We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Restaurante Camelo

Restaurante Camelo
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gotham city
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

The staff was friendly, the food really good and Waow the quantity they put in the plates is absolutely amazing, think we could have been three to eat my all plate.
Recommend it, it worth the price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Captain Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    148
    42
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top Class Portuguese Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I love this restaurant, the menu is a bit different - the roast shoulder of lamb is specially good. The interior of the restaurant is good, crisp white table linen and good wine glasses.

Unfortunately this year we arrived at the restaurant for my birthday only to find it was closed. We will try again next year for sure......

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane_888_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Brilliant local restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

we were recommended this as a local restaurant serving a good selection of local food.
It was truly amazing, we went on my birthday and had possibly the best meal and service we had in Northern Portugal.
The menu was extensive and service was very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braga, Portugal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not as good as I expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

A few years ago I went on a vacation trip to Serra da Estrela and had dinner at the Restaurante Camelo in a local hotel. It was superb. I get water in my mouth just thinking about that.
After that, a friend of mine told me about this Restaurante Camelo near Viana do Castelo as being from the same owner and I always wanted go there. Well, I went there in the end of November and...

The place is nice, the service is very good and familiar - if you like this kind of atmosphere.
But being a lover of this kind of food, I cannot say that it was superb. Just regular.
In terms of food quantity, although it is not cheap, you eat what you pay, probably a bit more!

Summarizing, it is fine if you want to have dinner (and are hungry) in a quiet and not expensive restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jjaa1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is a very good local place. Best octopus I´ve ever eaten! Vino mi casa!
I don't eat meat but my friends said that it was delicious too.
And the home made Baba de camelo was just divine ;-)
If you´re lucky you can join portuguese wedding since it is a very popular place for such a party.

Enjoy!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SurfPasmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Camelo also viewed

Viana do Castelo, Viana do Castelo District
Viana do Castelo, Viana do Castelo District
 
Viana do Castelo, Viana do Castelo District
Viana do Castelo, Viana do Castelo District
 

Been to Restaurante Camelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing