We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveller rating
295
26
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
295
26
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his team every morning swimming pool lavender cottage restaurant recommendations country estate breakfast basket living room relaxing weekend the main house surrounded by lemon trees house keeping casa magnolia amazing pool beautiful place northern portugal an easy drive
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 322 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2017

We had an excellent time staying in the Lavender Apartment at Quinta da Bouca. The apartment was beautiful, as was the cool green pool in the middle of the stunning gardens. There is a lovely forest to walk in behind the house, which we enjoyed doing. Our particular thanks go to Gabriel, an excellent host who was always friendly and helpful. The delicious breakfast, brought in a basket to your door each morning with freshly baked bread, is also worth a mention.

We'll be back for sure! - The Kent Family.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tkentlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joaocouto, Owner at Quinta da Bouca d'Arques, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Dear Tom,
we can't thank you enough for your great feedback about us!
My team and I are delighted to learn that you loved our Country Estate, the cool green pool, the lovely forest, the delicious breakfast...
Guests' satisfaction is our best reward in the art of hospitality.
Muito obrigado to you for being our beloved guest!

Warm greetings from the entire team and we look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful stay with us.

João

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

Beautiful estate that has several small houses you can rent. We had family house that was former stable and redone in a tasteful way. We had adjoining terras were a in the morning breakfast was served, simple but tasteful (every morning different home made jellies!) . The estate also had living room with open fireplace, small library and relax area, great for evening hang out without kids!) You are able to buy local wines and port and you are amidst of grape field and a private forest, check it out! Of course the pool was well maintained and the lemons were abundant and you are allowed to pick one or two to try. The owner is very knowledgable of Portuguese history and has been very kind to us discussing recent history of Portugal. Oh and beautiful view on the valley.
Last suggestion: Try the rose port

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Max L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joaocouto, Owner at Quinta da Bouca d'Arques, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Dear Max,
it is a true delight to receive your wam words of appreciation of our country estate. Muito obrigado!
We do hope we will have the chance to welcome you back in the future... obviously with a glass of pink port !
Warm greetings from all of us!
João

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

We chose the Quinta da Bouca d'Arques as our destination for our first visit to Portugal. It was a perfect orientation spot.

An easy drive from the Oporto airport, it felt like we were arriving to the home of friends. The welcome was sincerely warm and gracious, the grounds immaculate, the guest house cozy and fully outfitted.

This was the perfect spot for a good night's sleep with jet lag (quiet!) in comfy beds and homey environment. Our breakfast basket was such a treat to find on our doorstep every morning. The kitchenette had everything we needed for a quick coffee, a fresh squeezed juice, and even a dinner we made "at home" one evening.

The fresh water swimming pool was divine and a wonderful refresher after a day of touring the surroundings.

Gabriel and Lydia were such amazing hosts, helping us with tourism and restaurant recommendations as well as local directions. Joao, the owner, was also an attentive host from afar, when we had trouble with one of our doors, he made quick calls to fix the problem instantly.

The worst part was leaving. We felt so at home, it was hard to say goodbye after three short days.

We highly recommend this country paradise.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Topolobopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joaocouto, Owner at Quinta da Bouca d'Arques, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Dear Friend,
we can't thank you enough for your great feedback about us!
My team and I are delighted to learn that you loved our country estate, its quietness, the welcome, the service...
Guests' satisfaction is our best reward in the art of hospitality.
Muito obrigado to you for being our beloved guest!

Warm greetings from the entire team and we look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

Quinta da Bouca D'Arques is a traditional Minho house in the elegant rural style of the 16th century families. This magnificent house is very well recovered with scenarios of vineyards and greens of great beauty. The modern and old mix is very well combined and provides a magnificent stay. Whether in the rooms of the older house or in the modern recovered rooms the stay was great . The pool and all the surroundings are very beautiful and very well preserved. The proximity of the beautiful city of Viana do Castelo, Caminha or even Spain put this farm in a tourist and gastronomic epicentre that is only possible here in the north of Portugal. Definitely to comeback.

Room Tip: Choose the Modern Rooms
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoseSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joaocouto, Proprietário at Quinta da Bouca d'Arques, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Dear José,
it is a true delight to receive your wam words of appreciation of our country estate. Muito obrigado!
We do hope we will have the chance to welcome you back in the future... obviously with a glass of red wine and an amazing dinner with our chef Yann Granado!
Warm greetings from all of us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Best
beautiful gardens the best in Portugal
the bed and the pillow
the silence at night
worst
it takes sometime for the hot water to reach the shower
I like the microwave, coffee machine & water boiler. I could warm food for my kid without having to go out.
It's my 5th time in Quinta da Bouça D'arques i hope to have money & time to go back, there is plenty to do in Minho.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank fmc326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joaocouto, Proprietário at Quinta da Bouca d'Arques, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Dear Francisco,
we can't thank you enough for your great feedback about us!
My team and I are delighted to learn that you loved our country estate, the confort (bed and pillow), a lot to do and the facilities inside the Cottage.
Guests' satisfaction is our best reward in the art of hospitality.
Muito obrigado to you for being our beloved guest!

Warm greetings from the entire team and we look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews