada, we remain
Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I love Portugal, but I travel a lot around Europe quite frequently, having opportunity to see and compare whole range of hotels, from poor ones to excelent. I Believe that my affection to Portugal has no influence what I'm going to tell you about the place...Let's start from general statement, that Portugal is still among only a few places offering very good quality for resonable amount of money. It includes food, accomodation and entertainment. Very good weather (nearly all year) invites those one who looks a moment of relax in our crazy life. Before I booked "pousada" I wasn't smart enough to search and learn about the opinions of previous visitors. As the result I was completely amazed. The only road you can reach Pousada goes around the mountain. The hotel is placed on the top with astonishing view to the city valley and the sea. From the windows od my room (2nd floor) I had excellent view. I did as many pictures as possible and later on I learnt that the view I recorded was appreciated by National Geographic photographer who payed the visit to this hotel. The room was equiped with taste. Thick and nice quality carpets, and curtains together with paper walls and furnitures created feeling of luxury, but in descrete way. The same feelings I had when I was walking trough the hotel's common area like restaurant, library, and bar. A lot of open space, very good maintanance was in perfect harmony with service level. All persons who work there are discreet quiet, quick and experienced with very demanding guests. Unfortunately I couldn't check the swimming pool or fitness area. We had meals included and it was tasty and nice looking. If you are there do not miss oppoortunity to visit XIX century church (you will know immediately about which one I'm telling you) and the old town of the city in the valley.

Room Tip: There are several rooms levels accessible. Make sure that you take the one with the view to the vall...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank I. N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_MtStLuzia, Gerente at Pousada Viana Do Castelo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking time to post your comment.
We appreciate your words about your experience and it would be a pleasure if we could have you with us again in a nearly future.
Waiting for your return to our Pousada, we remain
Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Look no further when you visit this fabulous area of Portugal, this Pousada is truly magnificent and a must stay !! The views from the hotel, which sits high on a hillside, afford the most amazing sights in all of Portugal !! Surreal scenes of the most charming city of Viana Do Castelo with its unbelievable Atlantic beaches, and the beautiful river Lima flowing through the middle of it, wow!
The hotel interior is fit for royalty, with a spectacular dining room, sitting room, terrace, and service that is second to none!! This was by far our best experience after spending 4 weeks in Portugal !!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danjodak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_MtStLuzia, Gerente at Pousada Viana Do Castelo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking some of your time to post your comment.
It makes us continue with our work and improving every day.
Waiting for your return to our Pousada, we remain
Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My wife and I have just spent 7 nights here in a really excellent room with extensive views across the town and along the Lima. The staff were friendly and helpful. The public rooms are very grand indeed. The buffet breakfast was excellent and featured a great variety of dishes, including eggs and bacon! Dinner in the restaurant was satisfactory if very expensive; main dishes cost from Euro 20 to Euro 37. Our one complaint was our inability to get satisfactory anything other than a poor sandwich when we did not want a full meal - our Portuguese friends plied us with enormous lunches, so we needed a light dinner, which was unavailable. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed the grandeur of this palatial hotel and felt very spoilt.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_MtStLuzia, Gerente at Pousada Viana Do Castelo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking some your time to leave here your comment.
We appreciate your words about your stay in our Pousada.
Waiting for your return to our Pousada, we remain
Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The hotel views are breathtaking. We had a corner room with views of the Atlantic and the Lima River. I could have spent the entire day on our veranda taking in the scenery. Also beautiful view of the Basilica of Santa Luzia. The hotel pool is perfect and secluded-we watched the sheep graze on the hillside while we laid at the pool and took in the views of the entire town of Viana do Castelo. Dinner at the hotel was delicious. It's just a beautiful grand hotel and my only complaint is that we only were able to stay for 1 night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NicWhip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_MtStLuzia, Gerente at Pousada Viana Do Castelo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking time to post your comment.
We appreciate your words about your experience and it would be a pleasure if we could have you with us again in a nearly future.
Waiting for your return to our Pousada, we remain
Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Viana do Castelo hotels
0.8 mi away
Fabrica do Chocolate Hotel
Fabrica do Chocolate Hotel
#3 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
215 reviews
1.0 mi away
Flor de Sal Hotel
Flor de Sal Hotel
#8 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
238 reviews
5.9 mi away
Quinta do Monteverde
Quinta do Monteverde
#1 of 1 in Castelo do Neiva
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa Melo Alvim Hotel
Casa Melo Alvim Hotel
#10 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
159 reviews
0.9 mi away
Axis Viana Business & SPA Hotel
Axis Viana Business & SPA Hotel
#7 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
422 reviews
6.1 mi away
Quinta da Bouca d'Arques
Quinta da Bouca d'Arques
#1 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Viana Do Castelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Viana Do Castelo

Address: Monte de Santa Luzia, Viana do Castelo 4901-909, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viana do Castelo District > Viana do Castelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Viana do Castelo
Price Range: £80 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Viana Do Castelo 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada de Viana do Castelo is located atop the Monte de Santa Luzia, in Viana do Castelo. Lofty and elegant, it further enhances the beauty of the city of Viana do Castelo. It features one of Portugal's most dazzling views of the mountain, the city, the Lima river, the Atlantic Ocean and the iconic Templo de Santa Luzia which, located just a few hundred metres from the hillside, frames and fills the landscape and the view. Inaugurated in 1921, this Pousada was born of the excellent restoration and remodelling of the Hotel de Santa Luzia, maintaining its stately features that make it so unique, such as its high granite walls and broad archways. During your stay, you can take a dip in the outdoor swimming pool and enjoy the view of the Serra de Santa Luzia, the city of Viana do Castelo, as well as the gorgeous Lima river and its mouth. If you would like to relax or rejuvenate yourself, schedule at massage at our Magic Wellness Spa. Feast on minhota cuisine at the Pousada's re ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pousada Viana Do Castelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing