We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quinta da Bouca d'Arques
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Viana do Castelo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We came to Northern Portugal for a wedding and decided to come a few days early and experience the Minho region. It was absolutely beautiful. The weather was great and the countryside was spectacular. Everyone we met was very friendly, including the hotel staff. They were really knowledgeable and helped us plan a few day excursions. The property itself was great. The rooms were very nice and clean. Our bed was also particularly comfortable. We had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joaocouto, Owner at Quinta da Bouca d'Arques, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear Melissa,

Thanks for your opinion about your stay at Quinta da Bouca D'Arques, which reinforces our responsability to provide our customers with a memorable experience of architecture, decoration, tranquility and exceptional service.


Kind regards,
João Couto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
There are newer reviews for Quinta da Bouca d'Arques
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2013

The perfect place to get away from it all. Totally laid back, lovely people, honest and fair minded.
Historic buildings with an award winning modern extension set in beautiful gardens. Rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Don't hesitate, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waveslider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joaocouto, Owner at Quinta da Bouca d'Arques, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

Dear Peter,

Thanks for your opinion about your stay at Quinta da Bouca D'Arques, which reinforces our responsability to provide our customers with a memorable experience of architecture, decoration, tranquility and exceptional service.

Best regards,
João Couto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My husband and I spent 3 fantastic days at Quinta da Bouça d'Arques! We loved the whole estate, the beautiful room, decoration, excelent breakfast and overall oustanding infrastructures! The surrounding locations are charming and we were given great suggestions of where to go - which we followed and were very impressed! We will come back certainly... :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeresaPintoFaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joaocouto, Owner at Quinta da Bouca d'Arques, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Dear Teresa,

Thanks for your opinion about your stay at Quinta da Bouca D'Arques, which reinforces our responsability to provide our customers with a memorable experience of architecture, decoration, tranquility and exceptional service.

Best regards,
João Couto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We had an idyllic stay at the Quinta, as a group of 4 (two couples) staying in the Casa da Lavanda. We had a very friendly, informative and thorough tour of the stunning grounds on arrival by Rui, who was very happy to help with any of our specific queries, bringing us a print-out of a route to get to the supermarket, for example. The staff were barely seen (in a good way!) but we knew where to find them. They were very efficient whenever we needed anything. The cleaners came round daily after breakfast, and they were friendly and very efficient too - so another thanks to them for their hard work.

The Casa was beautifully stylish and had everything we needed in it - although the weather had turned (for the better!) the week we arrived, so was a little hot at times. No doubt if we'd asked for a fan we would have been provided with one though, so no complaints about that!

Breakfast was brought to the Casa (and left on the kitchen table, as we were often asleep when it came!). It was all of good quality and very enjoyable, but by the third morning it felt a little 'samey' even though yoghurts had been introduced - some different items would have jazzed it up a bit more.

We really relaxed at the Quinta, and enjoyed a lot of time relaxing around the pool and at our little outdoor table area. Picking lemons from the tree and looking out for the big green lizards was a treat. It was amazing value for money between the four of us, too.

I have already recommended it to friends and family and will continue to do so!

Room Tip: Casa de Lavanda, where we stayed, was very private as it had its own door opening out onto a side pa...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joaocouto, Owner at Quinta da Bouca d'Arques, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Dear Laura,

Thanks for your opinion about your stay at Quinta da Bouca D'Arques, which reinforces our responsability to provide our customers with a memorable experience of architecture, decoration, tranquility and exceptional service.

Kind regards,
João Couto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We stayed at the Quinta (Spring cottage) towards the end of April just as the weather started to get warmer during the day and nights still clear and cool. It was a serene stay - the Quinta is located in a private rural location at the end of long drive flanked on each side by a vineyard. The cottage had a kitchenette / dining room; spacious bedroom with plenty of natural light and large bathroom. In the grounds the Quinta has a very nice swimming pool which our daughter enjoyed. The breakfast was wonderful with homemade jams, fresh bread rolls and orange juice. Overall, it is a wonderful small hotel and in a good location for touring around the Minho.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joaocouto, Owner at Quinta da Bouca d'Arques, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Thanks for your opinion about your stay at Quinta da Bouca D'Arques, which reinforces our responsability to provide our customers with a memorable experience of architecture, decoration, tranquility and exceptional service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We loved the experience. Despite the rainy weather, we could walk outdoor (wonderful forest) and enjoy the excellent comfort of the houses. We have spent a wonderful new years' eve with family and friends with a great stone fire place and a great view over the dozens of fireworks in the sorrounding villages.

Room Tip: The lavender house was great for a family with kids.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristina_Campos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joaocouto, Owner at Quinta da Bouca d'Arques, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Thanks for your opinion about your stay at Quinta da Bouca D'Arques, which reinforces our responsability to provide our customers with a memorable experience of architecture, decoration, tranquility and exceptional service.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My family and I had a wonderful time - the setting was beautiful and very tranquil. Fantastic breaksfasts every morning (delicious fresh bread rolls). Excellent service, and well appointed rooms. We greatly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D_Hill186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joaocouto, Owner at Quinta da Bouca d'Arques, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2012

Thanks for your opinion about your stay at Quinta da Bouca D'Arques, which reinforces our responsability to provide our customers with a memorable experience of architecture, decoration, tranquility and exceptional service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Viana do Castelo
4.4 mi away
Quinta do Monteverde
Quinta do Monteverde
#1 of 1 in Castelo do Neiva
250 reviews
6.1 mi away
Pousada Viana Do Castelo
Pousada Viana Do Castelo
#4 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
551 reviews
5.3 mi away
Fabrica do Chocolate Hotel
Fabrica do Chocolate Hotel
#3 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hotel FeelViana
Hotel FeelViana
#5 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
62 reviews
17.9 mi away
Tempus Hotel & Spa
Tempus Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Ponte da Barca
335 reviews
6.4 mi away
Flor de Sal Hotel
Flor de Sal Hotel
#8 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta da Bouca d'Arques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Bouca d'Arques

Address: Rua Abreu Teixeira, 333 | 4905-641 Vila de Punhe, Viana do Castelo, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viana do Castelo District > Viana do Castelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Viana do Castelo
Price Range: £97 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quinta da Bouca d'Arques 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please change our classification to 4 stars ! Quinta da Bouca d'Arques is a beautifully restored Manor House in the Minho region of Portugal. The owners of this small chic hotel Ana and Joao have taken the road less travelled in renovating this beautiful house; they have moved away from traditional materials and have used iron, glass and concrete throughout the property creating a modern fresh feel in all of the 7 casas.AccommodationQuinta da Bouca d'Arques has 7 casas, all one-bedroom apart from the two-bedroom Casa da Lavanda. Antique wooden and wrought iron beds are mixed with power showers and contemporary colour palettes. Each casa has its own balcony, living room, outside area and kitchenette and all come with LCD TVs with Satellite, CD & DVD players and WiFi. Two of these luxury cottages have air-conditioning. Breakfast is prepared and left in the fridge and fresh bread is delivered every day to the room. This ensures that guests can enjoy breakfast at their leisure wherever they like.ActivitiesIn a corner of this small hotel there is a charming small wooden house where children can play. Beaches are just 15 minutes away by car and are just as good as the beaches in the South of Portugal. The swimming pool is in the garden and is treated with salt rather than chlorine. Mountain bikes are supplied to guests and there are 3 great golf courses within 30 minutes of Quinta da Bouca d'Arques. For those who wish to be pampered, take a relaxing massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, LoveHolidays and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quinta da Bouca d'Arques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing